Jump to content

SpeedStepper (now supports Mountain Lion 10.8.3)


  • Please log in to reply
573 replies to this topic

#21
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Chameleon and Chimera are looking for /SSDT-0.aml /SSDT-1.aml and so forth.

#22
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Attach .dsl please ;)


once again, im newbie with this, hehehe
how to get ssdt.dsl ?

i got ssdt.aml from link that u gave.
my dsdt.aml is from dsdtautopatcher.


Chameleon and Chimera are looking for /SSDT-0.aml /SSDT-1.aml and so forth.



how to make ssdt-x.aml ?
my bdmesg give me this

Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/DSDT.aml] 34021 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/SSDT.aml] 2829 bytes.
ACPI table not found: SSDT-1.aml
FADT: Restart Fix applied!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
ACPI CPUs not found: C-States not generated !!!
ACPI CPUs not found: P-States not generated !!!
RSDT: Added 1 SSDT table(s)
FADT: Restart Fix applied!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
ACPI CPUs not found: C-States not generated !!!
ACPI CPUs not found: P-States not generated !!!
Added 1 SSDT table(s) into XSDT
Starting Darwin x86_64

is it a problem?

#23
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
The SSDT_PR you posted is a very old one from the thread. You also need processor definitions in your DSDT.

This is no autopatcher solution, we are running a custom made DSDT alongside a custom made bootloader (RevoBoot).

Please read the thread linked to. I will post a thread about SpeedStep on the P8P67 in the next days.

#24
mrmojorisin17

mrmojorisin17

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,942 posts
  • Gender:Male

Chameleon and Chimera are looking for /SSDT-0.aml /SSDT-1.aml and so forth.

It depends

Chameleon RC5 mode with mem detection enabled and automatic P-States & C-States generation for native power managment

The bootloader also supports multiple SSDT loading (names should be SSDT.aml, SSDT-1.aml ... SSDT-29.aml).

Chameleon bootloader with SSDT and DSDT override, I written a patch for Chameleon which overrides default SSDT and DSDT

SSDT-0.dsl
SSDT-1.dsl
..
SSDT-4.dsl



#25
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

The SSDT_PR you posted is a very old one from the thread. You also need processor definitions in your DSDT.


but all things is work.
no problem with my rig now,

how to get SSDT_PR the new one?
should i made them by my self?

#26
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Sorry dude, but you will have to do some reading, all your questions have already been answered. We discussed this in over 30 pages...

Please keep this thread purely on the tool itself and any problems arising with it, thank you.

#27
turco_ninja

turco_ninja

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:brasil
Works fine on my Build...

Thanks!

#28
sea_man

sea_man

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota D.C - Colombia
Working here !

Thanks flAked !

#29
archintosh

archintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
It's working on my Lenovo G470 (i5-2410M)

Thanx flAked.. ;)

#30
Armacham

Armacham

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
I tried the patcher on DP4, but it can't find the right bits, looks like Apple updated aicpupm again.

can't wait for an update to test it on my P8P67 Deluxe ;)

#31
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

I tried the patcher on DP4, but it can't find the right bits, looks like Apple updated aicpupm again.

can't wait for an update to test it on my P8P67 Deluxe ;)


try to use aicpupm from DP3 v156, DP4 v159
i can boot without nullcpupm in DP4 with this method,
but i cant get speedstepper worked, only 16 38 PStatereached

#32
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
New SpeedStepper supports Lion DP4!

Please note that the new stepper program for iMac12,2 only gives me two P-States at the moment, 16 and 37. I don't know at this point if SMC_PlatformPlugin is looking for some new keys / ssdt objects.

#33
Armacham

Armacham

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
The Speedstep part works for me :)


Jun 13 23:18:16 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(48)
Jun 13 23:18:16 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 48
Jun 13 23:18:16 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(48)
Jun 13 23:18:16 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 48
Jun 13 23:18:17 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(16)
Jun 13 23:18:17 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 48
Jun 13 23:18:17 lain kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(16)

Its the same behavior like Windows, on idle it sits on 1600, under load it goes into turbo (overclocked at 4800), i am happy with it :)

Sleep didn't work, i don't know why but it goes into deepsleep (image) and not s3, without SpeedStepper it freezes immediately on sleep.

#34
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets

Its the same behavior like Windows, on idle it sits on 1600, under load it goes into turbo (overclocked at 4800), i am happy with it :)

I'm not aware of any program for windows that will show all states reached, most of the time, if you run a benchmark under windows you will just see the highest multiplier (using CPU-Z for example).
In SnowLeopard I get a nice curve of 9 P-States being used depending on the load.

Sleep didn't work, i don't know why but it goes into deepsleep (image) and not s3, without SpeedStepper it freezes immediately on sleep.

sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 3


#35
turco_ninja

turco_ninja

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:brasil

SpeedStepper v1.2 for Lion DP4 (beta)

Only works with AICPUPM v159.0.0 (64bit)



Also see MSRDumper for debugging P-States!


I tried the DP4 speedstepper script. Looks runs perfectly in terminal, finding and changing some values that i don´t understand.

In boot, with -v, i get the error in screen file below. with -v -x, the machine restart.

I´m using chameleon 1011 whith SSDT-1.aml and DDST.aml in /Extra folder.

Thanks for the tool again.

Attached Files



#36
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
The photo isn't very crisp, is ECX = 0xE2?

You have
External (\_PR_.CPU0, DeviceObj)
in your SSDT, but no definition for it in the DSDT.

You also might want to look up some basic DSDT editing to change device names and do some basic fixes.

And keep in mind that this only works for 64bit for DP4, the 32bit kext isn't patched at all.

#37
turco_ninja

turco_ninja

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:brasil

The photo isn't very crisp, is ECX = 0xE2?

You have

External (\_PR_.CPU0, DeviceObj)
in your SSDT, but no definition for it in the DSDT.

You also might want to look up some basic DSDT editing to change device names and do some basic fixes.

And keep in mind that this only works for 64bit for DP4, the 32bit kext isn't patched at all.


Thank you very much Flaked!

I will ask some help for the guy of DSDT, Mr. Mald0n...

#38
Armacham

Armacham

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

I'm not aware of any program for windows that will show all states reached, most of the time, if you run a benchmark under windows you will just see the highest multiplier (using CPU-Z for example).
In SnowLeopard I get a nice curve of 9 P-States being used depending on the load.


sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 3


pmset and clocking down to 4,6ghz (to disable PLL because of Intel hibernate restriction) did the trick, after sleep the system takes about 1-1.5 minutes to resume, but it works ;)

thanks for the patcher and your reply :)

#39
turco_ninja

turco_ninja

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:brasil
Hi Flaked...

I tried some modifications in dsdt made by maldon but i didn´t get sucess..

In SL, my hack have only 2 states, 16 and 38 (turbo).

I tried to use your dsdt and ssdt but did not work..

If possible, in your time, could you please look at my acpi.bin, restored in windows whith aida64 software, and sugest me a dsdt and ssdt to run Snow Leopard with a perfect powermanagement?

I will wait the final version of lion to try the speedsteeper again..

Thanks from Brazil!

Attached Files



#40
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
My DSDT is only for the P8P67 version of the board.

RevoBoot will soon have an automatic injection for power management / sleep, where you don't need a custom made DSDT/SSDT.

There are a couple of more steps involved to get SpeedStep working fully, though. I will work on my guide next week, quite busy at the moment.

Have a look here in the mean time: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253642





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy