Jump to content

ATI Radeon HD 4650 - any support QE/CI?


  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#21
xlbosnalx

xlbosnalx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

This is how I got my ASUS EAH4650 low profile to have all resolutions and QE/CI
I installed hazard 10.6.2 and I selected customize. I selected pcefi 10.5, evoenabler, aty_int Basically ignoring anything 4800 related.
After the installation had completed, I navigated to the "hard drive/system/library/ extensions" and made a copy of "ATIRadeonX2000.kext" and "ATI4600Controller.kext" to the desktop. I deleted the kexts for all other ati 4500 4700 4800. Just highlight a few and "right click" then "move to trash".
On the desktop I right clicked on each kext and clicked "show package contents" then I clicked on the "contents" folder and opened "info.plist" with "text editor". I then proceeded to remove all vendor IDs except mine which was 0x94981002. Then I saved the text file.
I downloaded "kext helper b7" google it.
Then I dragged and dropped the newly modified kexts to the kext helper and proceeded to install them as per the kext helpers instructions.
Then I went into the "Applications" and clicked on the "kext utility" I let it do its thing- takes about 10 minutes on my machine. You can see here if your graphicsenabler is set to "Y" . Then when prompted I rebooted. I got the usual startup stuff happen then my screen went black. I simply switched to VGA port and voila! A fully functional 4650 hardware accelerated.


My kexts are attached

My device ID is the same, but I have a xfx ati radeon HD 4650, will it work?

#22
redczr

redczr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
I Use XFX HD4650 and SL 10.6.3,the QE/CI is enabled,,,

Spoiler


#23
MC Gamer

MC Gamer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hopefully some decent support will be added soon, it's a great card that I used to use!

#24
ЮК

ЮК

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barnaul

I Use XFX HD4650 and SL 10.6.3,the QE/CI is enabled,,,

Spoiler



Can you describe step by step how did you get working the card?
- which ingector (DSDT, boot(netkas), strings)
- which regime 32 or 64 bit
- which framebuffer
- did you write device-ID in kests (ATI4600Controller, ATIRadeonX2000)
- give me please your ioreg

I have Radeon HD 4650 (1024Mb), outputs: DVI - VGA - HDMI, monitor is connected to VGA

Please help!

#25
redczr

redczr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Can you describe step by step how did you get working the card?
- which ingector (DSDT, boot(netkas), strings)
- which regime 32 or 64 bit
- which framebuffer
- did you write device-ID in kests (ATI4600Controller, ATIRadeonX2000)
- give me please your ioreg

I have Radeon HD 4650 (1024Mb), outputs: DVI - VGA - HDMI, monitor is connected to VGA

Please help!


i use netkas PC EFI 10.6 bcoz if use another bootloader, DVI not work, and set "Graphics Enabler=Y" w/o quotes in com.apple.boot.plist.
i have HD4600 modified kext downloaded from insanelymac too,and it work 32 or 64 bit,i have test it...

#26
ЮК

ЮК

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barnaul

i use netkas PC EFI 10.6 bcoz if use another bootloader, DVI not work, and set "Graphics Enabler=Y" w/o quotes in com.apple.boot.plist.
i have HD4600 modified kext downloaded from insanelymac too,and it work 32 or 64 bit,i have test it...


What about this kext - ATIRadeonX2000? Did you modify it?
Can you write anything I need here, in this topic? (boot netkas, modified HD4600 and others)
And write your ioreg please))) Really needing it!

#27
redczr

redczr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
i use this bundle kext and don't forget to add your device ID into ATI4600Controller.kext and ATIRadeonX2000.kext.Copy or replace your old kext in S/L/E....Use PC EFI 10.6 from netkas and you must add string "Graphics Enabler=y" w/o quotes in com.apple.boot.plist,,,if not,it will cause Kernel Panic
i hope it will work for your VGA

#28
Mopman

Mopman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Just tried using the kexts above, PC EFI 1.6 etc., does not kernel panic (which makes it probably the closest solution so far! :)) but I just get a black screen, then my monitor goes into standby (due to lack of signal) :whistle:

Have read that some people have luck using VGA port, but my card only has 2 DVIs, I'm using a VGA<->DVI adapter into the DVI port.

Anyone have any other ideas? :)

#29
redczr

redczr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
after copying the kext,you must repair the permision,,try using kext utility
my VGA have DVI and VGA output,i use the DVI port and it's run well
try to attach monitor into the closest port to the motherboard
i use the bootloader PC EFI 10.6, i attach that file

Attached Files



#30
Mellexx

Mellexx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Interests:Art, Photography, Cars, Drifting, Apple Stuff

Just tried using the kexts above, PC EFI 1.6 etc., does not kernel panic (which makes it probably the closest solution so far! :P) but I just get a black screen, then my monitor goes into standby (due to lack of signal) :P


Same here except I have a VGA port but I still get a blank screen, once I added the graphicsenabler string I could boot without the kernel panic but now I just get a blank screen. I really need to get my dvi port working on 10.6.2, Tried 10.6.3 also and had no luck either. My monitor has no HDMI input so I'm screwed on trying that trick.

#31
sendblink23

sendblink23

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guaynabo, PR
  • Interests:Bassist for the band: &quot;La Hermana De Miguel&quot; - http://myspace.com/lahermana...

Just tried using the kexts above, PC EFI 1.6 etc., does not kernel panic (which makes it probably the closest solution so far! :P) but I just get a black screen, then my monitor goes into standby (due to lack of signal) ;)

Have read that some people have luck using VGA port, but my card only has 2 DVIs, I'm using a VGA<->DVI adapter into the DVI port.

Anyone have any other ideas? :D



Try mines... to see if you have any difference: http://www.mediafire.com/?azk4zamfxti

Mines is for 10.6.3 using a Sapphire Radeon HD 4650 1gb ddr2

I don't use it anymore since I bought an Nvidia EVGA 9800GTX+ which works nice on Snow

My card has VGA, HDMI, DVI ... but for me to have it working was using the DVI port(odd thing, I needed VGA to be plugged in upon booting then switched to DVI to have it working)... but anyways you mentioned yours has 2 DVI ports only.. well if you can get your hands on another DVI cable (or maybe just a dvi adapter) that could work... switch em

All I know best place for help go to netkas IRC channel, that is where all the 4650 fixes come from.

#32
Besman

Besman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
someone can help me about Mobiliti Radeon HD 4650 ?
QE/CI is not working :)

#33
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

someone can help me about Mobiliti Radeon HD 4650 ?
QE/CI is not working :(


Mobility 46x0 no QE/CI, this is well known.

#34
Deson

Deson

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Help please!

I have installed an XFX HD 4650 in an EP-35-DS3R in
replacement of the HD 2600.

Edit the boot.plist with Yes, use the 10.6 Netkas
Edit the 4600 and "Graphics Enabler = Y" I made a copy
extra folder. Also edit the x2000 with ID
(Only the id) but there is no case, closer than
I is when you start screen turns blue and light blue,
no mouse, and so remains for a while, restart multiple times
no luck.

Any suggestions? I'm desperate!

Thanks!

A purpose is 10.6.3, the wiki said that with 10.6.4
worked out of the box, something I'm doing wrong but
not that ...!
:rolleyes: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :D

#35
Deson

Deson

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Help please!

I have installed an XFX HD 4650 in an EP-35-DS3R in
replacement of the HD 2600.

Edit the boot.plist with Yes, use the 10.6 Netkas
Edit the 4600 and "Graphics Enabler = Y" I made a copy
extra folder. Also edit the x2000 with ID
(Only the id) but there is no case, closer than
I is when you start screen turns blue and light blue,
no mouse, and so remains for a while, restart multiple times
no luck.

Any suggestions? I'm desperate!

Thanks!

A purpose is 10.6.3, the wiki said that with 10.6.4
worked out of the box, something I'm doing wrong but
not that ...!
;) :( :( :( :( :( :(





SIMPLE SOLUTIOOOONN!!!

FIRST UPDATE 10.6.4 (DOWNLOAD BY WWW.APPLE.COM/DOWNLAD)

INSTALL AND NO RESTART! SIMPLE, REINSTALL PC EFI 10.6

RESTART

NOW, EDIT KEXT X2000 HD4600 AGAIN FROM EXTENSION, CLEAR ID'S PUT ONLY YOUR ID!

REINSTALL WITH KEKTHELPER

GO TERMINAL IFIX, RESTART AND...VOILAA!


PD: READ AGIAN BOOT.PLIST CHECK GRAPHICENABLER=YES

THX AGAIN ALL! MY MIND PUT TO WORK!


AHHH MI INGLES APESTA JAJAJAJ y queeeee!!!

#36
Guest: sincro77_*

Guest: sincro77_*
  • Guests
YO
i (finally )got it working..(qe ce). removeD all ati drivers first..

\used 1.6.6 versions of atiframebuffer, atisupport and ati4600 series kexts (( 3 of them))**with 94981002 id in info.plists
then use 1.6.16 versions of x2000bundle(vad,gld . ...etc )and plugins etc (4 of them)
install with kexthelper ..repair by dragging extensions folers to kext utility app./
then copy those 7 kexts to extra (well i did just to be sure)THEN KEXTUTIL THAT FOLDER TOO.
reboot using -f -v once...first time i looked i had 4600series in sysprofiler...but after i switched to pcefi10.6 dviboot..then i had 4650 show up.//..?hmm oh well..even better!!! thats what it is.!
only problem with this card ...no dual screens yet.. iether vga or dvi ..using different boot files and cables/adapters.

so i use my nvidia 8500gt when i want dual monitors on mac...

i run xp,7 linux mint ,ubuntu studio, mandriva,, osx kalyway, ipc, snow leopard and some clone of my os.es LOL!
PM ME IF YOU NEED HELP.

SINCRO77
everything i needed is in this friendly zip i made to share ...hope it helps someone
((ps.. this is for 10.6.4 ((fully updated))hackintosh
TO USE 64 BIT CHANGE I386 TO X86_64 IN THE BOOT PLIST MOTHAFUKKAS!!!!

Attached Files



#37
danietester12

danietester12

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
sincro77's solution doesn't work for me. I only get a blank screen, I've tried the boot files, too. I'm using Sapphire HD 4650 1GB, SL 10.6.4, PC-EFI 10.6, DVI-port

#38
errandwolfe

errandwolfe

    Usurper of Wilson, King of Prussia

  • Donators
  • 1,429 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami Beach, FL

sincro77's solution doesn't work for me. I only get a blank screen, I've tried the boot files, too. I'm using Sapphire HD 4650 1GB, SL 10.6.4, PC-EFI 10.6, DVI-port

I have not tried Sincro's files, but have the exact same card. It is necessary for me to use a DVI to VGA adapter on the DVI port.

Again, let me detail how I have got mine working under 10.6.4
1.) Edit ATIRadeonX2000 and ATIRadeon4600Controller kexts to add your device ID.
2.) Make sure the graphics enabler=y is in your boot.plist
3.) Installed AsereBLN 1.1.9 Bootloader (Installed from iAtkos S3 distro DVD)
4.) Reboot

What works:
DVI port (using DVI to VGA adapter)
QE/CI
Resolution changing

What doesn't work:
DVI port (without VGA adapter)
HMDI port
VGA port
So obviously no dual-screen

One user in particular claims to have gotten dual screen working. He will not however provide any assistance and every user I have talked to say his method doesn't work, but here is a link to the thread discussing it.
http://www.insanelym...00#entry1515598

#39
Guest: sincro77_*

Guest: sincro77_*
  • Guests

sincro77's solution doesn't work for me. I only get a blank screen, I've tried the boot files, too. I'm using Sapphire HD 4650 1GB, SL 10.6.4, PC-EFI 10.6, DVI-port


yoyo

black screen =wrong wire or wrong port. provided you have the files showing up in sys profiler extensions

there are 4 ati files running under extensions 4600 x2000 framebuffer and atisupport

i should have mentioned a few more things..
im using dvi port 2 with dvi cable to get 1680 1050 on my bigger monitor.
with those other boot files and chameleon/pcefi combinations it changes which port will work on what adaptors/wire /port combinations.

i have a few drives so i make clones before playing around.

pm me if you want specific help.

dunno is it different for sapphire than true ati version????

...my card is double dvi...its red with a quiet fan and black heatsink


am i honestly the only one who has full dvi to dvi working....?

most stuff ive read they explicily say to use dvi-vga...
wel hey yo...my shiit is 64 bit and digital...bi-atch

#40
Guest: sincro77_*

Guest: sincro77_*
  • Guests
now.......Where the hell is Catalyst Control Center for mac...i though mac was supposed to be """soooooooo greaaaat" ... i mean come on... :D lol

ubuntustudio64 bit
mandriva 2010
win 7 64bit
etc etc

they all have automatic detection and driver selection....(i mean its nearly 2011) :D

.some guru must be able to write some software for mac that finds and configures this kinda stuff.

i mean sure i (did it) 1 monitor qe ci .. but it was a grind to do..... :( wack., er i mean ..mac(jk) :P

peace all :D





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy