OS X on Dell Optiplex SX270

Danbamford

8 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I am new to this concept of running OS X on non macs but am curious all the same.

I have a Dell Optiplex SX270, 2.4 Ghz P4, 512 mb RAM running the S06 bios. From what I have read this hardware should be compatable with 10.4. I have a copy of 10.4 over 4 cd's as the computer does not have a dvd drive. When I try to boot from the cd nothing happens. I have read up on this a bit but end up getting a bit confused with the terminology that I am not familiar with.

Has anyone out there installed OS X on a Dell Optiplex SX270? can anyone help out with easy to understand steps for an basic IT bloke?

I also have a 10.5 dvd that I have tried without success to clne to a USB flash disk to boot.

An help would be appreciated as I am sick of Microsoft and would loath to put windows back on the computer.

Thanks

Dan

Well I would say we are workin on the same project! I've got an Optiplex GX240 that I'm installing OS X on and its only got the CD reader. I had to swap that out with a DVD drive, now the next battle is knowing which patches to apply, im trying out iAtkos v5, I have tried different patches and installed it 3 times already and it starts to boot but then restarts everytime after i install it. Ill be trying more today, ill let you know if i make any progress.

Hi shavex,

It does sound like they are fairly similiar. The main difference will probably be prehiperals. The SX270 is one of the little compact machines. I cant find a DVD drive to suit it so I will have to persevere with the cdrom. I am planning to upgrade to 2gb RAM and 3GhZ P4 Processor which is the most the little machine will support.