Build G5 from Parts

RickSunderland

10 posts in this topic

Hi, this is my first time on this site...sort of stumbled across it while googling how to build a mac. So my question is, can someone point me in the right direction on how to go about building a really nice g5 from parts. I want a nice, fast computer (currently using and have been using for 10 years, my g4 powermac dual 450MHz). My computer now is nice and gets the job done, but I want to something with some nice horsepower...getting tired of not being able to watch any flash without the video not being able to catch up to the sound.

So what got me thinking about this was that I saw a g5 box (empty) on ebay and I thought it would be fun and cheaper to build my own g5...afterall I don't really have 5-10,000 dollars to spend on a new one. In the last year i got to delve into my own g4 box and replace a power supply and fan for my videocard and it was pretty exciting to realize that a computer can be put together by someone who has very basic knowledge of the working parts. (ie. me)

Anyway, some help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

RS

I don't think you should even try to build a custom PowerMac G5 (notice the Power - means it's ran on Power architecture or a RISC processor which is not user in the newer Macs thus not supported by OS X)

If you want to assemble a nice non-real Mac computer, google '10.6.5. HCL + osx86project' or 'hackintosh desktop building' etc.

http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.6.5

This will get you started, look at the 'most common' used components - Mainboard and Graphics card = most important, be sure to pick compatible ones. Processor I recommend any from the Intel Core Family.

Post more questions, I'll be glad to help out.

I don't think you should even try to build a custom PowerMac G5 (notice the Power - means it's ran on Power architecture or a RISC processor which is not user in the newer Macs thus not supported by OS X)