All AHCI ports recognized on ICHx ! (yep in AHCI, not IDE)

91 posts in this topic

The topic says it all.

I just grabbed some kexts from new 10.5.2 from new macs (some kexts have been updated) and noticed the new AHCI kext gave me support for all my ICH9 ports in AHCI (I flashed my P5K with P5KR bios to have AHCI...) so if you don't wanna use IDE Enhanced + DuNe hacked IOATAFamily, here is a small pack with some updated kexts, including the 4 ports patched IOATA from DuNe if you still wanna use IDE.

http://www.mediafire.com/?1mnbxlxtvib

Here you are, enjoy ! :)

EDIT : If you are running 10.5.3, these files are useless.

Can confirm it works. Switched to AHCI on my Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 Rev. 1.0 and have all SATA-ports working in ACHI mode.

In the system profiler all my SATA ports are labeled "Unknown AHCI Standard Controller" though.

/Cathul

Alright, well I screwed up now. I am still new to OSX and am still learning how to work with things like kext and the terminal and such. Apparently I screwed this up pretty well because now when the system boots I get to the gray screen with the apple logo and i get a circle with a slash through it and thats where it stays. Here is what I did:

I used a program included in the Kalyway distribution of leaopard called Kext Helper .7

I then dragged to it the AppleAHCIPort.kext file from this thread, put in my password and clicked easy install

It then seemed to install the kext, restarted the system and now i get jus the circle with a slash through it while it boots