DSDT for Battery Management and Truevision HD webcam on HP G6 2212SL (Yosemite)

TheBosZ

32 posts in this topic

Hi to all :)

This is my first time to attempt a DSDT patch but even if I read some guides using MaciASL I still don't know how to proceed.

Before using Yosemite, I used VoodooBattery on Mavericks, but this solution is not working anymore.

So I'm asking for some help in order to get battery management status.

Also, for webcam (HP Truevision HD) that never worked even on Mavericks.

Any help will be appreciated :)

Thanks a lot

A DSDT patch is probably not your answer at all. If VoodooBattery no longer works in Yosemite, consider the alternative of the patched AppleSmartBatteryManager kext. You'd have to re-install it after every 10.10 update since OS updates will most likely replace the kext by an updated version.

attachicon.gifAppleSmartBatteryManager.kext.zip

The webcam may not be supported at all. I suggest you open up a dedicated thread for that where you'll specify the PCI details of the hardware.

But I have to understand one important thing: with AppleSmartBatteryManager.kext will I only see battery status or will be also an ACPI energy management?

Also, when I tried other distro for understand how to install Mavericks months ago, I saw that with another one (I cannot name here :) )was working.

Should I use Darwin Dumper for extrapolate information I need?

thanks, once I will finish at work I'll try your kext. Do I have only to install it with Kext Wizard and rebuild cache?

Most laptop DSDTs need a patch for battery status to work because multi-byte EC access doesn't work on AppleACPIPlatform provided in Lion+ (if you had it working on Mavericks, you were likely using the AppleACPIPlatform.kext from Snow Leopard).

There are many battery patches here: https://github.com/RehabMan/Laptop-DSDT-Patch

And the latest battery kext is here: https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-ACPI-Battery-Driver

• Like 1