Jump to content

XRadeonFB


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
70 replies to this topic

#41
StarForge

StarForge

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
Good point, I should have noted that, I'll give it a go again in the morning and report back ;)

#42
joblo10

joblo10

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts
There's a tool I should have speak of first, I attached it.

In case you get a scambled display or something really weird, you can run this script to switch to 1024x768x32 mode. It helped me a lot of times.

For the QE/CI thing, I forgot to tell it also needs the GA.plugin trick, putting either "XRadeonFB" or "IOFramebuffer". I'm considering going back to the original kext name "IONDRVSupport" for some reasons so it may change next time. I don't like the trick that this driver or Callisto use to prevent IONDRVSupport to load at boot, there should not have any initialization of the hardware at this stage of the boot process. Furthermore, the ATIRadeon driver rely on the IONDRVFramebuffer methods, so we get two framebuffer ~= "runinng". I'm building a small forum to continue the dev somewhere else as this is not going the way it was supposed to here concerning forum management. There will be updates once it's done.

Also, this is in an early ALPHA stage, I'm using the "same code" Callisto did, so don't expect anything better for the moment. *edited for sake of clarity. I wasn't really present since thursday because I got a ot of homeworks, but I'll be back on track at the beginning of the week.

what does it say when you enter -v on bootup?


yes thanks, I forgot.. :mellow:

I really need to know what he driver says duting boot to know where it hangs...

Attached Files



#43
tyre777

tyre777

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
tnx for the update joblo, sorry most of us aint that much help, anyway wishing a lot of luck and progress with this project, and it would be nice to hear from you again if a RC driver is available- and dont let annoying guys bug yah mate- we cant have another callisto issue with this ATI driver.. cheers!!

#44
Koffein

Koffein

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sweden
tried the driver on another screen got the driver working in 800x600 and lower..
tried to switch to 1024x768 screen went into power save mode.. "NO SIGNAL"

Maybe some isues With Powercolor Ati Radeon 9600 256MB, On higher resolutions ?

cheers m8;s

Chris

#45
joblo10

joblo10

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts

tried the driver on another screen got the driver working in 800x600 and lower..
tried to switch to 1024x768 screen went into power save mode.. "NO SIGNAL"

Maybe some isues With Powercolor Ati Radeon 9600 256MB, On higher resolutions ?

cheers m8;s

Chris


I think this have to do with improper timings use for resolutions under 1024x768. Did you try higher ones such as 1280x960 or 1152x870?

#46
Koffein

Koffein

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sweden
Tried "1152x870 1280x1024" they both went black the highest i could go was 832x624
without the screen going to power save mode "NO SIGNAL"...

cheers
Chris

#47
joblo10

joblo10

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts

Tried "1152x870 1280x1024" they both went black the highest i could go was 832x624
without the screen going to power save mode "NO SIGNAL"...

cheers
Chris


Ok thanks for the info,

I have found an relatively "easy" way to get all proper timings with each display mode so this will probably fix this issue. I didn't had much time to implement it yet but this shoudn't be too hard. I'll keep you updated.

#48
Koffein

Koffein

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sweden
thanks

keep up the good work joblo10 :thumbsdown_anim:

cheers

Chris

#49
BladeRunner

BladeRunner

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
I tried on my test system - IBM ThinkCentre (8183-32u) - Pent 4 - SSE2 - 1GB ram

Video card is Diamond Stealth Radeom 9250 - 256Mb ram - PCI

To be sure I had no residuals from Callisto, I booted under my maintenance partition and removed all files from /System/Library/Extensions, restored the group in my ExtensionsBackup folder and then added XRadeonFB.kext. I removed the Extensions.kextcache & mkext - set ownseship and permissions.

When I boot from my normal boot partition the system shows the gray Apple with pinwheel. Then there is a flash to black for about a second followed by the gray Apple & pinwheel again. Then all disk activity stops.

When I try to boot the system with the -v flag I can see some messages about finding the ATI 9200 Pro, and a huge flood of r2d2 messages. Then it stops after a message about launching the login window. There are several (7 or 8) messages similar to:

(89) .. SystemStart ... fail (0) tfp

Sorry I didn't write it down exactly - I should have :thumbsdown_anim:

If I boot the maintenance partition and remove the XRadeonFB.kext file from Extensions folder the system boots correctly.

I see from the info in the System Profiler - > Software Extensions that some of the extensions say "No valid version of this dependency can be found". However a version of the extension is loaded. It looks like things might work if all the versions fit togather.

Any comments on how to resolve the miss-matched versions?


System specifics:
CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4 CPU
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 3.4 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
CPU Features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH DS ACPI MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SS HTT TM EST
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 533 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 2AKT42AUS (IBM)
Serial Number: 6A57448

Display:
Type: VGA-Compatible Controller
Bus: PCI
Slot: PCI Slot #2 - J901I
VRAM (Total): 128 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x5960
Revision ID: 0x0001
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1280 x 1024
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Not Supported
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

clip from System Profiler - > Extensions

ATIRadeon8500:
Version: 1.4.26
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: ATIRadeon8500 1.4.26.11 (3493)
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeon8500.kext
kext Version: 4.2.6
Load Address: 0x2f621000
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Incomplete
Dependency Errors:
com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily: No valid version of this dependency can be found
com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport: No valid version of this dependency can be found
com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily: No valid version of this dependency can be found
Integrity: Kext is modified

IOKit:
Version: 8.4.1
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: I/O Kit Pseudoextension, Apple Computer Inc, 8.4.1
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/System.kext/PlugIns/IOKit.kext
kext Version: 8.4.1
Load Address: 0x0
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Satisfied
Integrity: Correct

IOKit6.0:
Version: 7.9.9
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: I/O Kit Pseudoextension, Apple Computer Inc, 7.9.9
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/System.kext/PlugIns/IOKit6.0.kext
kext Version: 7.9.9
Load Address: 0x0
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Satisfied
Integrity: Correct

IONDRVSupport:
Version: 1.4.3
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: 1.4.3, Copyright Apple Computer, Inc. 2000-2004
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONDRVSupport.kext
kext Version: 1.4.3
Load Address: 0x2f5a0000
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Incomplete
Dependency Errors:
com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily: No valid version of this dependency can be found
com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily: No valid version of this dependency can be found
Integrity: Kext is modified

IOGraphicsFamily:
Version: 1.4.3
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: 1.4.3, Copyright Apple Computer, Inc. 2000-2004
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext
kext Version: 1.4.3
Load Address: 0x2f568000
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Incomplete
Dependency Errors:
com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily: No valid version of this dependency can be found
Integrity: Kext is modified

IOPCIFamily:
Version: 2.0
Last Modified: 10/7/06 1:40 PM
Get Info String: 2.0, Copyright Apple Computer, Inc. 2000-2004
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IOPCIFamily.kext
kext Version: 2.0
Load Address: 0x2486f000
Valid: Yes
Authentic: Yes
Dependencies: Satisfied
Integrity: Kext is modified

#50
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY
How do I run the setdisplay script :)

#51
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male

How do I run the setdisplay script

You will be using this utility if your video is scrambled.

Download the zip NOW to your Desktop and expand it. Put the setdisplay script in the Applications folder for safe keeping.

If you have a scrambled display, boot in safe mode (F8 followed by -s) and type:

mount -uw /
cd /Applications
./setdisplay

If you want to set a particular resolution and refresh rate, the format of the setdisplay command is:

setdisplay width height bits refreshrate

So if you want, for example, 1024x768x32 @60hz, you would type:

./setdisplay 1024 768 32 60



#52
mmk

mmk

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
joblo,

"I have not been able to get QE and CI to work with AGPGart, though OpenGL is still accelerated."

I'm using AGPGart2.0 + Callisto and I get QE (CI I cannot because i don't have hardware support for it). Actually using AGPGart2 is the only way to get QE for me.

PS: great work!

#53
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

You will be using this utility if your video is scrambled.

Download the zip NOW to your Desktop and expand it. Put the setdisplay script in the Applications folder for safe keeping.

If you have a scrambled display, boot in safe mode (F8 followed by -s) and type:

mount -uw /
cd /Applications
./setdisplay


Thanks, it worked but tells me it "cant set display (1011)" :thumbsdown_anim: I think because the file is set to 75 refreshrate, could I hex in 60 :angry:

#54
joblo10

joblo10

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts

Thanks, it worked but tells me it "cant set display (1011)" :) I think because the file is set to 75 refreshrate, could I hex in 60 :blink:


The format of the command is "./setdisplay widht height bpp refreshrate".

So if you wnat for example 1024x768x32 @60hz, you would type

"./setdisplay 1024 768 32 60" withtout the "x"'s.

Hope this helps

#55
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

The format of the command is "./setdisplay widht height bpp refreshrate".

So if you wnat for example 1024x768x32 @60hz, you would type

"./setdisplay 1024 768 32 60" withtout the "x"'s.

Hope this helps


Thank you :thumbsdown_anim: Keep us updated on the new forum :D

Edit: It still says "Cannot get displays (1011)":2cents:

#56
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male

The format of the command is "./setdisplay widht height bpp refreshrate".

So if you wnat for example 1024x768x32 @60hz, you would type

"./setdisplay 1024 768 32 60" withtout the "x"'s.

Where was this previously explained? I saw nothing posted and no instruction in the zip file.

I'll add the info to my posting above for posterity sake.

#57
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY
Thanks for considering posterity :(

#58
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks for considering posterity :(

Most newbies don't know how to search. And most don't know how to read. I want anyone who enters this forum in the future and does manage to search and find my posting to have the complete command rather than forgetting to read a few more postings below it to find it. That's what I mean by "posterity".

#59
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Most newbies don't know how to search. And most don't know how to read. I want anyone who enters this forum in the future and does manage to search and find my posting to have the complete command rather than forgetting to read a few more postings below it to find it. That's what I mean by "posterity".


I know what you meant, I was just poking fun at your thoroughness :D Thanks for keeping watch over us :thumbsdown_anim:

#60
Guest: goodtime_*

Guest: goodtime_*
  • Guests
Great work. I will try testing it on a VGA monitor from my Laptop. Looking forward to future releases. ATI 9000 Mobility user.

GT





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy