Upgrade to 10.5.1 from 10.4.10

Teamster

6 posts in this topic

Hi, currently I am running 10.4.10. Everything works fine except wifi and audio. I want to upgrade my osx86 to 10.5.1. I am pretty new to this and here's what I've done so far.

- Burned a copy of ToH Leopard 10.5.0 RC2

How can I download the Vanilla kernel? and EFI? I keep hearing these terms but was never able to find it.

What comes next? Do I just stick the disc into my cd drive and reboot? Or is there something I must do before hand? (I prefer not to have my data wiped out) :(

Thanks guys.

Hi, currently I am running 10.4.10. Everything works fine except wifi and audio. I want to upgrade my osx86 to 10.5.1. I am pretty new to this and here's what I've done so far.

- Burned a copy of ToH Leopard 10.5.0 RC2

What comes next? Do I just stick the disc into my cd drive and reboot? Or is there something I must do before hand? (I prefer not to have my data wiped out) :)

Thanks guys.

i think you need the ''kaliway format and make hd bootable for leopard '' install disk, first boot from the kaliway disk , when you get to the menu screen you select your hd(the hd you want leopard on) and install the 1 package to your hd(again, the hd you want leopard on) then boot from the toh disk(you may need to use -x at the darwin screen to boot into toh install disk) and install as per your hardware( intel, amd ,sse2,sse3,yatta yatta yatta...) to the hd you are installing leopard on. you WILL NOT be using the disk utility to erase the hd you want to put leopard on. you are gonna go from tiger---kaliway----toh leopard.

having vanilla kernel really depends on what cpu you have. if you have c2d, cd or core solo then you can enjoy pc efi and vanilla kernel..