(Solved) EXITBS:START reboot with OpenCore on legacy Arrandale notebook - can't boot the installer

AsD Monio

13 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm new to Hackintoshing and I'm trying to put together my first hack. It's been fun so far, I've managed to boot the installer on my desktop but on my laptop I can't get past the boot.efi handoff stage (#[EB|LOG:EXITBS:START] / EndRandomSeed), so I would like to ask for a little help.

Specs:

HP G62 Notebook PC (G62-b10sw)

CPU: Intel Core i7-640M (Arrandale)

GPU: integrated, Intel Ironlake

RAM: 2x4GB

storage: ADATA SX930 120GB SATA SSD

booting from a USB 16GB pendrive

I'm currently trying to boot the Monterey installer but I've tried different versions all the way down to High Sierra, which, as far as I know, should definitely run on this hardware. My issue is a little different than any other case I could find when searching about this - the machine does not get stuck at EXITBS:START, but instead reboots, despite debug=0x100 being present in the boot-args.

I'm using OpenCore in legacy mode as this computer does not have UEFI. The guide I've followed is the Dortania OpenCore guide, using Windows to create the installer USB, and more specifically the Arrandale Laptop config.plist setup guide. I've remade the EFI a few times and kept it minimal (no kexts for network cards, no UEFI drivers and kexts for touchpad, etc.) as the goal, for now, is just to boot the installer.

Some notes / deviations from the guide:

• I've tried both the Windows (booting directly from the recovery dmg) and Linux (extracting the HFS+ partition from the recovery dmg and putting it on a partition on the pendrive) USB creation methods, both with the same result, so I stuck with booting from the dmg
  • ACPI:
    • Skipped SSDT-EC - after dumping and decompiling the stock DSDT, it turns out the embedded controller device was already named "EC"