Blank / invisible menus with GeForce 7600GS and Zephyroth 10.5.2

daveyz

17 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a noob but I've had a good search around and I can't find anybody experiencing the same problem as me with an Nvidia card.

I'm running Zephyroth 10.5.2 (1st version) on my PC and everything is working (QE etc) apart from my menus. They're all blank!

When I click on a menu item at the top of the screen, the shape of the menu drops down as either a slightly darker transparent block or a black block - but there's no menu items.

If you then click to close the menu item you get a brief glimpse of the menu items before the menu closes.

I'm stumped. A few people reported this problem on ATI cards but that was solved by a driver update. Doesn't really help me.

If anybody has seen / solved this problem or if you have any ideas please could you let me know?

Many thanks,

Dave

My system hardware is as follows:

XFX GeForce 7600GS 256Mb AGP (02E110DE) Graphics

Abit Rocketboy AV8 Motherboard

Realtek 8169 Gigabit Network card

AMD 64 X2 4600 Socket 939 CPU

2Gb Dual channel Memory

80Gb Maxtor SATA Hard disk

Installation details as follows:

Zephyroth 10.5.2 (1st edition)

Extra options - TOH 9.2.0 kernel, AC97 drivers, VIA drivers, MBR Bootloader

The Nvidia drivers on the DVD didn;t work for me - I'm using agp7600gs.zip provided by Krule here http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=80733 together with GeForceFXGLDriver.bundle, GeForceVADriver.bundle and GeForceGA.plugin

Though i´m running 10.5.2 on a C2D i had the exact same problem with my 7600GT. The clue was to install the Graphics Update, which killed my ATI in another rig .... now everythings just fine ;)

Thanks for this Goron.

Which graphics update did you run please?

I've tried installing the latest 10.5.2 kexts but then the machine will not boot up and I have to go in as single user and delete them.

Thanks,

Dave

Thanks Aprodigy,