Jump to content

[Guide] HP DV8, DV7, DV6, & DV5, 10.6.4 Easy, Comprehensive Installation

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1265 replies to this topic

Poll: v2.00 Installation, Update, and Mammoth Installation media (141 member(s) have cast votes)

Is v2.00 something you are interested in and would use?

  1. Yes (139 votes [98.58%])

    Percentage of vote: 98.58%

  2. No (2 votes [1.42%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.42%

Which are you most interested in?

  1. v2.00 Installation Guides (95 votes [67.38%])

    Percentage of vote: 67.38%

  2. v2.00 Post-installation Update Guide (46 votes [32.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#341
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

fyi Ebay BCM half mini pcie
but whitelist hack will be required

I'll try Atheros first and see if it is already on the whitelist of my HDX. I hope it works.

Hi JBraddock,
thanks for the link/suggestions. They are really detailed and precise, as usual in your posts!
Unfortunately PleaseSleep is an application that force system to sleep after a few minutes/hours (that forces what actually power saving prefpane already does). In my case i would need an application that forces sleep when battery goes down under 10% because it doesn't go to sleep and computer powers off. Does it work for you in HDX18? I mean, when you reach low battery does your hdx18 go to sleep automatically when battery goes down(assumed it is properly configured for sleep/hibernate) ? It happens that i am working and i don't hear any sound message from battery-low warning so i see my computer powering off under my fingers without going to sleep (or hibernate).
I would need a solution for that ...
Thanks!
Mal

I don't usually use battery but I see your point.
So you want to force OSX to hibernate instead of sleeping if the battery level is below a certain point. Since the battery level is too low there is no point of putting it into fast sleep and since the deep sleep isn't working for HDX, your only option is to hibernate.
I am pretty sure that this can be achieve by a script in Sleep Watcher.

A script that will watch the battery level and , say, if it is below 15 percent, it will change sleep mode to hibernate only and then force machine to hibernate.
I remember Valv shared one. Did you try that?

Use tape to cover pin 20 (both side). I already tested this & it work. It keep the wireless device ON.

I don't know if wireless switch on-off button (same button with bluetooth) is going to work for me but that button is able to turn my bluetooth device on / off . I hope it works for wireless too.

When you guys say "tape pin 20", do you actually put a tape on that pin.
Sorry if that sounds stupid but I am not good that pin, chip or cables.

#342
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

I don't know if wireless switch on-off button (same button with bluetooth) is going to work for me but that button is able to turn my bluetooth device on / off . I hope it works for wireless too.

When you guys say "tape pin 20", do you actually put a tape on that pin.
Sorry if that sounds stupid but I am not good that pin, chip or cables.

Yes. Put a tape to cover the pin. This way it won't receive signal to power OFF. On my Acer Aspire 3680 (still working but I already retired it), it have "dead man switch". LOL. It actually soft-switch, to turn the wireless ON/OFF, push to the right & let go. It doesn't work with Mac OS X, so I have to cover the pin 20 (both sides). It's tiny but you'll be able to do it. I'm actually have to cover two pins because it still turned OFF if I just cover pin 20. I can't remember it's number but it is side-by-side with pin 20.

#343
AdmiralA

AdmiralA

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Yes. Put a tape to cover the pin. This way it won't receive signal to power OFF. On my Acer Aspire 3680 (still working but I already retired it), it have "dead man switch". LOL. It actually soft-switch, to turn the wireless ON/OFF, push to the right & let go. It doesn't work with Mac OS X, so I have to cover the pin 20 (both sides). It's tiny but you'll be able to do it. I'm actually have to cover two pins because it still turned OFF if I just cover pin 20. I can't remember it's number but it is side-by-side with pin 20.


So my wireless card will be permanently on. The question is, will OSX then be able to recognise and work with the Broadcom 43224AG that's already in my laptop?

#344
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

So my wireless card will be permanently on. The question is, will OSX then be able to recognise and work with the Broadcom 43224AG that's already in my laptop?

Someone claims that it doesn't work because it is not turned on when you boot into OSX. May be that's the problem.

#345
Mr. Moneybags

Mr. Moneybags

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
I have a DV6t and I was able to successfully get everything working properly except for two things. The less important thing is the webcam which works but the picture is all grainy and discolored. Is there a way to fix it? If I open up photobooth, the webcam light is on and I see a picture but I get blueish and purpleish "snow" in the picture and it's extreme unattractive. If anyone can help me fix the color of the webcam then I'd be extremely happy.

Second but more important item needing fixing is the WiFi. I have a DV6t with HP's Broadcom card but no matter what i do, OS X will not load up the driver. I used DPCI and saw the device/vendor ID to be 14e4:4315 and I modified the AirPortBrcm4311.kext to include that device/vendor ID in the list but nothing seems to be working. One thing I find to be very ironic is I was able to use the attached kext on 10.5 and it partially worked. What I mean by that is it only loaded about 20% of the time and if it didn't' load it would freeze the bootup. When it did load the wifi light was all messed up and became half red/half blue when on but full red when off. The WiFi worked 100% when it was loaded but loading it was the problem. And it was also on 10.5. When I tried installing it on 10.6, when verbose bootup was finished there would be a white cursor as if the screen were an entire black terminal and would blink blue about every 3 seconds. The system became useless and would not boot to the desktop. Thankfully the OSXRepair partition was able to fix it for me or else I would've had to completely reinstall the OS. If anyone can help me enable my WiFi card, I'd be EXTERMELY happy. I don't like having my laptop be stuck on ethernet for internet. It's just extremely frustrating since the WiFi card can work, it has worked on OS X (albeit a different version) but I just cannot find a way to get it to work on this install.

The guide was fantastic and I thank all who helped contribute to making it.

Thanks.


Attached File  AppleAirPortBrcm4311.kext.zip   1.19MB   6 downloads

#346
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Someone claims that it doesn't work because it is not turned on when you boot into OSX. May be that's the problem.

There are two possibilities which I can think of; 1) He didn't do it right. I found there are two version of covering the pin, one tape pin 20 & another one I don't remember the pin number. I don't remember where I found, sorry. 2) Usually the wireless card powered ON during POST but powered OFF after split seconds. This is when the pin trick work where it prevent the wireless card from turned OFF. Maybe HP doesn't behave the same, which is odd.

#347
yehia Amer

yehia Amer

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:egypt

There are two possibilities which I can think of; 1) He didn't do it right. I found there are two version of covering the pin, one tape pin 20 & another one I don't remember the pin number. I don't remember where I found, sorry. 2) Usually the wireless card powered ON during POST but powered OFF after split seconds. This is when the pin trick work where it prevent the wireless card from turned OFF. Maybe HP doesn't behave the same, which is odd.


hi kizwan , i covered the pin 20 and now the softkey cannot control the card even from windows (is that means that the covering works)
but the mac still load the wireless kext but don't recognize the card on the system profile

#348
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

hi kizwan , i covered the pin 20 and now the softkey cannot control the card even from windows (is that means that the covering works)

Yes, it works. You will not be able to control it (ON/OFF) anymore unless you remove the tape.

but the mac still load the wireless kext but don't recognize the card on the system profile

I don't know whether this wireless card is supported by Mac OS X or not. I did a quick search & I didn't found anyone able to get it to work yet.

#349
the-patient

the-patient

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
RE: Sound

Does anyone notice a pretty bad buzz from the subwoofer in OS X? I can't put it above a certain volume.

I'm thinking it's probably something to do with the crossover system in the computer that sends all the low freq stuff to the sub, and all the high freq to the speaks (I'm an audio tech, and this is how it works in PA systems, so I assume there's something similar.)

Anyway, high frequencies to the sub cause a buzz like that cause it can't handle anything over like 140hz or whatever.

Could there be something in the kext file that would fix this? I am a complete retard when it comes to that kind of thing, so I have no idea where to star.

#350
AdmiralA

AdmiralA

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Yes, it works. You will not be able to control it (ON/OFF) anymore unless you remove the tape.

I don't know whether this wireless card is supported by Mac OS X or not. I did a quick search & I didn't found anyone able to get it to work yet.


Apparently, the Broadcom 43224 is supported by Apple. I took a look at the loaded kexts, one being AppleAirPortBrcm43224 which is apparently inside IO80211Family.kext.

If you take a look at /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAirPortBrcm43224.kext/Contents/Info.plist and scroll down a little to the IONameMatch key, you get
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
		<string>pci14e4,4353</string>
		<string>pci14e4,432b</string>
</array>

PCI vendor ID 14E4 (Broadcom) with our particular wireless card (4353) which means it definitely is supported.

I've had reports that people have gotten this same card working before in 10.5 Leopard, but are facing issues with it in 10.6 Snow Leopard.
I'm going to open up my computer today and tape pin 20 and verify that it's working as expected, then I'll see what I can do in OSX.

Yehia, now that you know your wireless card is definitely on but is still not being picked up by Airport (lol) you may be having a PCI issue. You can try out this kext here, reported to work in 10.6.4 both 32 and 64-bit. It's meant to be installed to /S/L/E, but you could always try /C/E/E first I guess. Be sure to open it up and check that your card's PCI ids still exist there.

Hope it works for you, if it does, it'll work for me too :)

#351
Mr. Moneybags

Mr. Moneybags

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Apparently, the Broadcom 43224 is supported by Apple. I took a look at the loaded kexts, one being AppleAirPortBrcm43224 which is apparently inside IO80211Family.kext.

If you take a look at /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAirPortBrcm43224.kext/Contents/Info.plist and scroll down a little to the IONameMatch key, you get

<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
		<string>pci14e4,4353</string>
		<string>pci14e4,432b</string>
</array>

PCI vendor ID 14E4 (Broadcom) with our particular wireless card (4353) which means it definitely is supported.

I've had reports that people have gotten this same card working before in 10.5 Leopard, but are facing issues with it in 10.6 Snow Leopard.
I'm going to open up my computer today and tape pin 20 and verify that it's working as expected, then I'll see what I can do in OSX.

Yehia, now that you know your wireless card is definitely on but is still not being picked up by Airport (lol) you may be having a PCI issue. You can try out this kext here, reported to work in 10.6.4 both 32 and 64-bit. It's meant to be installed to /S/L/E, but you could always try /C/E/E first I guess. Be sure to open it up and check that your card's PCI ids still exist there.

Hope it works for you, if it does, it'll work for me too :)



The kext didn't work however the message when you click PCI in System Profiler has changed. Now it says there was an error gathering PCI information whereas before it just said something along the lines of "no information." The added string is definitely there and my WiFi card has had some success on 10.5 so I know it's possible but I just cannot seem to get everything to click (no pun intended) in 10.6. It's reaally starting to aggravate the stuffin' outta me!

#352
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

RE: Sound

Does anyone notice a pretty bad buzz from the subwoofer in OS X? I can't put it above a certain volume.

I'm thinking it's probably something to do with the crossover system in the computer that sends all the low freq stuff to the sub, and all the high freq to the speaks (I'm an audio tech, and this is how it works in PA systems, so I assume there's something similar.)

Anyway, high frequencies to the sub cause a buzz like that cause it can't handle anything over like 140hz or whatever.

Could there be something in the kext file that would fix this? I am a complete retard when it comes to that kind of thing, so I have no idea where to star.

Is this the same pop sound which manmal experienced with his audio? I will post another kext later with different SignalProsessing. This time I will put SignalProcessing which I usually use.

#353
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts
Hi guys,

Regarding the audio issue when the volume is full/high, I have made small adjustment to the audio kext. I removed the SignalProcessing entry for internal speaker. I hope it will fix the audio issue. The new kext is available at post #275 (at Update 3). Please test & let me know the result.

#354
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 437 posts

Hi guys,

Regarding the audio issue when the volume is full/high, I have made small adjustment to the audio kext. I removed the SignalProcessing entry for internal speaker. I hope it will fix the audio issue. The new kext is available at post #275 (at Update 3). Please test & let me know the result.


Hi kizwan,
thanks for your kext! I can try it with my DV8 next week since i am not at home in this week: i am working outside the country and i have my hdx18 only with me. In the meanwhile i can work with my HDX18 and i tried to modify JBraddock LegacyAudioKext.kext adding the BuiltInHDA you suggested inside.
I tried installing it but i have kernel panic on AppleHDA . I didn't investigate further, but i have the suspect it's due to AppleHDA version or some conflicts between kext. I wanted to ask you which version of AppleHDA you are using inside your R3_modded package you uploaded. Is the AppleHDA.kext you used a patched AppleHDA or plain from which OSX version?
I remember you that my (and JBraddock) main problem with AppleHDA (even patched one i found, that works great but with the same problem) is that audio doesn't work after resume from sleep. It works after resume from hibernate. If you have time and if you want, please check the LegacyAppleHDA.kext from JBraddock that i modified with your suggestions and please also double-check it with the codec_audio.txt i dumped from linux ubuntu 9.04 livecd from HDX laptop to see if there is anything wrong.

Link to LegacyAppleHDA_HDX_ManMal_JBraddock : http://www.mediafire...5xve89rf4o4wa3r
Link to codec_audio_HDX.txt : http://www.mediafire...tdntdkv39d0o39c

Thanks a lot!
Manmal

#355
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi kizwan,
thanks for your kext! I can try it with my DV8 next week since i am not at home in this week: i am working outside the country and i have my hdx18 only with me. In the meanwhile i can work with my HDX18 and i tried to modify JBraddock LegacyAudioKext.kext adding the BuiltInHDA you suggested inside.
I tried installing it but i have kernel panic on AppleHDA . I didn't investigate further, but i have the suspect it's due to AppleHDA version or some conflicts between kext. I wanted to ask you which version of AppleHDA you are using inside your R3_modded package you uploaded. Is the AppleHDA.kext you used a patched AppleHDA or plain from which OSX version?

I'm not sure the exact version but I use 10.6.4 AppleHDA.kext. I patched the AppleHDA binary with HP DVx IDT92HD75B3 audio codec ID. Make sure you didn't install AppleHDA.kext in Extra folder.

I remember you that my (and JBraddock) main problem with AppleHDA (even patched one i found, that works great but with the same problem) is that audio doesn't work after resume from sleep. It works after resume from hibernate. If you have time and if you want, please check the LegacyAppleHDA.kext from JBraddock that i modified with your suggestions and please also double-check it with the codec_audio.txt i dumped from linux ubuntu 9.04 livecd from HDX laptop to see if there is anything wrong.

Link to LegacyAppleHDA_HDX_ManMal_JBraddock : http://www.mediafire...5xve89rf4o4wa3r
Link to codec_audio_HDX.txt : http://www.mediafire...tdntdkv39d0o39c

Codec verbs or pin configurations or ConfigData is not the reason why your audio is not working after waking from sleep. If you have wrong codec verbs or pin configurations or ConfigData, the audio will simply not working. I will check the legacy kext to see whether you put the BuiltInHDA correctly or not. The only reason (which I can think of) why it doesn't work after wake from sleep are whether related to DSDT or incompatible AppleHDA.kext (old version but I don't think AppleHDA is the cause of the problem).

#356
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts
@ManMal & @JBraddock,

I already take a look to your legacy kext (with BuiltInHDA) & I don't see anything wrong with it. This is the 10.6.4 AppleHDA.kext, already patched with HP HDX IDT92HD71B7X codec ID. Please try it & see whether it solved the problem or not.
http://www.mediafire...a2vr9iki2psp4gd

#357
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

@ManMal & @JBraddock,
I already take a look to your legacy kext (with BuiltInHDA) & I don't see anything wrong with it. This is the 10.6.4 AppleHDA.kext, already patched with HP HDX IDT92HD71B7X codec ID. Please try it & see whether it solved the problem or not.
http://www.mediafire...a2vr9iki2psp4gd

@Kizwan, I tried the patched audio file and unfortunately it didn't solve no audio after sleep issue and as I'd said before it produced so much errors. The last error message repeats constantly.

Sound assertion "0 != result" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 3800 goto handlerSound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 1130 goto handlerSound assertion "mFirstConvert && ( numSampleFrames > currentSampleFrame)" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 1816 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2018 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2909 goto ExitSep 27 14:42:49 SnowKittys-MacBook-Pro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "mFirstConvert && ( numSampleFrames > currentSampleFrame)" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 1816 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2909 goto Exit

Another point to make is that after wake up, I checked the sound preference and noticed that my external microphone input is seen as internal microphone. So basically, I had two internal microphones reported after sleep.
This is not the case with AppleHDA from 10.6.2.
I know that HDX two internal microphones on top of the screen, right side of the webcam but I don't know if they are really "two separate microphones".

Regardless of audio kext version, below is my audio information and I see that I have two external microphones reported and I really doubts that I have two of them.
Intel High Definition Audio:  Audio ID:	888Headphone:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackExternal Microphone / iPhone Headset:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackSpeaker:  Connection:	InternalExternal Microphone / iPhone Headset:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackInternal Microphone:  Connection:	InternalS/PDIF Optical Digital Audio Output:  Connection:	RCA

Also from time to time, I lost this and has the following information.
Audio ID:	888
  HDMI: DisplayPort Output // Something like this.

I think the sleep problem is not related to AppleHDA but DSDT or Legacy Kext. When I checked my Pathmaps section of legacy kext, I noticed that it has more entries than yours. May I ask you if you had time to look at this section? I wonder if there are some unnecessary entries, nods etc. May be there are some values which shouldn't be there.

If we can't solve this problem then I am going to buy a usb audio device :P This seems nice. Behringer U-CONTROL UCA222
Posted Image

#358
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Sound assertion "0 != result" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 3800 goto handlerSound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 1130 goto handlerSound assertion "mFirstConvert && ( numSampleFrames > currentSampleFrame)" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 1816 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2018 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2909 goto ExitSep 27 14:42:49 SnowKittys-MacBook-Pro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "mFirstConvert && ( numSampleFrames > currentSampleFrame)" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 1816 goto ExitSound assertion "kTypePinComplex != fType" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-187.4.1/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2909 goto Exit

As long as all input & output works, these error messages can be ignored.

Another point to make is that after wake up, I checked the sound preference and noticed that my external microphone input is seen as internal microphone. So basically, I had two internal microphone reported. This is not the case with AppleHDA from 10.6.2.

Regardless of audio kext version, below is my audio information and I see that I have two external microphones reported and I really doubts that I have two of them.

Intel High Definition Audio:  Audio ID:	888Headphone:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackExternal Microphone / iPhone Headset:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackSpeaker:  Connection:	InternalExternal Microphone / iPhone Headset:  Connection:	1/8-Inch JackInternal Microphone:  Connection:	InternalS/PDIF Optical Digital Audio Output:  Connection:	RCA

Also from time to time, I lost this and has the following information.
Audio ID:	888
	   HDMI: DisplayPort Output // Something like this.

I think the sleep problem is not related to AppleHDA but DSDT or Legacy Kext. When I checked my Pathmaps section of legacy kext, I noticed that it has more entries than yours. May I ask you if you had time to look at this section? I wonder if there are some unnecessary entries, nods etc. May be there are some values which shouldn't be there.

The reason why some input/output listed more than one because the codec verbs (ConfigData) contain a lot of unnecessary/unusable node/pins. By referring to manmal's codec dump, you do have two external mic. I count there are 6 input & output in the codec dump. Correct codec verbs should work with all AppleHDA.kext version. So, need to check your codec verbs again. I'll look into it as soon as possible.

If we can't solve this problem then I am going to buy a usb audio device :) This seems nice. Behringer U-CONTROL UCA222
Posted Image

Look nice. My friend use MOTU on his hackintosh. I helped set up the computer for him. It is a long time ago.

#359
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

As long as all input & output works, these error messages can be ignored.

As long as I listen to music, it constantly gives that error and then I have too much kernel files archived. :) May it doesn't effect the usability but it is just annoying.

The reason why some input/output listed more than one because the codec verbs (ConfigData) contain a lot of unnecessary/unusable node/pins. By referring to manmal's codec dump, you do have two external mic. I count there are 6 input & output in the codec dump. Correct codec verbs should work with all AppleHDA.kext version. So, need to check your codec verbs again. I'll look into it as soon as possible.

Hmm. I would really appreciate if you do so. Just let you know. Sleep issue aside, i have everything working. (Speakers, headphone, internal microphone, audio switch.)
Touchscreen volume control button and menu bar volume bar doesn't move accordingly but that's not a problem.

Look nice. My friend use MOTU on his hackintosh. I helped set up the computer for him. It is a long time ago.

It looks so much professional but I am not going to build a DJ studio.
I wouldn't want to disturb my lovely British neighbours :)

#360
yehia Amer

yehia Amer

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:egypt

Apparently, the Broadcom 43224 is supported by Apple. I took a look at the loaded kexts, one being AppleAirPortBrcm43224 which is apparently inside IO80211Family.kext.

If you take a look at /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAirPortBrcm43224.kext/Contents/Info.plist and scroll down a little to the IONameMatch key, you get

<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
		<string>pci14e4,4353</string>
		<string>pci14e4,432b</string>
</array>

PCI vendor ID 14E4 (Broadcom) with our particular wireless card (4353) which means it definitely is supported.

I've had reports that people have gotten this same card working before in 10.5 Leopard, but are facing issues with it in 10.6 Snow Leopard.
I'm going to open up my computer today and tape pin 20 and verify that it's working as expected, then I'll see what I can do in OSX.

Yehia, now that you know your wireless card is definitely on but is still not being picked up by Airport (lol) you may be having a PCI issue. You can try out this kext here, reported to work in 10.6.4 both 32 and 64-bit. It's meant to be installed to /S/L/E, but you could always try /C/E/E first I guess. Be sure to open it up and check that your card's PCI ids still exist there.

Hope it works for you, if it does, it'll work for me too :)


as you said the kexts is loaded and with me it appear at the pci cards as "Other Network Controller"
it also appear under ioreg under
| | +-o RP01@1C <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001b2, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1576 ms), retain 10>
| | | +-o IOPCI2PCIBridge <class IOPCI2PCIBridge, id 0x1000001f7, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1255 ms), retain 7>
| | | +-o pci14e4,4353@0 <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001d4, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1255 ms), retain 9>

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

i tried the Chun-Nan's IOPCIFamily.kext v113 , but i doesn't make any difference





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy