best possible custom build. unlimited budget. what should i build?

17 posts in this topic

i posted a specific system i was planning to build.

if i broaden the question, maybe you guys will run with it

without a budget limit, what would be the best parts for a build, as far as speed, reliability, etc

any suggestions?

from case, to cpu cooling, what can i build to run Windows, and OSX?

reason behind the build: i have been working on pc's since i was 11 years old back in 1995/96

i make a living from PC's and technology, and i have always 'shunned' macs because i simply have no expierence.

i have a new found interest in mac since my purchase of an iphone, and client inquiries about mac osx.

you pro's are all i have to turn to! I cant be caught dead in the Apple store!! ;) haha.

thanks

dan

By the mac pro with two xeon quadcores @ 3.0gz. (8 cores total)

You know I think this is exactly the kind of response that he did not want. You may find this hard to believe but there are people out there who like to build their own computers component by component. Especially from the sound of it he just wants to dabble with mac OSX and not use it as his main OS. OSx86 gives him this opportunity. It is the same reason I dabble in it. I prefer Windows to Mac for about 90% of the things I do and I prefer to build my own PCs and have the freedom to choose where I focus my resources on a PC.

To the OP I would recommend the Wiki page for teh OSx86 project to look at a compatable list of Hardware

. http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.4.8 . This should help you decide what you may want to use.

Yeah but the Mac Pro... it's really the best system. But if you wanna go through the schlepp of building your own computer, there are lots of threads on the subject.

Probably a Q6600 with an Asus or Gigabyte P35 or 975x motherboard, lots of RAM, HDD's, and a 7900Gt or 8800 card

hey guys thanks for the responses