Help with my setup

26 posts in this topic

I shamefully wrote quick replies to other thread in order to be able to post. I will not do it again promise!

I am pretty new to hackintosh, and I've been considering for a while and I think I am going to make the move in the next few weeks.

I had this question on hackint0sh forums but I didn't get any replies yet so I am hoping this forums can help me.

I am from Australia and everything over there is expensive (2900usd for a imac i7 with standard 4gb ram) so I decided to try to build a hackintosh.

My budget is about $1500 and the computer will be used for heavy photoshop and aperture work.

Here is what I am considering ordering from newegg via freight forwarding:

• DVD: Cheap DVD Burner
  • BOX: XCLIO Windtunnel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
  • HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31500341AS 1.5TB 7200 RPM SATA
  • VIDEO: EVGA GeForce 9800 gtx 512mb
  • POWER SUPPLY: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W Power Supply
  • MISC: SIIG 3-Port FireWire PCI Express Card
  • RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
  • CPU: Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz
  • MOBO: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5

Am I missing anything?

Is it overkill with what I am planning to do? (especially with the video card)

Would I be better off with 1600 ram instead of 1333?

Is the 930 better than 920 or is there a lot of trouble making it work?

I plan to use it with a 27" Dell U2711 IPS screen, would it work? Would the card be able to handle 2 of them?

I apologize for all the questions

Thanks for reading!

-G

I shamefully wrote quick replies to other thread in order to be able to post. I will not do it again promise!

I am pretty new to hackintosh, and I've been considering for a while and I think I am going to make the move in the next few weeks.

I had this question on hackint0sh forums but I didn't get any replies yet so I am hoping this forums can help me.