Power Mac G5 1.6 second hand worth it?

10 posts in this topic

Hi, its my first time starting a topic here. so yeah, hi guys.

anyway, i need a computer real quick. My celeron which ran hackintosh died when there was a short circuit. So there i was, without a computer for say 5 days to do my work. then a miracle happened and i found a G3 iMac 400mhz dumped on the street. alrite, maybe i'm a bit cheap but i was desparate for a computer.

And yes, i'm typing this now on a the G3.

After using the machine for like 2 weeks, i'm thoroughly impressed. I mean, it can barely watch youtube videos and such but in photoshop its mind blowing for its age.

anyway, as i'm a student i also need powerpoint and excel and progs like that and those are excruciatingly slow on the mac, especially when i've got grapher, firefox and itunes open. so i started searching for macs on Ebay. I found the eMacs which are quite resonable but then i found this:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...A:IT&ih=005

a G5 1.6ghz!!!

What do you guys think? should i bid on it? if so how much? keep in mind that i'm in Australia and yeah, its in Australian dollars. Whats more, should i just scrape the buy-a-mac idea and get a PC that supports a mac?

Thanks

p.s sry if i wrote too much.

Thanks guys. I made a bid of maximum bid of $450 AUD and when I got home after school from Volleyball training, it was sold for $480. Naturally I was very disappointed (if only i left traning just 5 minutes earlier, oh well).

Anyway, I found this other one:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...A:IT&ih=020

slightly more expensive and has less RAM but its got a more beefy vid card. so yeah, hope i get that one.

once again, thanks for the help guys.

James.

Just as great a deal, I wish I was in Australia!! :D

SticMAN