Should I Sell Ibm Thinkpad and buy Macbookpro???

17 posts in this topic

Im thinking about selling my IBM thinkpad t41 with 1.7ghz pentium centrino, 1.5gb ram, 60gb 7200 harddrive for 1800 and buy a macbookpro (hopefully near the same price since im a student)......Do you think this is a good tradeoff????????? Please give me advice.............

Depends on several factors, primarily what you use your notebook for.

Consider this - if you go 'Apple' you will have to obtain Apple versions of the software you currently use on Windows. If all you do is browse the web and write emails, that's no big deal. If you use big-name apps you are in the unfortunate position of having to trade licenses, buy new software and so on. Even if you plan on obtaining 'trial' software from various sources be aware that it's not as easy to find dodgy Mac software. Yes, it's out there, but it can be harder to locate, slower to download, maybe not cracked.

I use OSX and Windows daily in my work. Much as I love OSX I could not work without some Windows apps which simply are not available for the Mac. It upsets me to say that some apps for both platforms have a slicker or more robust interface on Windows or just run better. Some apps are only partly ported to OSX and have bugs which drive you crazy.

So before you trade your Thinkpad for a Macbook (horrid name) do some soul-searching as to whether the Mac will do what you want. If it will, go for it. If not, stay where you are and install an OSx86 partition on that T41.

when that t41 is worth 500 bux..(also i have no idea how u came up with 1800 when i can get a d610 for 600)

the mac will hopefully be worth a lot more...

but we'll see...

this brings an interesting point...

usually the ibooks / imacs etc...had a lasting $ value since new macs didnt pop up like the latest x86 worthy mb, cpu, vid card..