Jump to content

Intel GMA945 (0x27AE8086+0x27A28086) resolution + CI/QE/OpenGL solution


  • Please log in to reply
187 replies to this topic

#41
Noodle09

Noodle09

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Combination works on my D820 GMA 950 (osx 10.6.3)

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.6.6
AppleIntelGMA950xxxx: 1.6.6

Working, but Aperture 3.x will not launch, log said pixel format invalid. LCD + external VGA on dock working, Sleep/wakeup works fine on external VGA monitor, not on LCD. Browse website ok (for example fatwallet forum)

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.6.10
AppleIntelGMA950xxx: 1.6.10

No way, garble screen.

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.8
AppleIntelGMA950xxx:1.6.10

Working, Aperture 3.x works as well. But not sleep/wakeup, after wakeup, system may running but screen is just blue. Browse fatwallet forum cannot display thread content (black background with black text)

#42
Edgaras

Edgaras

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello all ,

Here is the solution to make GMA950 work as good as possible with all features :
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=214808

#43
Noodle09

Noodle09

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
I tried your solution, you just have 1.6.6 of all packages. Are you running osx 10.6.3? 10.6.3 come with 1.6.10.
Did you try latest Aperture? on it?

Hello all ,

Here is the solution to make GMA950 work as good as possible with all features :
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=214808



#44
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Will this fix work for 10.6.3?

Currently, I'm using AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext from 10.6.2 (suppose, I download it from this forum), OpenCL works fine, but cannot wake up correctly. If use stock kext from 10.6.3, I got garble screen and a lot issues.

Here is the ROM dump

Hmm I tested on a similar machine with 27D2 Intel GMA, same revision, it worked fine but needed stock kext / patch
Change:
8680A227 -> 8680AE27
86807227 -> 8680A227
In the binaries and then edit the plists with respective id's changed
0x27A28086 becomes 0x27AE8086
0x27728086 becomes 0x27A28086

With the rest of the fixes in place it should work... 0xED is the tool of my choice for editing...

#45
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
GMA950 BIOS from MacBook2,1 :(
Attached File  27A2.MacBoo2_1_GMA950_BIOS.rom.zip   36.68KB   209 downloads

#46
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

for 0x27A28086:
Don't replace stock framebuffer kext's...
Apple uses this kind of card.
You then only need the PNLF device in your DSDT and the bootloader installed with GraphicsEnabler enabled...

Hi andy,
Thanks for all :-)
I ve got a Dell Inspiron 640m having Intel GMA950 (27a2).
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a2] (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a6] (rev 03)
the booter detected it along with 27a6. Unfortunately the kexts don't give any result on LCD, but on external VGA only. It enabled me sleep/resume for the first time on my hacknitosh :-) So thanks again for you, Prasys and all who contributed :-)
I have a little question though :
I wonder wether your GMA950 kext with stock (10.6.3) AppleIntelIntegratedFrameBuffer should be used or both should be stock in order to have LCD working .

Thanks in advance.
Hoper

Hi all GMA950-ologs :-)
I made some advances since my last post.
I figured out that there was a Natit.kext in my extensions folder that I removed. With stock 10.6.3 AIFBuffer and GMA950 kext (that fixes 27AE only) I can get display working but after a rather tricky workaround: I have to plug an external monitor, switch to it and then unplugging it in order to get LCD working. With the GMA950 kext that fixes both 27a2 and 27ae, I have no LCD and no VGA even with the precedent trick. I m writing this now using the working combination but this is not very practical, you'll admit.

Somebody sees any workaround for this issue? Should I patch the stock GMA950? What changes should I perform then? Thanks for your suggestions.

Hoper

#47
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Hi, Thank you for replying, I thought i installed the latest chameleon, how can i know if i indeed did or not?
a version somewhere? a file size? a cksum i can run against a file?
Thank you
PS: The 2nd monitor works if i use it as a 2nd monitor, but if mirror mode, that's when it gets messed up.

Yeah right here...
Download from my first post boot_rel3.zip
Replace boot in /
Also removed debugging..

#48
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Combination works on my D820 GMA 950 (osx 10.6.3)

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.6.6
AppleIntelGMA950xxxx: 1.6.6

Working, but Aperture 3.x will not launch, log said pixel format invalid. LCD + external VGA on dock working, Sleep/wakeup works fine on external VGA monitor, not on LCD. Browse website ok (for example fatwallet forum)

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.6.10
AppleIntelGMA950xxx: 1.6.10

No way, garble screen.

AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.8
AppleIntelGMA950xxx:1.6.10

Working, Aperture 3.x works as well. But not sleep/wakeup, after wakeup, system may running but screen is just blue. Browse fatwallet forum cannot display thread content (black background with black text)

Hi Noodle09,
Thanks for these results.
I have got a Dell inspiron 640m with GMA950 (27a2 and 27a6), my current running combination is :
AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.2
AppleIntelGMA950xxx:1.6.10 (the one from this thread that adresses only 27AE). Mirroring is working but no wake from sleep. I am not using Aperture 3.x so I can not tell about it.
Tell me please, are you using stock AppleIntelGMA950xxx or patched one from this thread (in this case which of the files do you use ? the one that adresses both cards of the one that adresses only 27AE)? Please could you send or attach AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.8 for me to upgrade my AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer?

Thanks

#49
kellis

kellis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, tx

Yeah right here...
Download from my first post boot_rel3.zip
Replace boot in /
Also removed debugging..


Hello, thank you very much for trying to help me.
I installed the file you recommended. It booted fine (although the crude TEXT interface was interesting at first :) it started fine and in the nice boot up resolution. i did not choose any options, i just hit enter.
MacOS started well, but the same problem occurs. Also, the GMA Graphic options in the About this Mac > More Info is showing the exact data. I took 2 screenshots, before and after.

Any other idea to have the mirror option to work?
Note that the extended desktop works fine and always has.

#50
Noodle09

Noodle09

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Search Screen Solution Installer. With stocked kexts from 10.6.3, your LCD isn't dead, it's sleeping. Somebody wrote a program that wake up the LCD, works well, but still painful because if you are not login, your screen will fresh itself every few seconds or minutes.

Hi andy,
Thanks for all :-)
I ve got a Dell Inspiron 640m having Intel GMA950 (27a2).

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a2] (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a6] (rev 03)
the booter detected it along with 27a6. Unfortunately the kexts don't give any result on LCD, but on external VGA only. It enabled me sleep/resume for the first time on my hacknitosh :-) So thanks again for you, Prasys and all who contributed :-)
I have a little question though :
I wonder wether your GMA950 kext with stock (10.6.3) AppleIntelIntegratedFrameBuffer should be used or both should be stock in order to have LCD working .

Thanks in advance.
Hoper

Hi all GMA950-ologs :-)
I made some advances since my last post.
I figured out that there was a Natit.kext in my extensions folder that I removed. With stock 10.6.3 AIFBuffer and GMA950 kext (that fixes 27AE only) I can get display working but after a rather tricky workaround: I have to plug an external monitor, switch to it and then unplugging it in order to get LCD working. With the GMA950 kext that fixes both 27a2 and 27ae, I have no LCD and no VGA even with the precedent trick. I m writing this now using the working combination but this is not very practical, you'll admit.

Somebody sees any workaround for this issue? Should I patch the stock GMA950? What changes should I perform then? Thanks for your suggestions.

Hoper



I'm currently using 1.6.6 from 10.6.2, works fine in most cases. I'm not using 1.4.8 because it still cannot give me correct display at fatwallet forum. Aperture 3.x isn't a big issue to me.

I'm on desktop right now, will upload 1.4.8 AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext later.

Hi Noodle09,
Thanks for these results.
I have got a Dell inspiron 640m with GMA950 (27a2 and 27a6), my current running combination is :
AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.2
AppleIntelGMA950xxx:1.6.10 (the one from this thread that adresses only 27AE). Mirroring is working but no wake from sleep. I am not using Aperture 3.x so I can not tell about it.
Tell me please, are you using stock AppleIntelGMA950xxx or patched one from this thread (in this case which of the files do you use ? the one that adresses both cards of the one that adresses only 27AE)? Please could you send or attach AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.8 for me to upgrade my AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer?

Thanks



#51
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
try this for DELLS with messed up display port out method in dsdt (black screen LCD but vga out is ok= switch assignment in DSDT see my next post further down )

but inject under the vid the id 27A6 which i believe is your 27AE secondary (AGP) (VID) with DTGP method .. ps this works with boot.com.plist data added in post of beta pack that the </dict> is missing the < but its in my zip for 10.5.8
and im loaded as macpro 4,1 in smbios.plist

http://www.insanelym...p...11&st=1020#
p.s. don't forget to add arch_X X being your 64 or 86 to the boot.com.plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>

<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>6d0000000100000001000000610000000200000002010c00d041030a00000000010106000002
7fff0400100000006d006f00640065006c0000000b000000474d4120393530200000004100410050
0
04c002c00480061007300500061006e0065006c0000000800000001000000</string>

<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1440x900x32</string>

<key>AAPL,HasPanel</key>
<string>0x00000001</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>GMA 950</string>
</dict>

</dict>
</plist>

this got me full Q/E that i been searching for a while ON VANILLA KEXTS by dsdt and plist fix but on 1280x800

i think if i add dual-link 4 to top Device (AGP) vid DSDT section it might enable 1440x900 cause i read somewhere it needs dual link for res past 1280x800

#52
Noodle09

Noodle09

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Here it is, BTW, it's 1.4.18, not 1.4.8.

Hi Noodle09,
Thanks for these results.
I have got a Dell inspiron 640m with GMA950 (27a2 and 27a6), my current running combination is :
AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.2
AppleIntelGMA950xxx:1.6.10 (the one from this thread that adresses only 27AE). Mirroring is working but no wake from sleep. I am not using Aperture 3.x so I can not tell about it.
Tell me please, are you using stock AppleIntelGMA950xxx or patched one from this thread (in this case which of the files do you use ? the one that adresses both cards of the one that adresses only 27AE)? Please could you send or attach AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer: 1.4.8 for me to upgrade my AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer?

Thanks

Attached Files



#53
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Here it is, BTW, it's 1.4.18, not 1.4.8.

Thanks very much! Humm mine is 1.4.20.28 so yours is older :-)
I finnaly got 1.6.10 working using this combination :
Stock ApleIntelGMA950.kext
Stock AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext patched this way : 86 80 72 27 changed to 86 80 A2 27 in binary and 0x27728086 to 0x27A28086 in plist (change original A2 entries in both files to something else).

Again : mirror and wake from sleep not working .
I m looking for the Screen Solution Installer that solves the LCD sleep problem and report results.

Cius

Here it is, BTW, it's 1.4.18, not 1.4.8.

Thanks very much! Humm mine is 1.4.20.28 so yours is older :-)
I finnaly got 1.6.10 working using this combination :
Stock ApleIntelGMA950.kext
Stock AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext patched this way : 86 80 72 27 changed to 86 80 A2 27 in binary and 0x27728086 to 0x27A28086 in plist (change original A2 entries in both files to something else).

Again : mirror and wake from sleep not working .
I m looking for the Screen Solution Installer that solves the LCD sleep problem and report results.

Cius

#54
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Some laptop GMA950 (27a2) work with all original 10.6.* kexts, just injecting the "AAPL,HasPanel" property.
[codebox] Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x04)
{
"AAPL,HasPanel",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},

"model",
Buffer (0x07)
{
"GMA950"
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
[/codebox]
Without that it gets stuck in a gray screen.

#55
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Some laptop GMA950 (27a2) work with all original 10.6.* kexts, just injecting the "AAPL,HasPanel" property.

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)                {                    Store (Package (0x04)                        {                            "AAPL,HasPanel",                            Buffer (0x04)                            {                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                            },                            "model",                            Buffer (0x07)                            {                                "GMA950"                            }                        }, Local0)                    DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))                    Return (Local0)                }
Without that it gets stuck in a gray screen.

Thanks for the trick oldnapalm
I guess this is what is done by the andy, prasys and co boot GraphicsEnabler=Yes for Intel GMA and also by the Natit kext from Paulicat.
Have some questions if you don't mind :-)
This is for which device in DSDT, VID, LCD, CRT or all? Do you have mirror/wake from sleep working?
Cius

#56
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Hi,
Thanks for the hint on the LCD sleep !
I looked for the program and installed it! I put also vanilla AIFB as well as GMA950 kexts. The program does not work in itsself. the solution was the hot corner that on autologin helps making the trick works, because if you're not logged in, then no hot corners and so this trick does not work.

But unfortunately, I have no mirror working :-(
Cius

Search Screen Solution Installer. With stocked kexts from 10.6.3, your LCD isn't dead, it's sleeping. Somebody wrote a program that wake up the LCD, works well, but still painful because if you are not login, your screen will fresh itself every few seconds or minutes.




I'm currently using 1.6.6 from 10.6.2, works fine in most cases. I'm not using 1.4.8 because it still cannot give me correct display at fatwallet forum. Aperture 3.x isn't a big issue to me.

I'm on desktop right now, will upload 1.4.8 AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext later.



#57
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I guess this is what is done by the andy, prasys and co boot GraphicsEnabler=Yes for Intel GMA and also by the Natit kext from Paulicat.

I believe you are right. Some also use device-properties in com.apple.Boot.plist
6d0000000100000001000000610000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff
0400100000006d006f00640065006c0000000b000000474d4120393530200000004100410050004c0
02c00480061007300500061006e0065006c0000000800000001000000
plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
	<dict>
		<key>AAPL,HasPanel</key>
		<string>0x00000001</string>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>GMA 950</string>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

This is for which device in DSDT, VID, LCD, CRT or all? Do you have mirror/wake from sleep working?

It's for the device which has VID, LCD, CRT, ... inside it. I add the _DSM in device GFX0. It may be PEGP, AGP, IGP, ...

I have not tested mirror. Sleep/wake works fine. It's an Acer Aspire 3690
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=216641 (sorry, in portuguese)

#58
N00b77

N00b77

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
:( I'm going to have to start my first post on this forum with an apology. I've tried hard to find an easy entry point here, but to no avail. Not sure where I'm supposed to ask this question- or where to look- most of these posts are for really advanced users who have already had success with getting OSX running on thier machines and have extremely intricate issues.

I'm in the research phase prior to purchasing new PC hardware, and want to be able to run OSX as well, but it seems most of the posts here refer to older motherboards which wouldn't make a good investment for me to purchase at this point. USB3 motherboards are here, and I have no idea if they'll work with OSX.

Is there any kind of rule which determines whether or not a board will work? Or is it all simply trial and error? Are some brands easier to install with or more stable than others? Please point me to the beginners area so I can ask these questions of the right people... Sorry again & I hope to be joining the ranks of you power-users in a few weeks!

=)

#59
Desert Warriors

Desert Warriors

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Hi
Thanks for the link, I understood latin familly words and DSDT tricks :-)

I added it to my DSDT and it worked fine, I removed the Prasys and co chameleon 5 pre 7 boot and used the version 4 which has not GraphicsEnabler parameter to my best knowledge. Still have the problem of waking my LCD, only hot corners and autologin save me for the moment. The Screen Solution for GMA 950 (from A fix for GMA950 laptops)seems to not to work, I suspect the binary not ready for snow.
I have this message in my logs, I wonder what is the problem!
5/4/10 7:49:21 PM	SystemStarter[22]	/Library/StartupItems/GMA_Sleep
5/4/10 7:50:42 PM	SystemStarter[22]	GMA950 Startup Utility (83) did not complete successfully
Cius

I believe you are right. Some also use device-properties in com.apple.Boot.plist

6d0000000100000001000000610000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff
0400100000006d006f00640065006c0000000b000000474d4120393530200000004100410050004c
0
02c00480061007300500061006e0065006c0000000800000001000000
plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
	<dict>
		<key>AAPL,HasPanel</key>
		<string>0x00000001</string>
		<key>model</key>
		<string>GMA 950</string>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>


It's for the device which has VID, LCD, CRT, ... inside it. I add the _DSM in device GFX0. It may be PEGP, AGP, IGP, ...

I have not tested mirror. Sleep/wake works fine. It's an Acer Aspire 3690
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=216641 (sorry, in portuguese)



#60
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Still have the problem of waking my LCD, only hot corners and autologin save me for the moment.

The problem is when it wakes from sleep? Have you tried removing other devices (VID, CRT) and leaving only LCD?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy