Jump to content

Experimental Intel SpeedStep kext


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
290 replies to this topic

#61
r_o_o_s

r_o_o_s

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
1.2.1c works with dynamic acceleration on. Really great, thank you!

Ill test with a 800 kernel when i get back from vacation next week.

#62
dorts

dorts

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
Hello,

I got a problem. After loading the kext and typing sudo sysctl kern.cputhrottle_freqs, I get this error message.

second level name cputhrottle_freqs in kern.cputhrottle_freqs is invalid

Any ideas?

#63
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany

Hello,
I got a problem. After loading the kext and typing sudo sysctl kern.cputhrottle_freqs, I get this error message.
second level name cputhrottle_freqs in kern.cputhrottle_freqs is invalid
Any ideas?


Then the kext is not loaded or tried to load but has error.
1. try sudo kextload again
1. sudo dmesg, look for errors
Possible:
The rights are nor set correct (owner root:wheel). Until now the rights of the dlded kext MUST set "by hand" before usage.
look on first page for setting rights of owner to root:wheel.

New Speedstep App (has perferences) beta:
Even if the sliders and values are a bit confusing (values shown get "crazy" if moving sliders), it works. Simple only see slider positions, not the values.
First slider (from top): How fast switches / how long stays at max MHZ, the more to the right the longer / faster higher MHZ
Middle slider: How long stays at lower MHZ, the more to the left, the longer stays at lower MHZ
last slider: Its how much the Speedstep App itself consumes CPU time for switching. To left (i think ) it takes more (really much!) , to right less cpu time. less cpu time means a bit slower switching up/down.
I am NOT the autor of the app, please correct me if i was wrong.

#64
dorts

dorts

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Then the kext is not loaded or tried to load but has error.
1. try sudo kextload again
1. sudo dmesg, look for errors
Possible:
The rights are nor set correct (owner root:wheel). Until now the rights of the dlded kext MUST set "by hand" before usage.
look on first page for setting rights of owner to root:wheel.

New Speedstep App (has perferences) beta:
Even if the sliders and values are a bit confusing (values shown get "crazy" if moving sliders), it works. Simple only see slider positions, not the values.
First slider (from top): How fast switches / how long stays at max MHZ, the more to the right the longer / faster higher MHZ
Middle slider: How long stays at lower MHZ, the more to the left, the longer stays at lower MHZ
last slider: Its how much the Speedstep App itself consumes CPU time for switching. To left (i think ) it takes more (really much!) , to right less cpu time. less cpu time means a bit slower switching up/down.
I am NOT the autor of the app, please correct me if i was wrong.


Thanks for the help. But still doesn't work.

I tried repairing permissions with this...

sudo chmod -R 755 file

sudo chown -R root:wheel file


It says kext loaded successfully, but same error.

Here is the sudo dmesg log.

http://pastebin.com/m42d68e0a

Thanks. :P

#65
lovedahackintosh

lovedahackintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
ok, after extended listening there is a little stuttering, but not bad.

1.2.2 completely fixes the need to load acpicputhrottle. works great!

#66
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
"WARN There was an error while getting PState array from ACPI" Perhaps that the reason.
Seems that the .kext cant get the PSates of your CPU (0,1,2,...)
Maybe in this case adding YOUR Pstat values (MHZ, mVolts) in the .plist is an solution.
But you yould know your values.
Wait for autor of the .kext.

EDIT: I think it is a MUST to enable Speedstep in your BIOS ! Check that first.

#67
dorts

dorts

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

"WARN There was an error while getting PState array from ACPI" Perhaps that the reason.
Seems that the .kext cant get the PSates of your CPU (0,1,2,...)
Maybe in this case adding YOUR Pstat values (MHZ, mVolts) in the .plist is an solution.
But you yould know your values.
Wait for autor of the .kext.

EDIT: I think it is a MUST to enable Speedstep in your BIOS ! Check that first.


Thanks for the help. Speedstep is already enabled in my BIOS. Windows XP can confirm that.

I guess I gotta wait for the author. :)

Edit: My system is overclocked if it's important.

#68
mercurysquad

mercurysquad

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
Your BIOS/ACPI is not reporting the P-States for your processor. Quite a common problem. What you can do instead, if you have Windows for example, note down all the frequencies that your CPU supports (in MHz), and the corresponding voltages (in mV) for each frequency. Then edit the kext's Info.plist file according to instructions on the first page, and add the P-States of your CPU. Load the kext again, it should pick up the values from Info.plist instead of querying ACPI.

#69
dorts

dorts

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Your BIOS/ACPI is not reporting the P-States for your processor. Quite a common problem. What you can do instead, if you have Windows for example, note down all the frequencies that your CPU supports (in MHz), and the corresponding voltages (in mV) for each frequency. Then edit the kext's Info.plist file according to instructions on the first page, and add the P-States of your CPU. Load the kext again, it should pick up the values from Info.plist instead of querying ACPI.


Thanks for the reply. But how do you go about doing that? How do I know how many frequencies my CPU supports? By every multiplier? And the voltages as well. Thanks. :P

#70
lovedahackintosh

lovedahackintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Since this now works without loading acpicputhrottle.kext I decided to try it with a 9.2 sleep kerrnel. Unfortunately this is still a no go. It still causes a kernel panic everytime the system attempts to throttle the CPU.

i just tested it with the standard 9.2 speedstep kernel and it now works and gives 800mhz support. however, there seems to be a lot more skipping in music with this kernel. it isnt nearly as bad before because the music actually plays at lower speeds (i used to have to lock my cpu to full speed) it now just seems to skip whenever the processor speed changes

it seems like what is happening is that at any speed below 1867mhz the music will skip for the first couple seconds and then it seems to adjust and do fine. this is ok if the speed is locked but it also happens whenever the speed changes too which makes it rather difficult to keep speedstep on auto.

#71
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets
I'm in the same situation as dorts. It can't get the p-states. How do we go about finding them in Windows? CPU here is a e6600 @ 3.2 Ghz (8x400mhz)

#72
mercurysquad

mercurysquad

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

It still causes a kernel panic everytime the system attempts to throttle the CPU.

Set KernelFeatures to 0 to prevent this.

i just tested it with the standard 9.2 speedstep kernel and it now works and gives 800mhz support. however, there seems to be a lot more skipping in music with this kernel.

All these speedstep kernels do not do any clock recalibration because of a bug which got carried on and on. Use either my rtcfix 9.2 kernel (no sleep), or wait for 9.4 kernel which will support sleep+proper speedstep on sse2 also.

#73
lovedahackintosh

lovedahackintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
that was with it set to 0 actually. I found later though that I have to unload and reload kext. That might have been the issue

#74
mercurysquad

mercurysquad

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Thanks for the reply. But how do you go about doing that? How do I know how many frequencies my CPU supports? By every multiplier? And the voltages as well. Thanks. ;)


Usually it's in steps of 2xFSB, lower limit being above 1GHz (for now). Voltages you gotta find out somehow, my values look like this:

1733 MHz : 1356 mV
1333 MHz : 1232 mV (not sure)
1067 MHz : 1100 mV
800 MHz : not used

Use trial and error for the voltages, I suggest starting around 1300 mV and going down to about 950 mV for the lowest frequency.

Best way is to install some sort of CPU information software in Windows. I don't know of specific apps, but try this one called "Notebook Hardware Control" - I think that's what it's called.

#75
str8edgepunker

str8edgepunker

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
1.2.1 didn't work for me so I figured I'd try the next version. Lo and behold, I get speedstep now on my e1505 with a tscsync 9.4.0 kernel! Sleep via closing the screen and via the OS is not affected by this, from what I can tell right now. As far as changing between them though, I guess the apps need a bit of work so I just have custom clock set to low speed in speedstep.app and when I need that extra oomph, I switch to high speed. Under low speed, the dock animation seems a bit sluggish but audio from a youtube video plays just fine.

This plus the i8kfangui program and the tscsync kernel makes me a cool dual core osx customer and makes this hackintosh run great. Thank you so much for your work on this!

#76
dorts

dorts

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
Finally got it working! With only 2 P-States only though. Works wonderfully, except for a little sound shuttering. :) Thanks!

#77
mercurysquad

mercurysquad

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Finally got it working! With only 2 P-States only though. Works wonderfully, except for a little sound shuttering. :hysterical: Thanks!

You can try making your own PState table in multiples of your FSB to get more than 2 states, and it might just work. No guarantees though. :D

#78
titooo

titooo

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Location:Spain
Thanks for the fantastic work guys.
It's excellent to have sleep kernel with speedstep options, but I think I already can have it using coolbook
So what advantages will I take using this method instead of Coolbook?

Thanks

#79
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets

Finally got it working! With only 2 P-States only though. Works wonderfully, except for a little sound shuttering. ;) Thanks!

Cool. Can you post what you added to your info.plist?

#80
pipolas

pipolas

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
Hello,
Thank you very much for this kext, which works great on my computer.
So, sleep works (resume too), and speedstep seems to work.
The only problem is that sound is stuttering...

But I have a question, when I do

sudo dmesg | grep IntelEnhancedSpeedStep

, I have

IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 3
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x617
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 3
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x617
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 0
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xc21
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 0
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xc21
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 3
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x617
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 0
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xc21
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 0
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xc21
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 1
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0xa1f
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 3
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x617
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 2
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x81b
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttling to PState 3
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Starting throttle with CTL 0x617
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Throttle done.

I haven't got

IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO Initializing version 1.2.1c Prashant Vaibhav <mercurysquad@yahoo.com>
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Probing for Intel processor...
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO Supported Intel processor found on your system
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Processor Family 6, Model 15
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO Starting
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG FSB = 233 MHz (OK)
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO On your processor, voltages can be changed in 16 mV steps
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Using data from CPU0
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Found 3 P-States
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO P-State 0: 2330 MHz at 1564 mV, consuming 88 W, latency 160 usec
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO P-State 1: 1864 MHz at 1564 mV, consuming 71 W, latency 160 usec
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: INFO P-State 2: 1398 MHz at 1564 mV, consuming 56 W, latency 160 usec
IntelEnhancedSpeedStep: DBG Using 3 PStates.

whereas some of you did have.

But, when I do

sysctl -a | grep throttle

I have:
when I select 1200 with the app speedstep :

kern.exec: unknown type returned
kern.cputhrottle_curfreq: 1200
kern.cputhrottle_curvolt: 1000
kern.cputhrottle_freqs: 1200 1600 2000 2400
kern.cputhrottle_factoryvolts: 1000 1050 1100 1137
kern.cputhrottle_ctl: 1559


When I select 1600:

kern.exec: unknown type returned
kern.cputhrottle_curfreq: 1600
kern.cputhrottle_curvolt: 1050
kern.cputhrottle_freqs: 1200 1600 2000 2400
kern.cputhrottle_factoryvolts: 1000 1050 1100 1137
kern.cputhrottle_ctl: 2075



When I select 2000

kern.exec: unknown type returned
kern.cputhrottle_curfreq: 2000
kern.cputhrottle_curvolt: 1100
kern.cputhrottle_freqs: 1200 1600 2000 2400
kern.cputhrottle_factoryvolts: 1000 1050 1100 1137
kern.cputhrottle_ctl: 2591



and when I select 2400:

kern.exec: unknown type returned
kern.cputhrottle_curfreq: 2400
kern.cputhrottle_curvolt: 1125
kern.cputhrottle_freqs: 1200 1600 2000 2400
kern.cputhrottle_factoryvolts: 1000 1050 1100 1137
kern.cputhrottle_ctl: 3105


What does kern.exec: unknown type returned means ?
Are you sure that the volt of my computer change?
I hope when I am at 1200 my volt isn't at 1125 but at 1000


Thank you very much for your help, and sorry for my bad english.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy