osx86 on a REAL mac

hackintosh4life

27 posts in this topic

Ok do not ask why, im experimenting and want to get osx86 on my real imac (maxed out) and have come into the frist problem when i try to boot the dvd i just get a blinking cursor. Would it be because of the efi?....... Anyone please iliterate.

10.4.10 Kalyway intel

Well, I like the whole idea of editing kexts and for lack of a better word "none vanillia" so i would like to see how the 2600 XT in my imac works and if the airport works... that kind of stuff..... Also the speed..... so any ideas.?

No clue what that meant. Speed will be the same since you are running essentially the same files. (except for a few here and there or that are deleted.)

You can still edit kext on the "real" OS X installation.

Why not install OS X and then add/use modified kext from OSx86 as needed?

Who cares "why" i would like to do it, but can you guys please, try and help me!? like im not trying to be rude but im not good at explaining things in a less confusing way...... do you have any ideas how to get the disc to at least get me to verbose or a kernel panic so i can at least trouble shoot?

Who cares "why" i would like to do it, but can you guys please, try and help me!? like im not trying to be rude but im not good at explaining things in a less confusing way...... do you have any ideas how to get the disc to at least get me to verbose or a kernel panic so i can at least trouble shoot?

Who cares, me I was interested and to help you best knowing what you are trying to accomplish helps, geez.

I gave you an idea. Installing the regular OS X and than working backwards and replacing with modified kexts/kernel from osx86 is the exact same thing.

Trying to start with an OSx86 DVD and making it boot on a real Mac is essentially removing the modified kernel/dsmos/efi and only leaving the installers for modified drivers. (hence OS X)

Does that make sense?