Jump to content

ASUS WL-138g v2


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1
jpschoute

jpschoute

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
Hi all,
I run osx86 and it runs really good. I have a belkin 7050 v3000 USB Wireless networkadapter which i use now.
I gotta plug it in everytime to work and use railink prog.
Now the ASUS WL-138g V2 is for sale near me. When i read the WIKI it should be supported as airport in 10.4.8
I searched the forum but did not find much about the card. So i got 2 more hours to buy it have anyone had any succes with the card ?
cheerz

#2
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male
v1 is a Marvell chipset and is not supported
v2 is a Broadcom chipset and should be supported. Might have to edit an Info.plist.

http://forum.insanel...showtopic=34071

#3
jpschoute

jpschoute

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
No one with an ASUS WL-138g v2 pci card ???

#4
jhonnypolak

jhonnypolak

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
I bought this card based on the Wiki.
Spend 50$AUD on it. But it was worth every penny :P

Very simple to get it to work under OSX.

Just edit the Info.plist file using the link provided above and add the device ID: 4318 and it works :)

HAPPY DAYS <_<

#5
LS8

LS8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reality Distortion Field
1/ edit /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAirPortBrcm4311.kext/Contents/Info.plist

2/ search for "<key>IONameMatch</key>"

3/ add line "<string>pci14e4,4318</string>"

4/ save, exit, reboot

5/ go to network preferences and configure - should be listed as AirPort

#6
email_atif

email_atif

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
^ Does this fix work for Leopard as well, or does the WL-138g v2 work right out of the box in Leopard?

Peace

#7
LS8

LS8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reality Distortion Field
This is for Tiger only. ASUS WL-138g v2 works in Leopard out-of-the-box.

#8
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
Hm. I have installed Kalyway but cannot get a decent connection. I see that the device ID is in the kext already and it is recognized as Airport, but it permanently drope the connection. I get full signal strenth, but trhoughput is 3kb/s at best! I just testet and it takes 5 Minutes to load the youtube front page (!). It cannot be a network problem for my powerbook performs just splendid. Any ideas?

#9
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
So, by now I tried everything I could think of. I turned encryption off and used WEP/WPA/WPA2 PSK - nothing will render this card useful. Is there anybody using this card on a plain Kalyway Leopard install?

The network througput is just unbearably slow, 1,45kB/s peak (!). Please, this hacintosh experience of mine is slowly turning into a nightmare of a timesucker...

#10
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

So, by now I tried everything I could think of. I turned encryption off and used WEP/WPA/WPA2 PSK - nothing will render this card useful. Is there anybody using this card on a plain Kalyway Leopard install?

I Didn't stay with Kaly long enough to find out, but it works fine for me with retail install. Although sometimes, my default network isn't found when the machine is powered up, I have to turn it off and on again. I think this is a 10.5.1 bug though, rather than a fault with the card.

The network througput is just unbearably slow, 1,45kB/s peak (!). Please, this hacintosh experience of mine is slowly turning into a nightmare of a timesucker...

Unfortunately even now, and even with hand picking the hardware you can still have problems which need man-hours to solve. There still isn't a 'one size fits all' solution that works for everyone. Stick with it, and soon you'll be happy :)

#11
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
Now that my EFI-vanilla-retail-install is in place I can focus on this card - unfortunately it still doesn't work. The HCL wiki says it works, but using a patch would render it not working, whatever that means.

Could it be that the card is defective? I had a test-install of ubuntu 7.10 and with the proprietary firmware and a driver installed and it still it did not work but showed the described erratic behavior.

I have no vista to install and had to find out that WinXP64 can only be installed on MBR discs.

I would be very, VERY thankful for any helpful suggestions what to try.

Cheers!

#12
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

Now that my EFI-vanilla-retail-install is in place I can focus on this card - unfortunately it still doesn't work. The HCL wiki says it works, but using a patch would render it not working, whatever that means.

Could it be that the card is defective? I had a test-install of ubuntu 7.10 and with the proprietary firmware and a driver installed and it still it did not work but showed the described erratic behavior.

I have no vista to install and had to find out that WinXP64 can only be installed on MBR discs.

I would be very, VERY thankful for any helpful suggestions what to try.

Cheers!


The problem with Hackintosh is that when something goes wrong and you're banging your head on the wall, we just jump to the conclusion that it's the install, or the drivers. Your hardware can actually be faulty :P

Seriously, if you don't have a 1ft thick brick wall in-between you and the router, take the card back and swap it. I have the same card and it works perfectly.

With a vanilla install, this card works OOB.

#13
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

With a vanilla install, this card works OOB.


I will have to test that in Windows before I can return it (since a Hacintosh is not officially supported), so I am in the process of organizing a copy of Vista.

In the meantime - does this card look the same in your install?

Posted Image

Posted Image

It is not recognized as a PCI card and only as a third party airport card.

Perhaps there are different revisions? On mine it says

WL-138gE R1.40
WL138G V2 R3.00

#14
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

Perhaps there are different revisions? On mine it says

WL-138gE R1.40
WL138G V2 R3.00


Well apart from mine being in English, yes. It doesn't say anything about PCI cards in System Profile, just 3rd party airport.

If you are in Germany it's possible that we have the exact same card (I'm next door in CZ). I have the small blue ASUS branded box - WL-138G V2. There is a multi barcode sticker on the front, which has the following details:

UPC: 6 10839 72183 2
EAN: 4 719543 721834
SN: 791EAC032XXX
MAC: 001D0648XXXX
ASUS WL-138G V2
90-I9B0E1-0PAZ 6304
Made in China Sep 2007

The SN and MAC should identify if we have the same cards, even if the UPC and EAN don't...

Hope this helps.

EDIT: I have an XP install on another disk attached to this Hackintosh, and the wireless also works fine there too.

#15
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Made in China Sep 2007

Mine is from August 2007 ;)

So I will wait for Windows to judge over my card.

And a shout out to the country that hosts the beautiful city of Prague :D

#16
roidm

roidm

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
I have the same problem with my 138g v2,..really slow, about 10/15 kB/s, Its perfectly recognized like a third party airport but it doesnt work. :)

#17
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

I have the same problem with my 138g v2,..really slow, about 10/15 kB/s, Its perfectly recognized like a third party airport but it doesnt work. ;)


Just to check, I created a ~200Mb file from /dev/random and ftp'd that (using terminal, command line FTP) from the hackintosh to the mac-mini. Average rate was 921.90 KB/s and it took 03:45. I should try it from XP and see if there's any difference.

Both of these machines are connected to my wifi access point, not directly to each other. Hackintosh is connected at 54Mb/s. The mac-mini is showing connected at 48Mb/s.

BTW - for meaningless comparison I tried this on the wired connection too: 9.48MB/s and it took 21s. Which is what you'd expect from a 100MB/s line.

#18
roidm

roidm

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
I have done a new Leo install from retail DVD and It works like a charm :) .

#19
TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

TheIntrepidSpaceboySpiff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

I have done a new Leo install from retail DVD and It works like a charm :D .

gz, lucky you :( In my case that didn't help. Also it is difficult to connect to the network, most time it will fail or report a timeout.

#20
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

Just to check, I created a ~200Mb file from /dev/random and ftp'd that (using terminal, command line FTP) from the hackintosh to the mac-mini. Average rate was 921.90 KB/s and it took 03:45. I should try it from XP and see if there's any difference.

Both of these machines are connected to my wifi access point, not directly to each other. Hackintosh is connected at 54Mb/s. The mac-mini is showing connected at 48Mb/s.

BTW - for meaningless comparison I tried this on the wired connection too: 9.48MB/s and it took 21s. Which is what you'd expect from a 100MB/s line.


Quoting myself...

I did the same tests from Windows XP... and....IT'S MUCH SLOWER!

Same ~200mb file:

WIFI: 616.28 KB/s and took 5:44s which is about 60% of the previous speed
LAN: 8526.99 KB/s and took 24s which is about 90% of the previous speed

So, in conclusion, there's nothing wrong with this wireless card under Leopard! :blink:





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy