Flashing an ATI HD2900XT... Possible?

Ooze3d

11 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I wanted to know if there're news about the HD2xxx ATI cards. I have my OSX installed and working but I cannot use it since I need my card to be fully supported. I'm a video editor, so I need full resolution (1920x1200), full color and acceleration. So far I have 1600x1200 and no acceleration at all.

Is it possible to flash it? If it is, how is it done? Is there any step by step tutorial?

If not, I'm thinking about getting myself a new fully supported card. It has to be fast at 1920x1200 though. I know it must have 256 Mb so I don't have to flash it. What do you think? Ati? Nvidia?

Thanks!

JaE-V, you mean a Nvidia 7900GT 256Mb? I was thinking about a 1950XT... I haven't seen much about any of them yet. Which one's better? I've been installing ATI in all my computers for years... Wouldn't mind trying out a Nvidia.

One very important thing is HD video editing. I need it fast and smooth.

lol if im thinking of what ur thinking (coz im also a movie maker) u ant get final cut pro working on it hehe.. unless i guess u have a really good comp with rosetta working perfectly even then ud have to get a universal version of it which is tough.. ummm of course if ur an avid guy mebbe u can use xp itself.. not much of a difference.. ur lookout.. and flashing a 2xxx series is extreme.. theres no images out.. :P ull probably end up screwin up ur card :) dont even think of going there..

oh one more thing.. u just said u were thinking of 2xxx and then u said x1950 wats with that..