Help a noob install leopard

NoSmokingBandit

20 posts in this topic

i downloaded and burned the Kalyway 10.5.1 dvd and set off to install it. I had tiger on this pc before, so i thought i could handle it. Well, it boot into the as far as "laoding darwin x86" then the text spinner goes for about 1 minute and then it flashes something about efi but it was too fast i couldnt read all of it. Do i need to install pcefi? If so is there a noob guide for that? Most of this is very confusing to me since i am relatively new to the osx86 scene.

ill try that. I just tried to boot again and this time i was smart enough to remember the "-v" so i saw what was going on. It started loding all the kexts and got to the end of the list and started again. The second time through it only got about 3 kexts into the T's (io couldnt tell exactly where, they were moving fairly quickly) and then it crapped out on me. Is it safe to run in the install cd in safe mode?

yes , in fact, due to drivers (kexts) that would not work on my system, that was the only way i could install it. Boot from dvd, hit F8 till you get to the darwin prompt, use the -x -v flags and hit enter to boot. watch the text, if you get a kernal panic take a picture with a digital camera .

the panic should stay on screen so you'll have plenty of time to take a pic of it.

if it doesn't panic, then my friend hopefully you'll be at the installer prompt, then format, choose your options for install blah blah blah. I did use the kalyway 10.5.1 but In my case i chose to format to GUID on my PATA & chose only GUID boot manager on the last drop down on the installer. nothing else. but depending on your hardware, you'll have to experiement and see

hope that helps you guys