Hackintosh Mac Pro - Snow Leopard - Working Build

28 posts in this topic

Excellent machine and I think you did the right decision ditching the dead iMac and not paying $700 for a repair. The geek pr0n pics are nice - looks like a cool environment to work in.

As to the sleep issues, I am not an expert, but prepare yourself to the option of living with it. For some people it works, for the majority of people it doesn't. I have a little older hardware on my hackPro but still very modern (C2D Quad) and I could never get the sleep function to work properly.

There is a specialized kext that may help you: OpenHaltRestart_1.0.3.kext

search for it in the forum, see if it does the trick...

enjoy your new hackintosh! :unsure:

Cheers.

As a long term Apple user (played Wizardy on the Apple II) and as an owner of many Macs through the ages (such as the IIci, PowerMac 6100, iBook, iMac G5 and more recently the iMac Core2Duo) I have an expectation that the OS X environment should perform exactly as my previous Apple hardware. Having used this build (noted in the top post) for nearly a month now, I wanted to share my impressions:

Turning the system on reminds me this is a custom-built machine. The BIOS post and memory count is there. The mac-like experience starts with the chameleon screen pops up (and I use a theme to appear just as the disk chooser would appear on a real mac). Once in the OS X environment, it feels exactly like a real mac.

My Aperture, Photoshop, iMovie and iPhoto use has been identical to actual hardware. The two AppleTVs appear in iTunes; I can stream to my AirTunes speakers; I can see and print to Bonjour Printers. Networking works correctly with my Hack Mac and the Macbook Air. I can control the screen. I can share folders.