Asus m50sv with osx?

Murty

23 posts in this topic

First of all, I am a noob. I am pretty good with MS (IT sys engineer), but this is the first time i've attempted to install OSX on anything. Please bear with me.

I've tried these 2 guides:

http://dailyapps.net/2008/03/hack-attack-d...-windows-vista/

http://lifehacker.com/348653/install-os-x-...acking-required

But never get far enough to complete them...

Link to Laptop:

http://au.asus.com/products.aspx?modelmenu...3=523&l4=36

Desktop/Laptop:

Laptop

Prebuilt:

Yes

Manufacturer:

Asus

Model:

m50sv

Install Methods summary:

- Tried booting from iATKOS v1.0i (halts at using xxxxx buffer headers and xxxx cluster IO buffer headers)

- Tried booting from Kalyway LEO 10.5.1 (boots, then loads a heap of drivers, then reboots, then tries to do it again)

Does EFI and/or the Vanilla kernel work? (example: partitioned as MBR, EFI v8 + Vanilla Kernel)

This doesnt mean a lot to me sorry.

CPU

Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 (2.5ghz)

RAM

2gb

Video

Nvidia Geforce 9500M GS 512mb

HDD

Seagate 250gb (its in a notebook, not sure if IDE or SATA)

Basically I want to dual boot leopard and vista on my laptop, but i need to get leopard to install first before i can worry about the dual boot part...

Please let me know if there is anything else you need to know. I really want to get this working :(

Cheers for any help.

OK guys, thanks to the Chat I am finally getting somewhere.

At the moment it is "Checking Installation DVD"...

Here is what I have done so far:

1. Install Vista

2. Shrink partition by 50gb

3. Make the new partition a 'simple disk', with no volume name and no formatting

4. Restart and boot from Kalyway 10.5.1 disk

5. Press F8 at first screen

6. Type in: -v cpus=1

7. Let it run for a few minutes

8. It should then bring up the first install screen, select your language and click -->

9. Hit continue on the next screen

10. Hit Agree to Kalyway's terms

11. Click utilities > disk utility