Jump to content

iCloud/Facetime/AppStore login errors

iCloud Facetime AppStore

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff

Fixing Login Errors For Apps That Connect To Apple's Servers


These steps should fix 98% of login errors, but some specific exceptions still exist and are omitted to avoid unnecessary confusion. Since this is a FAQ and not a full manual on all things Ethernet, it's not feasible to detail every method mentioned here, but hopefully at least it will let you know where to go next. So always start here!:


To sign into any of the Apple services/apps that require authentication through Apple run servers, there are a few conditions that must be met when first logging in. For apps such as iCloud, once logged in the first time you will stay logged in even after reboots and configuration changes until manually logged out, at which point to log back in the same conditions will again apply.


1) Must have a working ethernet adapter that can at least show up as a possible network connection. It must also work, but you might be able to get away with mostly working if your lucky.

Attached File  Network.jpg   69.8KB   1156 downloads

You'll need a kext that supports your NIC to proceed.


2) It must also show as "Built In".

Attached File  IOService — IOEthernetInterface.jpg   96.31KB   1711 downloads

Three possible ways of doing this which are all different ways of achieving the same result.

Easy way, add following to Chameleon's org.chameleon.Boot.plist in /Extra folder:

<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>


Medium way, add EFI string to Chameleon's org.chameleon.Boot.plist in /Extra folder using tool such as "EFI Studio"


Hard way, edit DSDT to have NIC device, i.e. LAN0 show as internal


3) It needs to be listed as en0. i.e. The first, or primary, network device recognized by OSX

Attached File  MacBook.jpg   113.88KB   1665 downloads

Issue here will usually be that your wifi got enabled first and thus became en0, making your ethernet en1. To correct the issue: First if your wifi device or whatever is currently listed as en0 can be removed/unplugged from your PC by removing 3 screws or less, and you own a screwdriver, remove/unplug it. Next go to System Preferences > Network (as seen above in #1) and click the minus button to remove all the listed network devices, then reboot. Upon reboot return to System Preferences > Network and hit the plus button, add only your ethernet, open System Information (as pictured directly above) and verify Ethernet is now en0, if it is you can add your other devices now too.

If ethernet is still showing as en1, you should then repeat the above steps, but this time just prior to reboot navigate to /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ and delete Networkinterfaces.plist and reboot.


Extreeme cases only:

If failure is still an option, and overkill seems necessary, it's possible to manually edit this plist. Again repeat initial steps, then copy plist to your desktop so it will be writable and open it with a text editor, cut an paste your ethernet so it appears first in the list, change every occurrence in it's section of en1 to en0, and vice versa for your prior en0 device, changing all it's en0 occurrences' to en1. Also verify here that ethernet shows:

<key>IOBuiltin</key>
<true/>

and not

<key>IOBuiltin</key>
<false/>

Once your satisfied with your edits (in simpler terms, your basically just swapping the two interfaces in the plist), launch Terminal from Applications/Utilities, enable root user by typing sudo -s and hitting enter, then entering your password when requested. Next enter the following, hitting return after each line:

cp -R ~/Desktop/NetworkInterfaces.plist /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/

chown root:wheel /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist

chmod 644 /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist

reboot


4) You need to have a SMBIOS which includes a valid serial number for the Mac model listed.

Attached File  MacBook over.jpg   77.41KB   1528 downloads

For this, just use Chameleon Wizard to generate one for you and save to /Extra folder.



WHEN ALL ELSE FAILS, BUT IS ALSO RIGHT, AKA-LAST RESORT:


If you've met all the above requirements and ethernet works perfectly to browse the webs, but still can't log into these services, although it shouldn't need to be done manually, you may need to....


First Open IORegistryExplorer (found in Xcode tools)

Attached File  IODeviceTree1 — platform.jpg   132.58KB   1783 downloads

Copy to Text Edit then get your ethernet MAC address

Attached File  Mac Pro en0.jpg   172.32KB   1453 downloadsAttached File  Untitled 3.jpg   88.36KB   1376 downloads

Add results to org.chameleon.Boot.plist and after reboot you should see something like this

Attached File  IODeviceTree — platform.jpg   129.47KB   1026 downloads

And hopefully that will be it. Again, this won't cover every last possibility, but should be more than a good start.

#2
Piplodocus

Piplodocus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love you!

I could give you babies in the bum! :thumbsup_anim:

Been stuck on this for ages, and found in IORegistryExplorer I had no system-id, and had put "SystemID", not "SystemId" as the boot flag thing.

Thanks so much! :)

#3
Java Lava

Java Lava

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
Great guide, however doesn't work for me.

I can login to Apple Store and iCloud successfully even without use it guide but i can not login to iMessage

Ideas?

#4
nekonoko

nekonoko

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
Different issue, different guide. See: http://www.insanelym...ges-fix-how-to/

#5
M83

M83

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Medicine and Make-Up
Hi, I have a question, if I use the wi-fi card to connect on internet have I to set it as en0? Or have I to set the ethernet adapter en0 in any case?

Thanks

#6
M83

M83

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Medicine and Make-Up
I've used Chameleon Wizard the get a right smbios.plist imac11,2
I've followed the guide without success

Attached File  Schermata 2013-02-11 alle 23.07.31.png   263.53KB   94 downloads

Attached File  Schermata 2013-02-12 alle 23.35.21.png   84.61KB   118 downloads

Attached File  Schermata 2013-02-12 alle 23.36.11.png   122.52KB   99 downloads


<key>SystemId</key>
<string>00000000-0000-0000-0000-b0487ad5ecfd</string>


help! :(

#7
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
You need working ethernet. Also for imessage, different issue and different fix. First make sure you can get into app store and icloud, then you can proceed with trying seperate imessage fix also in tutorials
  • M83 likes this

#8
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

If using Chameleon, go here: http://www.insanelym...20#entry1888180


  • M83 likes this

#9
M83

M83

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Medicine and Make-Up
I'm still using the last revision of Chameleon r2171 with FileNVRAM.dylib, I also added ethernet built in injection and a proper smbios.plist that let me to get iCloud and Apple store working well, but iMessage doesn't work at all! I always get the same mistake :(

Thanks

#10
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
If iCloud and Appstore work, then your done here. Your issue is with the iMessage specific fix. I haven't used the Chameleon method, only Clover cause it plays nicer with my GPU, and no reason to switch from what already works.

#11
buoo

buoo

    The Prodigal Son

  • Moderators
  • 4,534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Test it using the ethernet cable, maybe this problem is related to your wifi card.

@eep I see many zeros in her SystemId, is it ok?

#12
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
Yes...and No. Best to NOT manually enter system ID if iCloud and Appstore will work without it. iMessage is a whole different issue needing NVRAM variables and maybe even a credit card or IOS device tied to your apple account. Best is to only do bare minimum steps here to get iCloud and Appstore, then move on to separate iMessage fix stuff. If you start doing the advanced options here trying to get iMessage working when iCloud and Appstore already work, it's only going to make the iMessage fix even harder to get working. Less is always better (well in this case anyway)
  • M83 likes this

#13
snnail

snnail

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
My LAN chipset is unsupported, I use a genius apple wifi card to get internet.

I think I'm in the dead end?

#14
mrjayviper

mrjayviper

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts

I satisfy all the conditions but still won't work for me so I had to the SystemId trick. My problem is after a reboot, the SystemId displayed in IOReg did not change. It ends in FF and still FF after a reboot even with the trick.

 

any ideas? thanks

 

This is the contents of my org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>DSDT</key>
<string>/Extra/DSDT-orig.aml</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<string>/Extra/SMBios-orig.plist</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>USBBusFix</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000150101060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>
<key>SystemId</key>
<string>35304535-3439-4332-4336-50e549c2c607</string>
</dict>
</plist>


#15
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Try latest Chameleon 2.2 svn with SMsystemuuid in your smbios.plist instead. See this topic and the Chameleon source code for more information.

 

(...)

 

eep, have you seen NullEthernet.Kext? Rehabman is a genius.

 

NullEthernet.kext creates a fake ethernet device. Now everyone can have built-in ethernet. :thumbsup_anim:



#16
XLR

XLR

    2cores1cpu.mov

  • Donators
  • 891 posts
  • Location:חולון

All this needs to be in the "Technical FAQ" section, imho.



#17
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

We need this topic here to justify the existence of the Genius Bar :rolleyes:



#18
Bungo

Bungo

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

I satisfy all the conditions but still won't work for me so I had to the SystemId trick. My problem is after a reboot, the SystemId displayed in IOReg did not change. It ends in FF and still FF after a reboot even with the trick.

 

any ideas? thanks

 

This is the contents of my org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>DSDT</key>
<string>/Extra/DSDT-orig.aml</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<string>/Extra/SMBios-orig.plist</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>USBBusFix</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000150101060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>
<key>SystemId</key>
<string>35304535-3439-4332-4336-50e549c2c607</string>
</dict>
</plist>

 

 

Try latest Chameleon 2.2 svn with SMsystemuuid in your smbios.plist instead. See this topic and the Chameleon source code for more information.

 

(...)

And use uuidgen command (terminal) to generate your own







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: iCloud, Facetime, AppStore


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy