Jump to content

Chameleon RC5 Meklort's Branch


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#61
meklort

meklort

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Developers
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
Great. The code as is is in a state where I feel it's ready to be merge with trunk (finally), so that'll probably happen within a week.

If there are any bugs that you notice before then, I'll be sure to fix them.

#62
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

If there are any bugs that you notice before then, I'll be sure to fix them.

One thing I do see when booting is this message from the Resolution.dylib module. Screenshot attached..

Attached File  Message.jpg   16KB   157 downloads

If this is expected with my 8800GT then that's okay with me, but is there anyway to disable this message from showing?

#63
meklort

meklort

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Developers
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
Ya, I've never worked on the nvidia / ati code with 915resolution, so I don't know what the issue is. I'll disable the warning for now. In either case, it's not too important as I won't be merging the resolution module into trunk.

#64
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
Great work, meklort! I like to follow you.
Look onto one problem:
I do with your branche
make
make image

Now I see
Attached File  Screen_shot_2011_02_11_at_10.27.00.png   50.65KB   134 downloads
Zero ISO!
Now I can add /Extra into the "cache" folder with /themes and with /modules then type again
make image
Fine! Now I have bootable ISO image that can be written into CD.
Can you remake makefile to do this in one step?

Ya, I've never worked on the nvidia / ati code with 915resolution, so I don't know what the issue is. I'll disable the warning for now. In either case, it's not too important as I won't be merging the resolution module into trunk.

Look into in my edid.c and edid.h files. I made they more correct in some cases. More users got native resolution.
char* edidInfo = readEDID();
		
		if(!edidInfo) return;
		edid_mode mode;
		// TODO: check *all* resolutions reported and either use the highest, or the native resolution (if there is a flag for that)
		//xResolution =  edidInfo[56] | ((edidInfo[58] & 0xF0) << 4);  
		//yResolution = edidInfo[59] | ((edidInfo[61] & 0xF0) << 4); 
		//Slice - done here
		
		if(fb_parse_edid((struct EDID *)edidInfo, &mode) == 0)
		{
			xResolution = DEFAULT_SCREEN_WIDTH;
			yResolution = DEFAULT_SCREEN_HEIGHT;
		}
		else {
			xResolution = mode.h_active;
			yResolution = mode.v_active;
		}
and so on.

#65
M@dMac

M@dMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mérida, Venezuela
hi! there is something wrong with the memory routine in 744, first module detected speed at 533Mhz while second goes above 50000Mhz... I dont have the pictures since I had to test using slice's branch and that one also have issues relating to HPET... so I'm going to trunk 744 and see what happens, whatever results I get I'll try to go back to meklort's so I can post pics depicting the memory wrong speed detection on second module, btw... THANKS! HUGE THANKS TO EVERYONE.

#66
meklort

meklort

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Developers
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
The probably is something wrong with the mem detection. My branch was based on an older version of trunk that may have had it broken. As I've said before, I'm not going to be keeping (many) of my modules and that's one of them, so I won't be fixing it. Any looking specifically for issues related to the module system at the moment. After I merge with trunk I'll recreate my branch with just the modules that won't go into trunk (patcher modules, nbi module).

Slice, I never use make image, but I suppose I can look into it. See above about nvidia.

Anyway, I'll try to get the module system merged tonight (say, around 18 hrs from now).

#67
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

One thing I do see when booting is this message from the Resolution.dylib module. Screenshot attached..


If this is expected with my 8800GT then that's okay with me, but is there anyway to disable this message from showing?

Upload your BIOS obtained by this method.
I'll look into.

#68
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Hi Slice - Here it is.
Attached File  0611.006C.006F.vga.rom.zip   34.95KB   6 downloads

#69
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
Some numeric exersize
while (i < 0x300)
				{ //We don't need to look for the table in the whole bios, the 768 first bytes only
					if ((	map->bios_ptr[i] == 0x44) 
						&& (map->bios_ptr[i+1] == 0x01) 
						&& (map->bios_ptr[i+2] == 0x04) 
						&& (map->bios_ptr[i+3] == 0x00))
					{
						nv_data_table_offset = (unsigned short) (map->bios_ptr[i+4] | (map->bios_ptr[i+5] << 8)); //0x02b6
						break;
					}
					i++;
				}
				
				nv_data_table = (unsigned short *) (map->bios_ptr + (nv_data_table_offset + OFFSET_TO_VESA_TABLE_INDEX)); 
				std_vesa = (NV_VESA_TABLE *) (map->bios_ptr + *nv_data_table); 
				
				map->nv_mode_table = (char *) std_vesa->sModelines;
				if (map->nv_mode_table == 0)
				{
					verbose("Unable to locate the mode table.\n");
					verbose("Please run the program 'dump_bios' as root and\n");
					verbose("email the file 'vbios.dmp' to stomljen@yahoo.com.\n");
					verbose("Chipset: %s\n", map->chipset);
					close_vbios(map);
					return 0;
				}
				map->mode_table_size = std_vesa->sHeader.usTable_Size;
I took 4 different nVidia BIOSes for 0x01D7, 0x06E9, 0x0611 and 0x0649.
nv_data_table is calculated successfully for all.
std_vesa pointer is calculated also and I see the same headers
0x01D7:
23c, 2ba, *2bc=aeb0->20 05 20 10 4B 64 19 00
0x06E9:
22a, 2c2, *2c4=805c->20 05 20 10 00 64 19 00
0x0611:
220, 2b6, *2b8=7bca->20 05 20 10 00 64 19 00
0x0649:
226, 2be, *2c0=7d4c->20 05 20 10 00 64 19 00
But 4B is the difference. Is this algo works for 0x01d* and do not work for 0x06xx?
I am not clear here but map->nv_mode_table = (char *) std_vesa->sModelines; is not zero in all these cases.

#70
jlvaio

jlvaio

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
hello happy good year

many times i asking you to take a look at some vaio info for the strange vaio problem

but now one user find something:

he find how to enable his internal screen but what works in his computer doesn t work perfect for all user now
i ask you because you are develloping chameleon and so you can add option or fix to your version

it seems the vaio problem was due to a non needed display driver and as i see in many osx installer : nvkush nv33 nv42 etc there no option to uninstall this part of device so could explain why display unload at graphics loaded

actually the user who had the display working use chameleon 700 because a certain kind of graphic enabler

so if you can investigate for help vaio user community

i give you the link where user"navid n"find issue
http://www.insanelym...p...8556&st=460

thanks for your help

#71
M@dMac

M@dMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mérida, Venezuela
hi! I just tought it would be a good idea to share these images...
Attached File  001.png   29.49KB   93 downloads
Attached File  002.png   78.31KB   143 downloads

#72
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
@M@dMac

Meklort answered your previous post about memory detection in post #66 where he says:
I'm not going to be keeping (many) of my modules and that's one of them

#73
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
Hi, meklort!
I am not sure I correctly apply your new module system but I have a new problem.
Loading Darwin 10.6
Loading kernel cache /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache_i386.DE02E788
Invalid mach magic 0x706D6F63
Unable to locate _lapic_init
Wifi Controller [8086:4222] :: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1c,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)
There are two problems:1. why invalid magic? I checked with hexedit and always it is feedface. 2. lapic_patch is not work with vanilla 10.6.6?
Nontheless all modules work :blink: except KernelPatcher.

And what do you think about a possibility to boot Lion?

#74
dakku

dakku

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 149 posts
hey guys, is there a pkg installer?

I am currently running Chameleon_2.0_RC5_r828.zip can I simply replace the boot file?

#75
Eps

Eps

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
Had someone tested KernelPatcher.dylib in the rv974 trunk?
I put KernelPatcher.dylib in modules folder and just reboot in loading bootloader.
Have I did something wrong with it?

#76
HNO3

HNO3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
hello,
I am a rooky about compiling chameleon bootloader ... that's why a come to you to have a little help :-)

i followed the various tutorials about compiling chameleon, and i always get the same result, i thing that i am missing something:

1) i download the meklort's branch of chameleon at
http://forge.voodoop...hes/meklortOld/
because meklort seems to have stoped his chameleon work

2) cd /folder of the meklort branch/
3) make
this does work perfectly

here is my problem:
4) make embedtheme
i get the massage:
*** no rule to make target 'embedtheme'. stop ***
and nothing, it wont compile.

I have tryed the same thing with the trunk and i get the same result.

i don't understand
can someone give me a little help ?
Thanks a lot

#77
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male

hello,
I am a rooky about compiling chameleon bootloader ... that's why a come to you to have a little help :-)

i followed the various tutorials about compiling chameleon, and i always get the same result, i thing that i am missing something:

1) i download the meklort's branch of chameleon at
http://forge.voodoop...hes/meklortOld/
because meklort seems to have stoped his chameleon work

2) cd /folder of the meklort branch/
3) make
this does work perfectly

here is my problem:
4) make embedtheme
i get the massage:
*** no rule to make target 'embedtheme'. stop ***
and nothing, it wont compile.

I have tryed the same thing with the trunk and i get the same result.

i don't understand
can someone give me a little help ?
Thanks a lot



make config

#78
HNO3

HNO3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks a lot for your reply rals2007,
i will try "make config" as soon as i am back home (i am at work now LOL)
i will tell you if it worked (i hope)

#79
PolishOX

PolishOX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 240 posts

because meklort seems to have stoped his chameleon work


Really? Spreading such hateful lies and misinformation?

His trunk work continues but the vast majority of commits to the trunk have been from meklort.

Do you at all read the front page of IM?

v0ltr0n is his project with nawcom (blackosx did the logo based on my design)!

Why was such a comment made? People have feelings...

#80
HNO3

HNO3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
hello,
i am sorry if you think i was criticizing meklort :-( his work is awesome and i just can say thanks to him
it is just that his branch was renamed meklortOld and in the same time he went to something new (vOltrOn).
That's why i thought he stopped working on chameleon ... I didn't mean to hurt anybody. If i hurted meklort ... i beg him pardon.

To rals2007:
I did several things :
1) i erased the folder of the meklort branch, because his work is now in the trunk i downloaded the chameleon completely

2) i forgot to add the theme folder in /extra/ so i copy the "theme" folder from "artwork" folder and reboot ... and whoooo it was done ...

so i understand that "make" is enough with the last trunk of chameleon
"make embedtheme" still provide *** no rule to make target 'embedtheme . stop ***
"make config" is awesome !!!
thanks to you rals2007
thanks to every one giving time to hackintosh :-)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy