Config for Powerful Hackintosh Graphic Workstation

10 posts in this topic

Hi!

I am looking forward to buy a new hardware. As a graphic designer I want to try out Mac OS, using Kalyway Leopard 10.5.2, but I am a bit confused about the best configuration. Is there a way to get a cheap but at the same time powerful configuration which could be used for easy Hackintoch installation?

I am not a guru when speaking about hardware questions, but initially i looked for Intal Core 2 Duo E6600 and GeForce 7300...

Help will be very appreciated

Hi. I am interested in this too. The specs don´t have to be "the best" if the installation would be in danger. So, maybe a very good one, with a stable installation (not a lot of patching and stuff like that).

Can anyone help?

I work with many professional designers and to tell you the truth, they don't use the fastest machines. A lot of them are still using G5 macs and are fine with it. So any of the intel core 2 duos are faster than those G5s. Same with graphic cards, any of the current Geforce or ATI cards will do.

Now the more important hardware for graphic designers are good wacom tablets and monitors. The bigger they are, the better. If you have one monitor, it has to be at least 24". If smaller, then you need two monitors.

Hi. Thanks for the Info. What about Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad. I was thinking about getting an ASUS P5W Deluxe (it should be one of the most suppored boards for OSX86, right?). Can I just get a Core 2 Quad and put it in there or is this build for Duo only? It says on the Asus website that it is Quad ready, but what does that mean?

For a Graphics Card a 7300 geforce should do just fine, even if you do a little bit of gaming, right?

I would invest in a lot of RAM, very important. If you have PS, Indesign, Cinema 4D open at the same time, you will need a lot of Memory...

Is this about right guys?