Jump to content

Mountain Lion + 8800 GT (black screen)


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1
blade007

blade007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Hi Guys I have been running Lion fine for a while and got everything working without to much trouble but now ive installed Mountain lion I just get a black screen when I connect my 8800GT but the HDD is still going as if its loading and just can't see it and I have graphics enabler set to yes but still nothing. It loads fine with the card disconnected but my onboard card doesnt run QE.

Any advice would be great

#2
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY

Hi Guys I have been running Lion fine for a while and got everything working without to much trouble but now ive installed Mountain lion I just get a black screen when I connect my 8800GT but the HDD is still going as if its loading and just can't see it and I have graphics enabler set to yes but still nothing. It loads fine with the card disconnected but my onboard card doesnt run QE.

Any advice would be great


Have you tried setting Graphics Enabler to "No" as opposed to just trying onboard video?

#3
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
I have the same problem - the screen either turns black and the hard drives park or it goes into a reboot just at the point where the gui is about to start. Setting GE to no or booting in safe mode makes no difference. My onboard card is a X3100, so not a long term solution, either.

[EDIT] I replaced all of the nVidia kexts in ML with those from Lion 10.7.4. Booted with -f and npci=0x2000 and was able to boot to the installation GUI for the first time. Apple looks to have removed support for some, if not all, 8800GT cards from the kexts. Mine is a Zotac 8800GT 512MB card, which was one of the most compatible cards for hackintoshes up to now.

One thing I noted was that there were no GeForcexxxx.kexts in ML. Adding those in made no difference. The problem seems to be in the NVDAxxxx.kexts. Patching one of those might be all that is needed assuming the ML kexts are improved/more stable over the Lion ones.

Installing now to a spare partition and hoping that I can get CI/QE working with this. Hope this helps anyone with the same spec card and problem.

#4
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
QE/CI works after swapping the GM NVDA kexts for those from DP2 and using a VBIOS.

Download a suitable VBIOS from this source and place it in your /Extra folder

Add the following lines to your org.chameleon.Boot.plist or just use Chameleon Wizard to create the lines for you.


<key>UseNvidiaROM</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>VBIOS</key>
<string>Yes</string>

#5
bigpoppa206

bigpoppa206

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 475 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA USA Earth
Actually the 8800GT works just fine in Mtn Lion. The key is to have a properly edited DSDT file with the correct graphics info in it. I was having the same problems as you guys until I fixed it. The other way to fix it is old school, insert the EFI string into your system (I think Lizard can do this or use the old OSX86 Tools.)

#6
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
Can you share your patch and what tools you used to check the bus etc? I have seen a few injections in various forums, but people seemed to be having trouble with them from Lion onwards.

#7
tax

tax

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,
I have the same problem with my Sparkle GTX 560 OC with mountain lion (GraphicsEnabler=Yes).
After the spinning wheel , the screen goes black, like when i turn off the computer, but with the harddrive still running.
Sometimes it works fine (about 10% of time), but most of the time it doesn't.
It used to work fine with my old config and Lion.
It doesn't work only with Mountain Lion and my new config:

Motherboard :GigabyteGA-Z77x-D3H
CPU: Inel Core I5 3570k
Ram 16Go Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
HDD1: SSD Crucial 64go
HDD 2: Werstern Digital 2To
Video: Sparkle GTX 560 1024 Mo

Thank you for sharing any lead.

#8
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
Well I had a go at putting the EFI string in my org.chameleon.Boot.plist. Didn't fix a thing. It looks as if the problem lies with two kexts: NVDAResman.kext and NVDANV50Hal.kext. Up to DP2 the info.plist of both of these contained the vendor and product IDs of several cards. These have been stripped out with the result that on booting your gfx card cannot be identified and probed and the system gives up - black screen of death.

Entering your card's ID in both of these kexts or replacing the missing IDs should solve that problem.


Extract from Info.plist from NVDANV50Hal.kext from DP2


<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>
0x00f010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x019010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x040010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x042010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x05e010de&amp;0xfff8ffff
0x05f010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x060010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x062010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x064010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x06e010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x086010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x08a010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0a2010de&amp;0xffa0ffff
0x0ca010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
</string>


Extract from Info.plist from the same kext in the GM leak


<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x000010de</string>


Why, thank you Apple! :angry2:

#9
bigpoppa206

bigpoppa206

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 475 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA USA Earth
What worked for me was to rip out all the old code that was related to the 8800GT in my dsdt and to remove all enablers too. I used to have the same patches in my dsdt file that other 8800GT owners had and it worked great up through Snow Leopard. Lion of course is a different beast.

Well I had a go at putting the EFI string in my org.chameleon.Boot.plist. Didn't fix a thing.


Funny, it worked for me. Meaning EFI worked on Lion, but I did have to rip it out as well as all my other patches in my DSDT file and anything else graphics related and remove all enablers and Mountain Lion has been flawless.

You did remove all other patches and enablers right?

#10
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
Never used an enabler. I used an EFI string under Leopard and SL until Chameleon improved and from then on right through Lion GE=Y was all I needed. Never needed to patch my DSDT for my gfx. All I had in there were the usual WAK etc fixes, a fix for HPET, SATA for my motherboard and audio patching.

#11
blade007

blade007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Thanks for all the reply's i've been a bit tied up so havent had a chance to look but ill give these suggestions a try later. My DSDT file that I have always used was i believe was from someone on this forum quite some time ago that had the same Mobo and processor so might have to have a look at that just never needed to before as everything worked great on lion.

#12
bigpoppa206

bigpoppa206

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 475 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA USA Earth
Maybe it would help if you boot into verbose mode and tell us what the last thing you see before it goes black is. If you want I can post my dsdt file but its only good for my particular motherboard.

#13
splonk

splonk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
I can see it bringing up the network interfaces (Ethernet and WiFi both are fine and loaded). After that you can tell it is the point were the gui is about to kick in and then the system dies.

I experimented yesterday with Clover for the first time on a stock installation usb of ML. A clever but messy bootloader and that loaded everything up first time. It has a different GE with its own injector and that brought up what looked like a full QE/CI on the installation usb without any tinkering of the ML kexts. I put in my DSDT (it has its own universal mini DSDT) but it didn't pick up on the HPET and KPed without the Null kext and nor did it manage to find the inbuilt audio, so it has some advantages and disadvantages over Chameleon.

There is another bootloader around that I might try if I can remember the link.

BTW, I misunderstood what you wrote with a 'properly edited DSDT'. I took that to mean that you HAD to put in your gfx for it to work under ML. My motherboard is a Dell based on a Foxconn GM33M03 design and that is a pig to get working compared with any other I have had.

#14
bigpoppa206

bigpoppa206

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 475 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA USA Earth

BTW, I misunderstood what you wrote with a 'properly edited DSDT'. I took that to mean that you HAD to put in your gfx for it to work under ML. My motherboard is a Dell based on a Foxconn GM33M03 design and that is a pig to get working compared with any other I have had.

No, actually I had to remove all graphics edits I had done in my dsdt file. The edits I had done (similar to this: http://osx86.co/f36/...3849/page4.html) worked flawlessly until I switched to Lion. Yes I did find enablers that worked great with Lion but I tend to believe that less is more and wanted a more native approach. So I had a hunch and tryed to boot without it and voila, it worked! And yes you need the newer versions of Chameleon in order to make this work. I think I'm on 2006 or close to that.

#15
René_

René_

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maassluis, Netherlands
I've had the same problem with my 8800GT. My solutions was: just put the "NVDANV50Hal.kext" back from DP4.
Make a backup first.
Here it is: NVDANV50Hal_DP4.kext.zip
You can use the same activation method which you used for Lion eg. GraphicsEnabler, NVinject etc.

Hope it works for you too :)

#16
drdaz

drdaz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Looks like they flip-flopped on the card IDs. Here's what I'm seeing on my ML release version of the file on my MBP:


<string>
0x019010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x040010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x041010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x041010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x042010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x043010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x046010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x052010de&amp;0xfff0ffff
0x05c010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x05e010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x060010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x062010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x064010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x086010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x08a010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0a0010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0a2010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0a6010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0ca010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x0d4010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
0x10c010de&amp;0xffe0ffff
</string>

Currently installing on my Hack with a GTS250 gfx card... which uses the same driver (since it's the same chip) as the 8800GT. Fingers crossed.

#17
drdaz

drdaz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Upgrade worked just fine. Using Chimera 1.11 as my bootloader.

No GFX related kexts or DSDT edits - just GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

#18
Sharon

Sharon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

I've had the same problem with my 8800GT. My solutions was: just put the "NVDANV50Hal.kext" back from DP4.
Make a backup first.
Here it is: NVDANV50Hal_DP4.kext.zip
You can use the same activation method which you used for Lion eg. GraphicsEnabler, NVinject etc.

Hope it works for you too :)


I will definitely try this tonight ....

#19
msb

msb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
I was having the same problem while using MyHack method installing Mountain Lion getting black screen trying booting from my USB stick. The following is my fix based on my Gigabyte motherboard EP45-UD3R.
Using champlist I saw my graphic resolution was set at 1024x768x32 and I change to my Lion default to 1600x1200x32 then copy my lion DSDT to USB stick in Extra and reboot and the black screen has gone. Right I a installing Mountain Lion in another partition. Hope this help.

#20
ihosc

ihosc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
My GTS250 works out of the box in Lion (NVDANV50Hal.kext), but black screen in ML. Today I bought a cheap Palit GTX560SE to replace the GTS250 and it works out of the box on ML (NVDANV100Hal.kext). GraphicsEnabler must be = Yes.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy