Need a cheap hacktop, and I'm an osx86 noob...

9 posts in this topic

Well, Im going on a trip soon and im strapped for cash, and I am split between getting a cheap old G3 or G4 iBook for around 500, or a hackintosh for around the same price. I know about apple hardware, so the question lies in "What version of OSx86 and what laptop work the best together". I have attempted OSx86 installs with a JaS 10.4.7 disc on a PC before, but i dont know how much different it is on a laptop. If anyone can point me towards the most OS X compatable laptop (graphics, sound, and wifi working flawlessly), and the most compatable version of OSx86 for it, Id appreciate very much. I probably sound like a noob now cause the chances of it being flawless are pretty slim...

Thanks,

-Nick

(PS. I have no intention of dual booting. EDIT: yet :D )

If you can afford it, yeah get the refurb macbook. Otherwise, there are a couple of acer laptops that work 100% with everything. They go for about $400-$600. The 3680 and 3690 range.

Here's a link

Just make sure your Acer 3680 has the Mini PCI wireless card and not the PCI Express wireless card. I still have not found a way for my Atheros AR5007 to play nice with os x. My brother and I bought two of these Acer's from best buy a couple of weeks ago when they were on clearance for $399. My brother's laptop has the mini pci atheros AR5005 which is totally compatible, and mine has the PCI express atheros AR5007, which I am having trouble with. So I must have a later hardware revision. I can't even trade it in because they don't have any more in stock.

Thank you Sal, I will keep that in mind. I've been looking at those laptops a lot lately, (as well as the 5600 series core duo models)

Although most vendors don't even tell you what wireless card you get, never mind the revision, so I don't see how I will be able to tell.

Just curious, Sal (I know I'm thread hijacking here, sorry!)