Jump to content

Best Dell for Hackintosh Project


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
imrazor

imrazor

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
I'm considering getting a cheap Dell for use in a Hackintosh project. Why use a Dell, you wonder? Why I have a $250 gift certificate to Dell plus an employer discount on Dells. So I'm pretty committed to a Dell box. Based on my limited research on my topic the E520 appears to be my best bet, with price factored in. Here are the specs:

Intel G965 Express Chipset
Pentium D 805 (2.66GHzx2, 533FSB)
1GB Dual Channel DDR2@533Mhz SDRAM
250GB SATA @ 7200 RPM
Intel X3000 Graphics
Integrated audio (no chipset specified)
Integrated network (no chipset specified)

I'm shooting for cheap but functional, with enough HD space for dual-booting.

I don't believe the X3000 graphics are supported, but I intend to drop in a Nvidia 6600GT anyway (I'm assuming this thing will have enough juice for a 6600GT @ 305 watts.) Audio may also be a problem, but I can solve that with a Creative Xmod (it works fine on my current Hackintosh.) Networking has me worried, though.

All input welcome...

Edited by imrazor, 08 March 2007 - 06:05 AM.


#2
The Shaun

The Shaun

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Location:North of Atlanta
OS X has a LOT of issues with 965-based systems. You may want to look for something that uses 975.

#3
imrazor

imrazor

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
All the Dell models with an Intel CPU are based on the 965 chipset. Now they do sell e521's with nForce 430 chipsets. Would an nForce 430 actually be a better choice than a 965 system?

#4
user2

user2

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 524 posts

I'm considering getting a cheap Dell for use in a Hackintosh project. Why use a Dell, you wonder? Why I have a $250 gift certificate to Dell plus an employer discount on Dells. So I'm pretty committed to a Dell box. Based on my limited research on my topic the E520 appears to be my best bet, with price factored in. Here are the specs:

Intel G965 Express Chipset
Pentium D 805 (2.66GHzx2, 533FSB)
1GB Dual Channel DDR2@533Mhz SDRAM
250GB SATA @ 7200 RPM
Intel X3000 Graphics
Integrated audio (no chipset specified)
Integrated network (no chipset specified)

I'm shooting for cheap but functional, with enough HD space for dual-booting.

I don't believe the X3000 graphics are supported, but I intend to drop in a Nvidia 6600GT anyway (I'm assuming this thing will have enough juice for a 6600GT @ 305 watts.) Audio may also be a problem, but I can solve that with a Creative Xmod (it works fine on my current Hackintosh.) Networking has me worried, though.

All input welcome...


GX620. Everything works with just a little tweaking

#5
kpc2593

kpc2593

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I have a Dell 5150, and everything is working great.

Specs -
1.5GB RAM
Intel PD 820
1 80GB HD w/ Windows XP Installed
1 80GB HD w/ Mac OSX 10.4.6 Installed
ATI X300 Radeon PCI-E w/ QE Enabled :thumbsup_anim:

Edited by kpc2593, 09 March 2007 - 01:12 PM.


#6
denied

denied

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Washington, DC
^^ what they said.

I got an E520 almost identical specs to the one you're looking at, figured with the GMA graphics I could hack the rest of it together. My ancient Dimension 8200 is still my preferred OS-X machine because that E520 has so many issues, now I just use it to run SUSE and will prob ebay it. Installation is a pain, I don't think any of the hardware works out of the box, you have to piece everything together. It gets there but takes a long time, take another look at some of the more compatible systems others are posting.

#7
imrazor

imrazor

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

GX620. Everything works with just a little tweaking


Hmm, the GX620 looks like it's a business machine. Can a mere mortal like me get one? Plus it looks like even a stripped down model runs around $800, and I'm trying to keep it cheap...

Denied, I'll take your advice and skip the E520, but I may have some penny pinching to do to save up for a GX620.

#8
jeffrey2420

jeffrey2420

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Great White North

Hmm, the GX620 looks like it's a business machine. Can a mere mortal like me get one? Plus it looks like even a stripped down model runs around $800, and I'm trying to keep it cheap...

Denied, I'll take your advice and skip the E520, but I may have some penny pinching to do to save up for a GX620.


I picked up a Inspiron 530 in Feb when there was a good sale and it works amazingly well.

It has a Foxconn G33 MB and I got it for $399 CDN. Kalyway installed no problem and all I had to do was patch the audio and buy a video card because the GMA3100 is not supported. Works great as of now with 10.5.2.

Edit: Just realized I replied to a 2007 post. I thought that said 2008.

#9
opeeum

opeeum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

I picked up a Inspiron 530 in Feb when there was a good sale and it works amazingly well.

It has a Foxconn G33 MB and I got it for $399 CDN. Kalyway installed no problem and all I had to do was patch the audio and buy a video card because the GMA3100 is not supported. Works great as of now with 10.5.2.

Edit: Just realized I replied to a 2007 post. I thought that said 2008.



hahaha lol, i was about to reply too, but saw ur edit first =)

#10
longtom

longtom

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts

I picked up a Inspiron 530 in Feb when there was a good sale and it works amazingly well.

It has a Foxconn G33 MB and I got it for $399 CDN. Kalyway installed no problem and all I had to do was patch the audio and buy a video card because the GMA3100 is not supported. Works great as of now with 10.5.2.

Edit: Just realized I replied to a 2007 post. I thought that said 2008.


What about his one?
Dell 530 with E8200 2x2,66 and 2600Xt graphics card?
How do i know which chipset is used?

Thanks!

#11
Krazubu

Krazubu

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired
  • 874 posts
DELL is certainly not the best brand to choose for OSX86, on most cases 2nd CPU core isn't supported.

#12
longtom

longtom

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts

DELL is certainly not the best brand to choose for OSX86, on most cases 2nd CPU core isn't supported.


Ok, Thanks!
Looking for the Gigabyte P35

#13
jeffrey2420

jeffrey2420

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Great White North

DELL is certainly not the best brand to choose for OSX86, on most cases 2nd CPU core isn't supported.


Both CPU cores are recognized on my Dell. I can't vouch for other ones but mine works great.

#14
vaporATX

vaporATX

    InsanelyMac Blowhard

  • Donators
  • 898 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Orleans, LA
Isn't "Best Dell" kinda an oxymoron? :unsure:

#15
goldielocks

goldielocks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I have a Dell 5150, and everything is working great.

Specs -
1.5GB RAM
Intel PD 820
1 80GB HD w/ Windows XP Installed
1 80GB HD w/ Mac OSX 10.4.6 Installed
ATI X300 Radeon PCI-E w/ QE Enabled :)


I am sorry but this is a bit off topic, how did you get the ATI x300 Radeon to work with QE / CI i have been trying to do this for weeks?

#16
blkhockeypro19

blkhockeypro19

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Connecticut
I have an e520 with a "p965/g965" chipset. The only kexts I need to boot a retail DVD/install are dsmos, IOATA, CPUDisabler and SMBIOSEnabler...so basically you have the 3 100% necesary kext and ONE kext that is specific to our system. I dont see where people are getting all these things about problems with the 965...it works perfectly...

#17
busterhimself

busterhimself

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey, i was given an e520 with a celeron D cpu.

I recently upgraded from 512mb of ram to 4 gigs.

I would like to install osX but before doing so i would like to upgrade the cpu to a core2duo or quad core, add a beefy video card, and beefy power supply. Would I be able to make these upgrades?

I do recall reading somewhere that dell have their own types of power supplies that differ from normal ones. is that correct?

I would greatly appreciate any help or points in the right direction. :(

#18
SMCentral

SMCentral

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Programming, Design, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Computers, News, Football (Liverpool FC) a...
E520 with a small amount of tweaking with the iPC disk = Holy Mac. I'm posting this from my Fakintosh. All cores working, ram too, 1650x1050 (No QE yet but after this reboot it will :P), internet, no sound (Haven't installed the 9227 drivers yet.)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy