Perfect Hackintosh?

6 posts in this topic

I am seriously considering a Hackintosh instead of purchasing a new mac as I would buy an imac but they are still running last years technology and don't really want to wait until october when the new ones come up. Being a student I already get a pretty decent discount off apples products and they prove to be great value for money.

At home I connect my macbook pro 13" to my 22" dell tft panel and it's great, but now I need something more powerful.

It will be running constantly as a media/server mac so it needs to be quiet and ideally have a HDMI to connect to a HD screen.

I don't mind spending sometime to set everything up, however I want everything just as if I have a real mac once this is done. I don't want to spend time tweaking and configuring everything all the time.

Is this possible?

Also could somebody recommend any necessary hardware to get, I obviously want this to run as smoothly as possible so compatibility comes first. Also it needs to be considerably cheaper than a mac otherwise there is no point.

Thanks for your help guys.

I am seriously considering a Hackintosh instead of purchasing a new mac as I would buy an imac but they are still running last years technology and don't really want to wait until october when the new ones come up. Being a student I already get a pretty decent discount off apples products and they prove to be great value for money.

At home I connect my macbook pro 13" to my 22" dell tft panel and it's great, but now I need something more powerful.

It will be running constantly as a media/server mac so it needs to be quiet and ideally have a HDMI to connect to a HD screen.

I don't mind spending sometime to set everything up, however I want everything just as if I have a real mac once this is done. I don't want to spend time tweaking and configuring everything all the time.

Is this possible?