Jump to content

No brightness slider on t60 dsdt after adding pnlf device under _SB Scope

dsdt t60 x1400 brightness slider pnlf

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Howdy all. Ive been researching for a long time and no one seems to have this problem with their t60. I have the PNLF device code in my dsdt but there is still no brightness slider. I even removed non-vanilla radeonhd.kext framebuffer, Silencer suggested it could be related to video driver/framebuffer but still no brightness slider in system preferences. at this point im stuck reading over the same threads and can find nothing new to try.

I also tried the genericbrightness.kext method and still that brightness slider is nowhere to be found. i have a x1400 device id 7145.

por favor help a brother out. this is the last step for my hackintosh to be complete :)

Attached Files



#2
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Ok i understand there is no chance of getting the brightness slider on my t60 with x1400. if anyone has a tip/link to a dsdt fix for this. There has got to be a way to write to the brightness register from dsdt. ive seen some success with dsdt edits and hotkeys. already tried the genericbrightness.kext solution with no success.

#3
styrian

styrian

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts
  • Gender:Male

Ok i understand there is no chance of getting the brightness slider on my t60 with x1400. if anyone has a tip/link to a dsdt fix for this. There has got to be a way to write to the brightness register from dsdt. ive seen some success with dsdt edits and hotkeys. already tried the genericbrightness.kext solution with no success.


You should download DSDT Editor from here: http://olarila.com/f...ic.php?f=7&t=62 (Registration is for free). There are varios patches for laptop insides. Try to apply the FN key patch for your chipset. Perhaps this is working for you. In your DSDT are no edits for FN-Keys.

Have fun.

#4
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Any idea where i might find dsdt code for fn key patch?? ive been looking around that program and i dont see any pre-defined dsdt code. dsdtse has some predefined fixes but nothing like taht. where could i find some code for something like that??? thanks! (exciting stuff)

#5
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
Try to removing the "IRQNoFlags" from Device (TIMR), and add it to the end of Device (IPIC).
Another option is to edit your custom EDID, if you want I can help, type this in your terminal:

ioreg -lw0 > ~/Desktop/ioregSaved.txt

This command creates the file ioregSaved.txt on your desktop, post it


Micky

#6
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
sure thing...

Attached Files



#7
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
Just one question, it was not possible to find the EDID on your ioreg.
But your video card is active?
Without video acceleration is not possible to do this.

Micky

#8
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
ya acceleration is supported natively with radeonx1000.kext with device plist edit. radeonhd.kext is my framebuffer. both work very well. i did not have to enter edid into radeonhd. it seems to autodetect it. i downloaded switchresx and the edid string it gives me is different than the one extracted through windows. not sure what my edid is...

#9
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
EDID is a exadecimal string into the EEPROM of the display, and the various operating systems should take it from there, the data it needs.
Without that key (IODisplayEDID), this can not be done or I do not know, sorry

Micky

#10
musashiz

musashiz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Styrian, IT WORKS!! your suggesstion worked beautifully. I can control the full 8 brightness setting with the built in FN keys!! applied the ich8 fn keys fix and bam. I cant thank you enough.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: dsdt, t60, x1400, brightness, slider, pnlf


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy