Which version of OS X is best for my laptop?

-=MaFiA=-

13 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I've been reading the forums and looking for info about some problems I've been having recently...

To the point - I dont know which version of OS X to install on my laptop (dual-boot with Windows). Can someone please help out?

Here are my specs:

Acer, inc. Aspire 3502 NLCi

1.40 gigahertz Intel Celeron M

64 kilobyte primary memory cache

1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache

SAMSUNG MP0402H [Hard drive] (40.06 GB) -- drive 0

Board: Acer, Inc. Lugano

Bus Clock: 400 megahertz

1214 Megabytes Installed Memory

I've heard of the many "JaS" releases, but dont exactly know what that is and what their advantages are over the other versions...

Sorry, I'm kind of new to Mac...

Thanks

Ok, theoretically, it should work. I recommend JaS.10.4.8.AMD.Intel.SSe2.SSe3, find it in the usual places. It seems to be very stable.

Ok, theoretically, it should work. I recommend JaS.10.4.8.AMD.Intel.SSe2.SSe3, find it in the usual places. It seems to be very stable.

Stable and reliable and it comes also with most common patches released.

I'll third the JaS 10.4.8 DVD recommendation. It works fine on a number of SSE2 machines for me. I also don't recommend attempting to upgrade to 10.4.9 at this stage, even though there are sse2 kernels for that too. I've had no end of trouble with it and only got it running properly on one machine!

I um figured I'd not create a new thread for the same question as this one, what OSX would be best for my hardware specs?

post-101931-1178108215_thumb.jpg