Successful install on P4 and Athlon64

MadDog2k

6 posts in this topic

Okay, I installed OS X on a friend's IBM ThinkCentre (don't know the exact specs but I will post them later on) and Quartz Extreme worked right off the bat, no modifications done at all and I am sure it doesn't have Intel GMA 900! Core Image does NOT work. I can also confirm that the NIC worked.

System Specs of my friend's PC

IBM ThinkCentre

Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.4 Ghz with HT, no SSE 3

More info at a later time

A day later, I installed in on my own PC but this time neither Quartz Extreme nor Core Image worked. For some weird reason my PS/2 keyboard also didn't work but my Razor Diamondback worked. More on this later as well.

System Specs of my PC

Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI nForce4 SLI

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester 90nm

Sapphire RADEON X800 XT PE 256MB ViVo PCI-Express

View Sonic VP171b-2 17"

Before, I say anything else, I would like to mention that I have never used OS X before, so I have a few n00bish questions I would like to have answered. ;)

1. As far as I can tell Quartz Extreme is some kind of hardware acceleration for fancy graphical features like 'Expose', right?

2. What exactly is Core Image and what does it do?

3. What exactly is Rosetta and what does it do?

4. Are the SSE 3 instructions useless, if I can just use a patch to make it run on SSE 2 only CPUs? Or are there quirks when doing this, like performance loss?

5. Does the Developer's Edition come with a compiler (besdies gcc) that I could use to compile, for example VideoLAN for x86 OS X?