Need Advice - Building a Bad Ass Video Editing Computer (OSX)

9 posts in this topic

I'm a software developer, and have been getting into a lot of photo/video-ography. So I'm looking for advice from the community to help me build bad ass video editing comp so I don't waste my life in front of the screen waiting on rendering times.

So I've watched this video --  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SY_h_W5I0Jo&t=497s

• Looks like in terms of video editing using software like PR and AE, the amount of CPU cores seems to be the greatest factor and the amount of GPU cores coming in 2nd?

Build: (keep in mind I want to run OSX)

• CPU - So I'm looking at getting the new Intel i9? (because the amount of cores)
  • GPU - some high core Radeon GPU? (because I think all apple stuff works with Radeon)
  • FAN - cooler master, idk is this a reliable brand? 
  • idk what  else open for suggestions

Edited by Jordan Davis
for descriptive title

8 hours ago, Jordan Davis said:

Looks like in terms of video editing using software like PR and AE

Sorry but a very basic question, if you want to run PR and AE then why you need a Hackintosh as those applications run in Windows the same? i9 is an expensive CPU so you can make the best use of it under Windows as Apple has no official support for the desktop version yet, last time I checked some people could run it under macOS but with 6 cores recognized not 8 (idk if that has changed now).

If you'd run FCPX which is also very good piece of software then maybe yes its worth the try, otherwise ?

• Like 1

AfterEffects doesn't do well with more than ~12 cores. Premiere can use far more.

Yes, you probably want to go with an i9, but will need some serious cooling. I'd recommend a 360mm AIO liquid cooler. Fractal design makes an inexpensive one, or Corsair of course.

The 1080 Ti is still the fastest card for AE/Premiere, but obviously there is no 10.14 support yet (and if it does come then you would probably want a RTX 2xxx series card).