Installing/Loading a Kext...

27floyd

6 posts in this topic

Hi..

I have been messing with osx86 for a few months now.

Im trying to get a ATI card working and am willing to mess with these kext files, but I dont know how to "install/Load" it.

I can get it to show in the system/library/extentions file but how do i specify I want to use "THAT" one over the others listed..

When I look in the infor about this mac it says "no kext loaded"

I intsalled it with "kext helper" and it said installed but after a restart nothing is different?

Thanks for any help..

you should do it by yourself:

open terminal

sudo -s

<enter password>

cp -R /path/to/new/kext/newKext.kext /System/Library/Extensions/

chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions/*

chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/*

rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions.mkext

<now restart>

at this point it is in use.

Thanks for your reply.

I deleted the old kext I installed with kext helper, and then did it your way.

Everything went well no errors.

I restarted and the same thing happened..

No difference, no kext loaded..

?

any ideas?

what do you mean no kext loaded?

If you did it right, then it definitely loaded. If you really think it didn't load, try booting in single-user mode:

hit F8 to get boot options, then type "-s". This gets you to a command line interface. Type whatever it says "to mount the filesystem", otherwise you can only read files, not write. then do the commands I gave you.

If that still fails, then there is something wrong with the kext.

I think your problem is with the kext. What card do you have? What kexts are you using?

• 1 year later...

I have the same problem:

Whatever I patch with AppleIntel830.kext, (or 915), the kext is not recognized.

HP 530U Graphic: Intel865G (onboard). Device ID 0x2572. I kept mixing and renaming, and patching files, but without the described success.

Running the System Profiler, look at Graphics/Displays I get the information "No Kext Loded"