No sound from ALC883 on 10.8.2

cornie

6 posts in this topic

First of all, Hi!

I've just started my adventure with OSX86. The distro i had chosen was iATKOS ML2. Mostly because i'm a newb when it comes to hackintosh and it was said to be easy-peasy.

Installation went well, just had to add kexts for ethernet (L1) and exotic patch for Radeon 4850. Those are working perfectly.

Unfortunately i can't make my sound card work. It's really weird because many people reported sound working with this distribution on my exact MoBo, without installing anything.

I've tried every kext i found for ALC883 on 10.8.2 and none worked. Of course i always repaired rights and rebuilt cache after deleting previous ones.

It somehow started working with this http://www.osx86.net/files/file/841-applehda-kext-ml-patched-for-alc883/ which some people recommended.

There are 4 files:

AppleHDA.kext

HDEFInject.kext

LegacyAppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext

LegacyHDAPlatformDriver.kext

So i installed AppleHDA and after reboot there was still no sound, but the Intel HD Audio appeared in system report. I was frustrated so with a wild guess i installed HDEFInject, rebooted and... the sound was working perfectly. Unfortunately after next reboot it disappeared forever, even tried to replicate these steps but to no avail.

I also tried VoodooHDA, but the sound quality was horrible, so there's no way i'm going back to it.

Would love some help on that matter from more experienced users.

My setup:

C2D e6750

Asus P5K(ICH9/ALC883)

Ati Radeon 4850

@mirone23 -  I guess i tried this one yesterday, but anyway gave it a shot and still nothing. Not even Intel HD Audio in system report. Again some weird thing is happening because after install & reboot there were 2 kexts running: 2hxvp6d.jpg

but after another reboot they disappeared. I mean AppleHDA is still in S/L/E but not running.