Best (cheap) usb sound card for leopard?

13 posts in this topic

Im going to get myself a usb sound card so i can rock out on my leo install, but i dont know exactly what to get. Im new to teh whole external hardware thing (i like my pci cards) but it would be good to learn since my friend is looking for a usb tv capture card, anway, im way off the main point now... I dont need anything fancy, just basic 1 input/1 ouput/ 2 channel. I plan on buying from amazon since i have a gift card. I'd like to spend less than $20 but i dont want anything that sucks. Do usb sound card do midi? That would be a huge plus.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_st?keywords...&sort=price is the general list of what they offer. Anyone know what i should get?

This looks cool, but i dont know if leo will like it, and its not usb...: http://www.amazon.com/Mounted-Functional-M...988&sr=1-16

Creative X-mod is a good option but damn expensive Icemat sound cards work on mac os x I think and i myself using Sound Blaster Audigy 2 NX which i bought at a very cheap price.Try ebay u may find something real cheap.

Pretty much any cheapo usb sound card will work. The Behringer range is recommeded if you want something with quality, and are prepared to pay a bit more, like the UCA202. They also do midi interfaces.

I like behringer. I had some of their equipment in my guitar rig but had to sell it. The UCA202 is only like $25-30 which isnt bad. I think ill just go for that. Its a good quality so maybe i can use my hackintosh for recording.... Sounds cool. Thanks!

• 3 weeks later...

i've been busy for a while but i still have some questions because i have no idea what im doing :(