Updating to 10.5.4 from 10.5.2 please!

SniperDaws

13 posts in this topic

Hello chaps,

ok ive installed Iatkos V2.0i and all is going well, ive installed all updates through apple update apart from the 10.5.4 update because leopard wont restart after installing it.

ive noticed a few people are running 10.5.4 and would like to aswell if its possible.

what i really need is guiding through it as im very very new to using a mac so i need to be led as simply as possible.

my system consists of-

Q6600 @ Stock

4Gig DDR2 ram

Gigabyte P35C-DS3R

9600GT at 1680x1050 no Acceleration :D

Samsung IDE 16x dvdrw

2x 80gig Maxters D/max 9 SATA

1 Maxter sata2 D/max 11

Audigy 2 soundcard

if theres any more info you need please just ask and ill help i anyway i can.

Download 10.5.3 Combo update from Apple (not Apple Software update) and follow Netkas's Instructions. This will take you to 10.5.3, and once you have it running, just do a Apple Software Update to 10.5.4.

This is possible as you are using Core2 CPU with Intel Chipset. However no driver for 9600GT yet, even in the upcoming 10.5.5 :D

Thank you mate,

but ive ran into a problem straight away, i managed to make the script to remove the "AppleIntelCPUPowermanagement.kext" i click to install and when i choose which drive to install im presnted with this

You cannot install Mac OS X Update Combined on this volume. This volume does not meet the requirements for this update.

also can you tell me which files i need to back up? and how to back up files using leopard ?

Thanks mate, i know its probably somthing im doing wrong :D

EDIT: the update that he links to is 10.5.2 this is why i got the error message as im already on 10.5.4.

too late i just botched it, halfway through installing the update it gave me the "Shutdown your pc or hold down the powerbutton blah blah" now it just boots to the apple logo crashes and does it all over again.