New updates broke my machine

wallydisc

10 posts in this topic

I am running a intell quad core on a Gigabyte S sereies mobo GA-G31M-S2L. I have a Nvida 8600 video card. I installed using Kalyway and it has been working great.

I tried to install the latest updates including 10.5.5 and Front row as well as a couple others. Midway through the install my my machine gave me the "you need to restart your computer" error; at which point I went "{censored}." I restarted and the error came back. "{censored}"

I am quite new to this and am not sure how to start to fix this thing.

I hope I have provided enough information. If not, I am more then willing to give more, but if you want to just toss ideas at me that's great too. I have heard that maybe deleting some kext files is one root but i am not sure how to do that.

Thanks.

10.5.5 broke my machine too

Was happily using a kalway 10.5.2 which was successfully updated to 10.5.3 (patched) and 10.5.4 (direct) after which i had to use the update -v command line before it booted to mac. Now with the most recent 10.5.5 direct update kernel call (panic) what ever that means and I am stuck with a black screen with some text which is beyond my comprehension ;)

I have used -v -x -F reboot -v -x reboot all the other options but still not able to logon. Incidentally the update had stopped at 22 % for more than 2 hours after which I had to press reset.

"Is there a way I can recover my mac drive?"

915 board

P4 3 Ghz

1 gig ram

Dual boot XP and Mac

(primitive config but worked fine for my applications)

Please help me

Well what i am gonna do is throw another hard drive in and install the os to that one too. Once that one works i can maybe use it to fix the other broke drive by installing the update properly.

For losthero. I would take the vista drive out (if it is on a separate drive). Then maybe do the same.