Broken MacBook worth $350?

11 posts in this topic

This is a private sale in my local area through a local classified.

Ad goes like this:

# Apple Macbook 1.83 ghz

# 2 gb RAM

# 60 gb HD

# CD Writer/DVD Combo

# Targus laptop case

# PC to TV video connector

# Screen is in good condition. No dead pixels

# $500 OBO

*** There is something wrong w/ either the optical drive or hard drive. I tried to reinstall OS and the installer says write error and its either optical or hard drive. I'm not technical enough to diagnose problem or swap out hard drive/optical drive on my own.

I contacted him via email and got him down to $350. He doesn't seem to have much technical knowledge but claims that it will boot into linux w/ a live cd(which kind of implies he has some technical know how).

If its just the hard drive or optical drive I think $350 is worth it, but I fear that maybe it could be something else. I am pretty much a Mac noob although I am pretty savvy with PC's.

Any advice on this?

~thanks

I contacted him via email and got him down to $350. He doesn't seem to have much technical knowledge but claims that it will boot into linux w/ a live cd(which kind of implies he has some technical know how).

If its just the hard drive or optical drive I think $350 is worth it, but I fear that maybe it could be something else. I am pretty much a Mac noob although I am pretty savvy with PC's.

Any advice on this?

~thanks