Jump to content

nForce OS X Lion (10.7) APP STORE DOWNLOAD INSTALL GUIDE on a Series 6 or 7 nForce chipset / Intel CPU MOBO


  • Please log in to reply
435 replies to this topic

Poll: Lion on nForce + Intel CPU MOBO in Desktop (42 member(s) have cast votes)

Have you successfully installed a working, bootable Lion system?

  1. Yes, on a Series 7 (750i, 780i, or 790i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the USB flash drive installer method (15 votes [25.42%])

    Percentage of vote: 25.42%

  2. Yes, on a Series 6 (650i or 680i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the USB flash drive installer method (13 votes [22.03%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.03%

  3. Yes, on a Series 6 (610i or 630i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the USB flash drive installer method (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. Yes, on a Series 7 (750i, 780i, or 790i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the verdant_nForce_OSX_Lion_Installer_DVD_Booter (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  5. Yes, on a Series 6 (650i or 680i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the verdant_nForce_OSX_Lion_Installer_DVD_Booter (3 votes [5.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.08%

  6. Yes, on a Series 6 (610i or 630i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using the verdant_nForce_OSX_Lion_Installer_DVD_Booter (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  7. Yes, on a Series 7 (750i, 780i, or 790i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using Snow Leopard from an Installer volume to another HDD/volume (1 votes [1.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.69%

  8. Yes, on a Series 6 (650i or 680i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using Snow Leopard from an Installer volume to another HDD/volume (2 votes [3.39%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.39%

  9. Yes, on a Series 6 (610i or 630i) nForce chipset Intel CPU MOBO, using Snow Leopard from an Installer volume to another HDD/volume (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  10. No, none of the above methods has worked for me (6 votes [10.17%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.17%

  11. I have sold or plan to sell my nForce chipset MOBO to go over to the "light" side....Intel chipset MOBO..... (1 votes [1.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.69%

  12. I have sold or plan to sell my nForce chipset MOBO to buy a "real" Mac (1 votes [1.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.69%

  13. Are you running 10.7.x successfully , having auto-updated without any problems? (7 votes [11.86%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.86%

  14. Are all the standard Apple applications running OK? (10 votes [16.95%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.95%

Would you say that your Lion system is working to your satisfaction (e.g. compared to Snow Leopard)

  1. 100% on (17 votes [27.87%])

    Percentage of vote: 27.87%

  2. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (5 votes [8.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.20%

  3. Series 6 - 650i, 680i (9 votes [14.75%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.75%

  4. 90% on (7 votes [11.48%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.48%

  5. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (5 votes [8.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.20%

  6. Series 6 - 650i or 680i (5 votes [8.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.20%

  7. 80% on (4 votes [6.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.56%

  8. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (2 votes [3.28%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.28%

  9. Series 6 - 650i or 680i (3 votes [4.92%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.92%

  10. 70% on (1 votes [1.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.64%

  11. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  12. Series 6 - 650i or 680i (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  13. 60% on (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  14. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  15. Series 6 - 650i or 680i (1 votes [1.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.64%

  16. 50% on (1 votes [1.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.64%

  17. Series 7 - 750i, 780i, or 790i (1 votes [1.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.64%

  18. Series 6 - 650i or 680i (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  19. < 50% on (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  20. Acceptably on 610i or 630i (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Is your Lion system working 100% on

  1. SATA HDD (33 votes [13.47%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.47%

  2. SATA DVDRW including burning disks (6 votes [2.45%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.45%

  3. PATA (IDE) HDD (8 votes [3.27%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.27%

  4. PATA (IDE) DVDRW including burning disks (9 votes [3.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.67%

  5. Video (25 votes [10.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.20%

  6. Onboard LAN (Ethernet) (26 votes [10.61%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.61%

  7. USB devices (mounting/unmounting), plus USB keyboard and USB mouse (28 votes [11.43%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.43%

  8. Firewire (10 votes [4.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.08%

  9. PS/2 keyboard and mouse (6 votes [2.45%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.45%

  10. Audio including Front Panel headphones and microphone (14 votes [5.71%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.71%

  11. Audio except Front Panel headphones (4 votes [1.63%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.63%

  12. Audio except Front Panel microphone (5 votes [2.04%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.04%

  13. Sleep including waking from sleep (6 votes [2.45%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.45%

  14. PCI NIC (4 votes [1.63%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.63%

  15. eSATA (3 votes [1.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.22%

  16. Bluetooth (10 votes [4.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.08%

  17. WiFi (11 votes [4.49%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.49%

  18. Time Machine (8 votes [3.27%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.27%

  19. Overclocking (12 votes [4.90%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.90%

  20. Auto Software Update e.g. to 10.7.x (17 votes [6.94%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.94%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#61
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

Ok thank you.

I have a new problem now. It has to do with flash player. Originally, flash player worked 100% fine with hardware acceleration enabled in settings. Video was smooth and displayed properly. Now, flash doesn't work at all if hardware acceleration is turned on. It literally creates a hole in the browser to the desktop where the video is supposed to display. If I turn hardware acceleration off for flash, I can view the videos, but they're extremely choppy (since it's not using my GFX card). Also, with hardware acceleration enabled in flash, when safari loads (and loads the default apple website that is heavy on flash), it will turn my primary monitor entirely black with a white cursor at the top, and it seems to log me out and log me back in all in a matter of 2 or 3 seconds. (I believe it's logging me out because it reopens windows that I had open last time I restarted the computer)

I tried uninstalling/reinstalling, repaired permissions, used a flash uninstaller dmg, installed flash 11 beta, restarted thousands of times..etc
Any ideas? There is literally no more back information I can give you. This just randomly started happening. It happens in safari, firefox, and even chrome (w/ it's native flash player)


According to Adobe:

Adobe recommends using Flash Player 10.3.183.5 to get the best experience with Mac OS X Lion. In particular, this version resolves an issue with the Flash Player settings panel not responding to clicks on Mac OS X Lion.


At present I cannot be of more help as I have not installed Flash Player in OS X Lon yet because I was aware of the problems with Adobe Flash Player and OS X Lion......

#62
icedtrip

icedtrip

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts

Regarding the [PCI Configuration begin] problem, there are two distinct issues with different solutions:

...

Case 2. There is a display freeze after "PCI Configuration Begin" but booting continues with a problem until the Desktop shows, meaning that you can no longer use Single User Mode nor follow the boot process in verbose mode.......nor see anything else onscreen until the Desktop appears......

My post #4 Issue 1 deals with Case 2......


Got it to work with the Kernel Flag solution:

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>-v arch=x86_64 npci=0x2000</string>

But wanted to let you know that in your post, you have the string as "npci=2000" rather than "npci=0x2000". In the explanation you mention npci=0x2000, but you may have just mis-typed it in the string portion. Thanks for the help!! I'm now 100% 64-bit with the correction to the "PCI Configuration Begin" issue....next up, Lion!

#63
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

Got it to work with the Kernel Flag solution:

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>-v arch=x86_64 npci=0x2000</string>

But wanted to let you know that in your post, you have the string as "npci=2000" rather than "npci=0x2000". In the explanation you mention npci=0x2000, but you may have just mis-typed it in the string portion. Thanks for the help!! I'm now 100% 64-bit with the correction to the "PCI Configuration Begin" issue....next up, Lion!


Many thanks for pointing out the mis-typed entry in post #4...... :P I have corrected it now...... ^_^

Glad you are up and running in 100% 64bit mode.......and to have helped you....... :)

#64
Fiox89

Fiox89

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Moderators
  • 4,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Soverato - Italy
  • Interests:Informatica, Motori...e Donne! :D
ohoh omg this work, very very nice, and very long :P

I will read all night :)

p.s. and this is under construction :P

#65
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
ALC 889A/885 audio not working in lion.. mobo is nforce 680i LT SLI..help required please..:P

#66
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

ALC 889A/885 audio not working in lion.. mobo is nforce 680i LT SLI..help required please.. :P


What method was working for you in Snow Leopard?

ALCxxx kext, or VoodooHDA, or DSDT patch +Info.plist only ALCxxx.kext? Details needed......

ohoh omg this work, very very nice, and very long :P

I will read all night :)

p.s. and this is under construction :P


Thanks.........I hope the completed version does not disappoint.......... :P

#67
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

What method was working for you in Snow Leopard?

ALCxxx kext, or VoodooHDA, or DSDT patch +Info.plist only ALCxxx.kext? Details needed......



Thanks.........I hope the completed version does not disappoint.......... :)



i was using AppleHDA 10.6.2 + LegacyHDA +DSDT Patch in snow leopard.. it was working great...

#68
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

i was using AppleHDA 10.6.2 + LegacyHDA +DSDT Patch in snow leopard.. it was working great...


Try the following:

[1] Confirm that in OS X Lion /S/L/E/ the 10.7.0 AppleHDA.kext has been renamed via Terminal as AppleHDA.kext.1070_Orig, or similar......

[2] Put AppleHDA.1062.kext in /S/L/E

Here it is: Attached File  AppleHDA1062Kext.zip   1.27MB   10 downloads

[3] In Terminal type:

sudo chown -R 0:0 /System/Library/Extensions
	sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
	sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions

[4] Put the iLeopod Info.plist-only ALC885.kext in /Extra/Extensions/

Here it is: Attached File  iLeopod_ALC885.kext.zip   7.78KB   17 downloads

[5] Check your DSDT.aml entry in / and/or in /Extra for HDEF against that from iLeopod, shown in red:

Device (HDEF)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x000F0001) <------ Your _ADR value here may be different
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package ()
{

"built-in",
Buffer (One)
{
0x00
},


"subsystem-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x0A, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},

"subsystem-vendor-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x6B, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00
},


"codec-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x85, 0x08, 0xEC, 0x10
},

"platformFamily",
Buffer (One)
{
0x00
},

"layout-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x75, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00
},

"device-type",
Buffer (0x0F)
{
"Realtek ALC885"
},

"PinConfigurations",
Buffer (Zero) {}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}

Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
{
0x0D,
0x03
})
}

}

and the DTGP Method that is placed between Name (OSFL, 0x01) and Method (STRC, 2, NotSerialized):

Name (OSFL, 0x01)

Method (DTGP, 5, NotSerialized)
{
If (LEqual (Arg0, Buffer (0x10)
{
/* 0000 */ 0xC6, 0xB7, 0xB5, 0xA0, 0x18, 0x13, 0x1C, 0x44,
/* 0008 */ 0xB0, 0xC9, 0xFE, 0x69, 0x5E, 0xAF, 0x94, 0x9B
}))
{
If (LEqual (Arg1, One))
{
If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
{
Store (Buffer (One)
{
0x03
}, Arg4)
Return (One)
}

If (LEqual (Arg2, One))
{
Return (One)
}
}
}

Store (Buffer (One)
{
0x00
}, Arg4)
Return (Zero)
}


Method (STRC, 2, NotSerialized)

See post #5 for more detail of how to do the Device (HDEF) patching......

[6] Reboot and post here what System Report says under Audio.....

#69
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

Try the following:

[1] Confirm that in OS X Lion /S/L/E/ the 10.7.0 AppleHDA.kext has been renamed via Terminal as AppleHDA.kext.1070_Orig, or similar......

[2] Put AppleHDA.1062.kext in /S/L/E

Here it is: Attached File  AppleHDA1062Kext.zip   1.27MB   10 downloads

[3] In Terminal type:

sudo chown -R 0:0 /System/Library/Extensions
	sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
	sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions

[4] Put the iLeopod Info.plist-only ALC885.kext in /Extra/Extensions/

Here it is: Attached File  iLeopod_ALC885.kext.zip   7.78KB   17 downloads

[5] Check your DSDT.aml entry in / and/or in /Extra for HDEF against that from iLeopod, shown in red:

Device (HDEF)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x000F0001) <------ Your _ADR value here may be different
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package ()
{

"built-in",
Buffer (One)
{
0x00
},


"subsystem-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x0A, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},

"subsystem-vendor-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x6B, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00
},


"codec-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x85, 0x08, 0xEC, 0x10
},

"platformFamily",
Buffer (One)
{
0x00
},

"layout-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x75, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00
},

"device-type",
Buffer (0x0F)
{
"Realtek ALC885"
},

"PinConfigurations",
Buffer (Zero) {}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}

Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
{
0x0D,
0x03
})
}

}

and the DTGP Method that is placed between Name (OSFL, 0x01) and Method (STRC, 2, NotSerialized):

Name (OSFL, 0x01)

Method (DTGP, 5, NotSerialized)
{
If (LEqual (Arg0, Buffer (0x10)
{
/* 0000 */ 0xC6, 0xB7, 0xB5, 0xA0, 0x18, 0x13, 0x1C, 0x44,
/* 0008 */ 0xB0, 0xC9, 0xFE, 0x69, 0x5E, 0xAF, 0x94, 0x9B
}))
{
If (LEqual (Arg1, One))
{
If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
{
Store (Buffer (One)
{
0x03
}, Arg4)
Return (One)
}

If (LEqual (Arg2, One))
{
Return (One)
}
}
}

Store (Buffer (One)
{
0x00
}, Arg4)
Return (Zero)
}


Method (STRC, 2, NotSerialized)

See post #5 for more detail of how to do the Device (HDEF) patching......

[6] Reboot and post here what System Report says under Audio.....



No output devices found..:) kext is loaded and pin configurations are fine..but NO AUDIO.

#70
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

No output devices found.. :rolleyes: kext is loaded and pin configurations are fine..but NO AUDIO.


This is strange.......is your MOBO audio chipset still picked up by running lspci -nn and/or IORegistryExplorer....?

Try this general Device (HDEF) patch from THe KiNG that should work for all codecs:

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x04)
{
"layout-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x0C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},

"PinConfigurations",
Buffer (Zero) {}

}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
}

Then try the ALC885_889a.kext Info.plist-only kext in /S/L/E + copying layout885.xml and Platforms.xml to the 10.7.x AppleHDA.kext, or AppleHDA.kext version 2.0.0 or higher (in /S/L/E/) Resources folder, that VCH888 has posted in his ALC889A (Gigabyte, Intel) topic here......let me know how you get on.......

Whatever finally works for you in OS X Lion 10.7.x, I will post in my Audio section of my guide to help others with the ALC885 codec...... :)

#71
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

This is strange.......is your MOBO audio chipset still picked up by running lspci -nn and/or IORegistryExplorer....?

Try this general Device (HDEF) patch from THe KiNG that should work for all codecs:

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x04)
{
"layout-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x0C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},

"PinConfigurations",
Buffer (Zero) {}

}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
}

Then try the ALC885_889a.kext Info.plist-only kext in /S/L/E + copying layout885.xml and Platforms.xml to the 10.7.x AppleHDA.kext, or AppleHDA.kext version 2.0.0 or higher (in /S/L/E/) Resources folder, that VCH888 has posted in his ALC889A (Gigabyte, Intel) topic here......let me know how you get on.......

Whatever finally works for you in OS X Lion 10.7.x, I will post in my Audio section of my guide to help others with the ALC885 codec...... :)



wowwwww .. i got the sound working... I am gonna post the complete procedure...:)


ALC889A/885 audio on Mac OS X Lion

1) AppleHDA.kext (1.7.9a4) AppleHDA.kext

2) LegacyHDA.kext LegacyHDA.kext

3) DSDT Patch For HDEF section

Device (HDEF)
			{
				Name (_ADR, 0x000F0001)
				Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
				{
					Store (Package (0x0A)
						{
							"built-in", 
							Buffer (One)
							{
								0x01
							}, 

							"codec-id", 
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								0x85, 0x08, 0xEC, 0x10
							}, 

							"layout-id", 
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								0x75, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00
							}, 

							"device-type", 
							Buffer (0x12)
							{
								"Realtek ALC889A"
							}, 

							"PinConfigurations", 
							Buffer (0x28)
							{
								/* 0000 */	0x10, 0x90, 0xA1, 0x01, 0x20, 0x90, 0xA1, 0x02, 
								/* 0008 */	0x80, 0x30, 0x81, 0x01, 0x90, 0x40, 0x21, 0x02, 
								/* 0010 */	0x30, 0x40, 0x11, 0x01, 0x40, 0x40, 0x01, 0x01, 
								/* 0018 */	0x50, 0x60, 0x01, 0x01, 0x60, 0x20, 0x01, 0x01, 
								/* 0020 */	0x70, 0x61, 0x4B, 0x01, 0xA0, 0x01, 0xCB, 0x01
							}
						}, Local0)
					DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
					Return (Local0)
				}

				Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
				{
					0x0D, 
					0x03
				})
			}

AppleHDA.kext + LegacyHDA.kext + DSDT Patch ======== 100 % working audio....:D

#72
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

wowwwww .. i got the sound working... I am gonna post the complete procedure... :)


ALC889A/885 audio on Mac OS X Lion

1) AppleHDA.kext (1.7.9a4) AppleHDA.kext

2) LegacyHDA.kext LegacyHDA.kext

3) DSDT Patch For HDEF section

Device (HDEF)
			 {
				 Name (_ADR, 0x000F0001)
				 Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
				 {
					 Store (Package (0x0A)
						 {
							 "built-in", 
							 Buffer (One)
							 {
								 0x01
							 }, 
 
							 "codec-id", 
							 Buffer (0x04)
							 {
								 0x85, 0x08, 0xEC, 0x10
							 }, 
 
							 "layout-id", 
							 Buffer (0x04)
							 {
								 0x75, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00
							 }, 
 
							 "device-type", 
							 Buffer (0x12)
							 {
								 "Realtek ALC889A"
							 }, 
 
							 "PinConfigurations", 
							 Buffer (0x28)
							 {
								 /* 0000 */	0x10, 0x90, 0xA1, 0x01, 0x20, 0x90, 0xA1, 0x02, 
								 /* 0008 */	0x80, 0x30, 0x81, 0x01, 0x90, 0x40, 0x21, 0x02, 
								 /* 0010 */	0x30, 0x40, 0x11, 0x01, 0x40, 0x40, 0x01, 0x01, 
								 /* 0018 */	0x50, 0x60, 0x01, 0x01, 0x60, 0x20, 0x01, 0x01, 
								 /* 0020 */	0x70, 0x61, 0x4B, 0x01, 0xA0, 0x01, 0xCB, 0x01
							 }
						 }, Local0)
					 DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
					 Return (Local0)
				 }
 
				 Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
				 {
					 0x0D, 
					 0x03
				 })
			 }

AppleHDA.kext + LegacyHDA.kext + DSDT Patch ======== 100 % working audio.... :)


That is very good news.........who should I give credits to for these kexts and HDEF patch when I post it in my guide courtesy of yourself.....?

#73
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

That is very good news.........who should I give credits to for these kexts and HDEF patch when I post it in my guide courtesy of yourself.....?


And one more good news... front panel audio working too...

regarding credits.. The one who patched AppleHDA.kext 10.6.2 and LegacyHDA.kext and HDEF patch is the one made out of all possible ways by me..:)

And one more good news... front panel audio working too...

regarding credits.. The one who patched AppleHDA.kext 10.6.2 and LegacyHDA.kext and HDEF patch is the one made out of all possible ways by me..:)


Attached File  sound_working.tiff   69.24KB   10 downloads

#74
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

And one more good news... front panel audio working too...

regarding credits.. The one who patched AppleHDA.kext 10.6.2 and LegacyHDA.kext and HDEF patch is the one made out of all possible ways by me.. :)


Well done..... :)

It did not take you long then after your first post here......did you get guidance from VCH888's topic.....?

#75
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

Well done..... :)

It did not take you long then after your first post here......did you get guidance from VCH888's topic.....?



NO... i have been trying from day lion developer preview has been released..succeeded now..:) I read the VCH888's topic, it helped me but none of the procedure worked me.

#76
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

NO... i have been trying from day lion developer preview has been released..succeeded now.. :D I read the VCH888's topic, it helped me but none of the procedure worked me.


Then double congratulations...... :) I now know who to ask if ever I need to do something similar for AD1998B or any other codec on any future MOBO..... :)

I am now writing up your procedure in the Audio section of my guide......

#77
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

Then double congratulations...... :) I now know who to ask if ever I need to do something similar for AD1998B or any other codec on any future MOBO..... :D


Thank you :) ..I should read the rest of you DSDT mod and should make some tweaks...:

hey, do you have any idea of patching vanilla AppleHDA..?

#78
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >

Thank you :) ..I should read the rest of you DSDT mod and should make some tweaks...:

hey, do you have any idea of patching vanilla AppleHDA..?


With the apparent changes from Snow Leopard to Lion, I am following what is going on in the Project OS X Forum in THe KiNG's "[HOW TO] Patch AppleHDA - Knowledge Base, Guide for how to fix/use original AppleHDA topic"....

BTW if you want, please PM me some .png screenshots of your System report on Audio and System Preferences >>>> Sound windows so that I can add them to what I have written for you in my post #5......thanks...... :)

#79
abhilash

abhilash

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA

With the apparent changes from Snow Leopard to Lion, I am following what is going on in the Project OS X Forum in THe KiNG's "[HOW TO] Patch AppleHDA - Knowledge Base, Guide for how to fix/use original AppleHDA topic"....

BTW if you want, please PM me some .png screenshots of your System report on Audio and System Preferences >>>> Sound windows so that I can add them to what I have written for you in my post #5......thanks...... :)


yeah i have been reading the post but i unable to understand...:) i will send the screenshots.

#80
Vinnymac

Vinnymac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY
  • Interests:Computer Creation and Destruction
I just read the discussion between verdant and abhilash. I followed through everything they said and got my audio working flawlessly! I edited my dsdt.aml using DSDTSE and added method (hdef) and added the kexts abhilash showed. I wanted to let anyone else know, after making all the changes it didn't start working until I added the ALC885.kext to my /Extra folder. After doing everything abhilash said to do, and adding the ALC885.kext from verdant all my audio is working perfectly. Thanks a lot ;)

Both front and back work, all the ports. I am running this on a 680i LT SLI board.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy