Jump to content

GA-EX58 and GA-X58A DSDT native power management modifications


  • Please log in to reply
1483 replies to this topic

#1421
aschar1

aschar1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

aschar1 thanx for your help, I did everything you`ve suggested but nothing helped, I was forces to do fresh install & after 2 days ethernet problem reappeared again, I think there is an issue with EFI string of RTL8168D/8111E for this model of MoBo

I`ve also mesed up with S/L/E

Kozlek`s Sensors kext
USB3.0 PCXHD.kext
for audio patching used AppleHDA.kext+ALC885HDA.kext
after that DSDT changes has no more importance cuz something happening with RTL81xx and IOnetworking.kext

RTL81xx is just a very bad modification of chuckos kext. I wouldnt use anything from afollow disciple of tonymac who just renames stuff like chameleon with out a single bit of own code. Tony usually just takes the trunk modifications and puts them into his chimera branch.
Only use 1 injection method either DSDT, EFI String, Injector.kext or Bootloader Injection if you use my dsdt mods you need to remove your efi string for ethernet. Since you have the same mobo i can upload my extra folder for you. I dont understand teh usb3.0 kext your mobo doesnt have any usb3.0 ports

#1422
daxure

daxure

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
aschar1 I`ve little knowledge about EFI string in original Kakewalk DSDT there`s no ethernet Lan(en0) thing at all and it was working fine, after I`ve putted in S/L/E Kozlek`s thermal kexts+Fakesmc.kext it mesed up the things, Yes please upload your extra folder I`ll be grateful -
about USB3.0 I`ve found solution with modified PCXHD.kext + $10 ORICO PFU3-2P (Fresco chipset FL1009) which gives out on sys info 5GB/s (actually 106-120MB/s)to my 3TB Seagate external.

At the end I assume that Kozlek`s kexts+PCXHD one messing up with the MoBo ethernet related kexts

#1423
lemarqq

lemarqq

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Gender:Male
I am really desperate. Whatever i do, i cannot install either SL or Mountain Lion.
Now, i have Windows 7 Ultimate, i have a free HDD 320 GB and i want to install OS X on it.
So, at the moment i have no OS X installed.
Do i have a chance to install Lion or Mountain Lion, if there is no other OS X installed ?
I have / use / ML but under vmware. Would that help anyhow ?
So let me tell you what / where my problem is :
I boot the SL DVD. It appears something with Darvin .... it ask me to press F8 / -v / something like this.
After this step, i see this :
efi inject get_devprop string null trying stringdata
And i can see the grey apple logo for 1 second.That's it. PC reboots.
Someone told me this, some time ago :
" i think a better solution to your graphics issue is to use DSDT. By adding PEG1 and GFX string to your PCI0, you should be able to use the card without EFI strings. I am using dual gtx 480s using this method. Depending on your motherboard, you might want to goto the DSDT database on tonymacx86 or extracting your own DSDT using DSDT autho patch tool. Then adding the following patches in there Visit Tonymacx86"
I am a n00b, so i have no idea what DSDT is, neither PEG1 / GFX string.
How could i add those patches ? Where should i add those ?
I upgraded my GTX 285 videocard, to GTX 660. My motherboard is Gigabyte GA EX58 UD5 / Intel I7 920 /
Please help me.
Explain it to me how could i do this.
Thanks in advance
LE : Is that very important to move my videocard from PCI EX 16_2 to PCIEX 16_1 ?

#1424
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

LE : Is that very important to move my videocard from PCI EX 16_2 to PCIEX 16_1 ?


Did you tell your bios where your Video card is ?

Besides, I realised my install with this USB method:
http://www.insanelym...sing-chameleon/
After that i use this marvelous script:
http://www.insanelym...ge__start__3500

Good luck

#1425
MasterLen

MasterLen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Berlin
Hi aschar,
can you please upload your dsdt?

#1426
giuseppe001

giuseppe001

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milan, Italy
Hi to all
thanks to the great work of d00d.
I have many problems to make the installation of ML
My systems is this:
Gigabyte EX58 as d00d
GTX 285

I am using 2030 chameleon and dsdt v5 of d00d and the same smbios (4.1) and plist.
In verbose mode i see that AppleCPUPowerManagement is ok, but black screen. I am not be able to arrive to the installation screen.
So i have swtiched to ATI 4850 and with Graphic Enabler=no i was be able to install ML
I come back to GTX 285 but nothing. Always Black screen.
The problem is that with GTX285 i am not be able to boot.

Could you pls tell me how to configure the plist or smbios to boot with GTX285. In previous OSX there were no problem with this card.
I have read to use the EFI string.

Thanks for the support.

#1427
superraf

superraf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Please help me fix my dsdt
I'm sorry, I'm writing to you through Google translator.
My system is:
I7-920
system: 10.8.2
gigabyte EX58UD5
GTX280
I have trouble sleeping.
The system goes to sleep and wakes up well, if the dream does not last more than an hour.
If the system is sleeping more than an hour, the cooler on waking all the noise, but the card does not wake up.
In an attachment, and my dsdt ioreg.
I use the Chameleon bootloader.
Can you fix my dsdt to sleep well?
Thank you in advance for your help.
https://www.dropbox..../dsdt+ioreg.zip

#1428
jhrfc

jhrfc

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Hi to all
thanks to the great work of d00d.
I have many problems to make the installation of ML
My systems is this:
Gigabyte EX58 as d00d
GTX 285

I am using 2030 chameleon and dsdt v5 of d00d and the same smbios (4.1) and plist.
In verbose mode i see that AppleCPUPowerManagement is ok, but black screen. I am not be able to arrive to the installation screen.
So i have swtiched to ATI 4850 and with Graphic Enabler=no i was be able to install ML
I come back to GTX 285 but nothing. Always Black screen.
The problem is that with GTX285 i am not be able to boot.

Could you pls tell me how to configure the plist or smbios to boot with GTX285. In previous OSX there were no problem with this card.
I have read to use the EFI string.

Thanks for the support.


I had exactly this problem the GTX 285 properties are not injected correctly by chameleon for the GTX 285.
see the link for how i fixed the problem injecting the graphics card properties using an EFI string.

http://www.insanelym...__fromsearch__1
Cheers
Jon

#1429
superraf

superraf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I had exactly this problem the GTX 285 properties are not injected correctly by chameleon for the GTX 285.
see the link for how i fixed the problem injecting the graphics card properties using an EFI string.

http://www.insanelym...__fromsearch__1
Cheers
Jon


Please lay out your file org.chameleon.Boot.plist.
In EFI STUDIO not my video card (GTX280)

#1430
jhrfc

jhrfc

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Please lay out your file org.chameleon.Boot.plist.
In EFI STUDIO not my video card (GTX280)


my file is below, but the device-properties will definltely NOT work with your card as mine is a GTX285

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>DropSSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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
</string>
</dict>
</plist>


#1431
superraf

superraf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

my file is below, but the device-properties will definltely NOT work with your card as mine is a GTX285

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>DropSSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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
</string>
</dict>
</plist>


unfortunately I can not remove the EFI string for your video card
EFI Studio program not my video card.
May learn EFI string with another program?

#1432
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

unfortunately I can not remove the EFI string for your video card
EFI Studio program not my video card.
May learn EFI string with another program?

See post 1, 19D.

#1433
superraf

superraf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

my file is below, but the device-properties will definltely NOT work with your card as mine is a GTX285

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>DropSSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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
</string>
</dict>
</plist>


In your dsdt spelled graphics card?
Or you run it through the boot loader?
Please lay your dsdt.

#1434
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
I've just noticed that the 2nd (lower when the motherboard is the right way up) ethernet port shows as Bluetooth PAN when connected. Is there any fix for this?

#1435
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
Clover working perfectly, much faster to boot than Chameleon and my Geekbench score has risen by ~100 points.

iCloud working
Messages working (both to sign in and to actually send messages)
App Store working
Sleep Working
Auto-Sleep Working
Find my Mac working
Geekbench of 13000 at 3.8GHz
C & P State generation working
Ethernet built in working (yes by default)
GraphicsEnabler working with Nvidia 480 GTX

Will try WOL later, didn't have a chance last night.
Will try using the Startup Disk option in System Preferences later to see if that works (should do no apparently).

#1436
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
Updated to 10.8.3 using Combo pkg, the installer reported an error at the end, but the package is installed.
From what I read and observed it was related to kernel cache, so I rebuilt the cache using DigitalDreamer script and it works again.
Restored AppleHDA 10.8.2 as the one from 10.8.3 is not compatible out of the box.
It has been a long time since last update, so I don't remember what I did/how to make the audio kext compatible: see post #1397

UPDATE:
While on the surface it seems fine, I think something is not right under the hood.
I cannot connect to my linux based afp share, there are a a lot of errors in console log like
2013-03-17 11:06:57.216 AM ReportCrash[4183]: failed looking up LS service ( scCreateSystemService returned MACH_PORT_NULL, called from SetupCoreApplicationServicesCommunicationPort, so using client-side NULL calls.

UPDATE 2:
Should noticed this before, somehow the existence of FileNVRAM.dylib broke the AFPD on 10.8.3
2013-03-17 10:51:58.044 PM sandboxd[90]: ([56]) blued(56) deny file-write-data /Extra/nvram.00000000-0000-0000-0000-00XXXXXXXXXX.plist

Accessing AFPD shares is more important for me, so for now I removed that particular dylib.

Anyone has same issue? Or was it my unit only?

#1437
Kennyman

Kennyman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth, Solar System
Hello all,

I need a little help, I have a question with regards to power management for Intel Core i7 980x. I managed to OC my cpu to 4.4 GHz :P but now every now and then it will cause KP on ML. I checked my DSDT and bdmesg, it looks like ML sees only 3924 MHz (BCLK 156 x 25) instead of (BCLK 156 x 28). Do I need to change my SSDT on DSDT? It looks like it is still on default MHz, this may be causing my system to throttle in ML :wacko:

I have added 28 as Bus ratio in Chameleon.plist and added the correct speed in SMbios.plist but nothing changed, please kindly advise me.

Update: Sorry my mistake, I found the problem, it was the CPU ratio in DSDT, it is fixed now, Thanks :thumbsup_anim:

ok now: http://tinypic.com/r/2u8hr8k/6

#1438
jhrfc

jhrfc

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

I have updated my system using the combo updater. I also got an error message at the end of the install. but rebuilding caches using

DigitalDreamer's script and the install is h

appy. My audio uses native hda for 2.0 audio as in post 1 of this thread item and allworks with 10.8.3.

I had to reapply my patch for non apple trim support using Chameleon SSD Optimizer.

also had to re-edit AppleGPUPowerManagement as in post 1

Thanks

Jon



#1439
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260
I updated to 10.8.3 using the App Store and rebooted.
In my case there wasn't any install error, and I didn't need to rebuild the extensions cache at that point.
I'm using an unmodified 10.8.3 AppleHDA.kext, LegacyHDA.kext from http://www.insanelym...c=196771&st=510 (14D), and a DSDT with layoutid 12 (hexidecimal 0x0C), sound is from black out.
I had to correct GTX 285 PM per post 1, item 22, and then rebuilt the extensions cache for the next reboot;
[mac05:~] root# vi /System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext/Contents/Info.plist
...
[mac05:~] root# touch /System/Library/Extensions
[mac05:~] root#

#1440
Gidi

Gidi

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
It's great to see you still around here, d00d. Didn't you upgrade your system? I didn't and its working fine since 2009...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy