Jump to content

How to Install OS X 10.x (Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks and Yosemite) in VMware Workstation 10 or Player 6

VMware OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion OS X 10.9 Mavericks Unlocker Workstation 10 Player 6 Yosemite OS X 10.10

  • Please log in to reply
192 replies to this topic

#121
cybersa

cybersa

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Mountain Lion 10.8.3
iatkos.me

 

I want to test my Java apps on Mac OS.



#122
paulgl

paulgl

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales, UK

Hi,

 

Thank you to MSoK and other contributors to this and related posts - I've learnt a lot in a short period of time, I think.

 

I was hoping someone could give me a sanity check before I spend lots of time and a little money going down a dead end?  I'm an almost total newbie to Apple and Mac.

 

Since I don't have a mac, a quick summary of  my understanding of the process is:

  1. Buy OS 10.6 from the Apple Store (they seem to sell 10.7 and 10.8 as well, but I think they require 10.6 first);
  2. Install it on a VM (Player 6.01 in my case) - recognising that this isn't trivial in itself, but there are instuctions here-abouts;
  3. Use it to download 10.9.1 from the itunes app store;
  4. Following the instructions in this post, install it in a new VM (rather than on top of the 10.6). ETA: actually, the second post suggests over the top is the way to go.

Is that about right?

 

 

I'd like to play with the iOS sdk / simulator and Appcelerator Titanium / Platino.  I get the impression few people here have done this, but are there any obvious show-stoppers I should be aware off. Perhaps graphics limitations? Titanium claims to require OS 10.8, so 10.6 alone probably won't work.

 

 

My hardware is pretty old: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 (VT-enabled, I believe) with 4GB ram and Nvidia GForce GTS 250.  I'm not expecting stella preformance, but it's it likely to be so slow as to be complete unusable?  I've got about 100Gb free at the moment - am I going to need more?

ETA: I found the hardware list in the wiki - I think I'm OK.  Not sure about the disk space yet.

 

 

If that sounds right and no-one knows it's unviable, I'll spend my £14 on OSX and give it a try.

 

Thanks a lot,

Paul


Edited by paulgl, 23 February 2014 - 04:12 PM.


#123
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Hi,

 

Thank you to MSoK and other contributors to this and related posts - I've learnt a lot in a short period of time, I think.

 

I was hoping someone could give me a sanity check before I spend lots of time and a little money going down a dead end?  I'm an almost total newbie to Apple and Mac.

 

Since I don't have a mac, a quick summary of  my understanding of the process is:

  1. Buy OS 10.6 from the Apple Store (they seem to sell 10.7 and 10.8 as well, but I think they require 10.6 first);
  2. Install it on a VM (Player 6.01 in my case) - recognising that this isn't trivial in itself, but there are instuctions here-abouts;
  3. Use it to download 10.9.1 from the itunes app store;
  4. Following the instructions in this post, install it in a new VM (rather than on top of the 10.6). ETA: actually, the second post suggests over the top is the way to go.

Is that about right?

 

 

I'd like to play with the iOS sdk / simulator and Appcelerator Titanium / Platino.  I get the impression few people here have done this, but are there any obvious show-stoppers I should be aware off. Perhaps graphics limitations? Titanium claims to require OS 10.8, so 10.6 alone probably won't work.

 

 

My hardware is pretty old: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 (VT-enabled, I believe) with 4GB ram and Nvidia GForce GTS 250.  I'm not expecting stella preformance, but it's it likely to be so slow as to be complete unusable?  I've got about 100Gb free at the moment - am I going to need more?

ETA: I found the hardware list in the wiki - I think I'm OK.  Not sure about the disk space yet.

 

 

If that sounds right and no-one knows it's unviable, I'll spend my £14 on OSX and give it a try.

 

Thanks a lot,

Paul

Paul,

 

Since you do not have access to an Apple Mac, you will have to purchase Snow Leopard from the Apple Store, it is the only one that provides physical media, Lion and Mountain Lion are both an email with a content code for the Mac App Store. You will have to convert the Snow Leopard DVD to an ISO using something like ImgBurn.

 

Your processor supports VT-x, you just need to make sure it is enabled in BIOS, memory and space should be fine, once you have installed VMware Player 6.x run Donk's Unlocker v1.2.0 to enable OS X support. Since the Snow Leopard DVD is 10.6.3 you will need to patch to 10.6.8 to support Mavericks. Mavericks is free on the Mac App Store, so download the Installer, you can then just upgrade Snow Leopard, or you can extract the DMG, instructions are available on this site, and create a new Mavericks VM using the DMG as the media source.

 

Install VMware Tools and the SVGA drivers from Zenith432 to maximize performance, please be aware applications the use QE/CI graphics acceleration will not work in a virtual machine.

 

Good luck, we are here to help if you have issues.



#124
paulgl

paulgl

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales, UK

Thanks a lot MSoK,

 

I shall buy my CD and see how I get on.

 

Kind regards,

Paul



#125
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Thanks a lot MSoK,

 

I shall buy my CD and see how I get on.

 

Kind regards,

Paul

Paul,

 

I have updated the original post in this topic to cover Snow Leopard, as purchasing the OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) DVD is the only method to install Vanilla OS X if you do not have access to an OS X machine physical or virtual.

 

Also since I have not installed Snow Leopard for quite some time, I have done a fresh Snow Leopard install from an ISO created from the retail DVD (I do have the DVD somewhere, just not to hand), in an unlocked (v1.2.0) Workstation 10.0.1, and as my processor is an Intel Core i7 I needed to add the CPUID mask to the VMX configuration file before starting the OS X virtual machine. Once installed patch to the latest version 10.6.8, install VMware Tools and all runs OK. You can then download OS X 10.9 Mavericks from the Mac App Store.



#126
paulgl

paulgl

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales, UK

Paul,

 

I have updated the original post in this topic to cover Snow Leopard, as purchasing the OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) DVD is the only method to install Vanilla OS X if you do not have access to an OS X machine physical or virtual.

 

Also since I have not installed Snow Leopard for quite some time, I have done a fresh Snow Leopard install from an ISO created from the retail DVD (I do have the DVD somewhere, just not to hand), in an unlocked (v1.2.0) Workstation 10.0.1, and as my processor is an Intel Core i7 I needed to add the CPUID mask to the VMX configuration file before starting the OS X virtual machine. Once installed patch to the latest version 10.6.8, install VMware Tools and all runs OK. You can then download OS X 10.9 Mavericks from the Mac App Store.

 

Thanks a lot MSoK.  My media should arrive in a few days - hopefully by the weekend, so I'll give it a try and report how I get on.  Since my CPU is pretty old, I suspect the CPUID won't be an issue for me.  That would probably be a nice problem to have...



#127
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Thanks a lot MSoK.  My media should arrive in a few days - hopefully by the weekend, so I'll give it a try and report how I get on.  Since my CPU is pretty old, I suspect the CPUID won't be an issue for me.  That would probably be a nice problem to have...

Paul,

 

You are right your processor will probably work fine with OS X 10.6.3, but always better to have all the relevant information, i.e. CPUID to hand just in case, as if your processor is not supported it is a show stopper without the CPUID mask!



#128
djrbx

djrbx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area

Thanks.

 

I used the guide to create a working vanilla install of 10.9 on my Surface Pro 2. I can finally leave my Macbook Pro at home when I travel as I can use VMware for proper apple remote desktop support.

 

Although in 10.9 the maps app does not work, it's not a big deal breaker to me.

 

Overall, this makes the SP2 well worth it.



#129
The_Moves

The_Moves

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 17 posts
So I installed 5.1u1 and was able to get into the OS X installer and deploy the image. But after updating build 5.1u2 via command line and then to the latest 5.1 build 1612806, I have been unable to enter the OS X installer on either build. Have you all had issues with this?

I've rerun unlocked and still cannot get it to work - I get a spinning rainbow wheel. I think I might go back to 5.1u1 or maybe even deploy a 5.1u1 nested VM and then deploy OSX from there.

#130
The_Moves

The_Moves

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 17 posts

I ran the uninstall.sh for Unlocker120, rebooted, and ran install.sh, and then rebooted. I started up my OS X 10.9 Image, and it doesn't to boot. I will attempt to create a new 10.8 image and maybe that will work. Are there any logs specifically i should look at?

 

I still get a spinning Rainbow Wheel and Grey Screen...

 

I had followed this page to create my image:

 

techiezone.rottigni.net/2013/11/installing-mavericks-on-esxi-5-1/



#131
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

I ran the uninstall.sh for Unlocker120, rebooted, and ran install.sh, and then rebooted. I started up my OS X 10.9 Image, and it doesn't to boot. I will attempt to create a new 10.8 image and maybe that will work. Are there any logs specifically i should look at?

 

I still get a spinning Rainbow Wheel and Grey Screen...

 

I had followed this page to create my image:

 

techiezone.rottigni.net/2013/11/installing-mavericks-on-esxi-5-1/

The_Moves,

 

Not sure about the script you have found to create a bootable DMG from the Mavericks App Store download, the one I know works is from Donk, see link below:

 

http://www.insanelym...r-56/?p=1957242

 

The DMG created will boot in both Workstation 10 and ESXi 5.x or later, ideally ESXi 5.5 which has full support for Mavericks.

 

If you have downloaded Mountain Lion from the App Store you can just extract the DMG and use in ESXi 5.x or convert to an ISO, instructions at the beginning of this thread.



#132
The_Moves

The_Moves

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 17 posts

Are there any ESXi Logs that I should look at specifically?

 

I went ahead and upgraded to the latest 5.5 build per your suggestion - and... it worked! I find it strange that I was able to get an install on vanilla 5.1u1, but oh well! Just updating now.

 

Though, the only thing I tried differently was changing the Hard Disk from SCSI to IDE.

 

Also noticed the full extent of the Topic of this thread, sorry to bring ESXi into it :-/



#133
Aidzer0

Aidzer0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hello All, sorry if this question has been answered before, but i cannot find it anywhere.

 

I have downloaded the new os x Mavericks, and i am trying to install it on VMware workstation 9, but it gets stuck on the apple logo and then after a while the apple logo turns to a circle with a line through it. 

 

Attached File  Untitled-1.jpg   40.8KB   4 downloads

 

What I Have done so far:

Ran the unlocker for vmware to run os x

reinstalled vmware and unlocker patch

used 3 different mac install .iso / .dmg

converted .dmg to .iso because the .dmg does not work on my vmware.

 

Again sorry if this was answered before, please point me in the right direction.



#134
The_Moves

The_Moves

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 17 posts
What bus type are you using for your Disk/vmdk?

#135
Aidzer0

Aidzer0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

What bus type are you using for your Disk/vmdk?

 

Bus? Sorry I am quite new to Visualization. :blush:

 

On Vmware is says Hard Disk (SCSI)

 

Physical Drive is on normal SATA II



#136
The_Moves

The_Moves

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 17 posts
Are you booting as EFI or BIOS? If using BIOS, u will want to boot into ##### or some Chameleon variant first and use some boot flags, which ones I am exactly unsure of.

#137
Aidzer0

Aidzer0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

where would i find whether it is booting into EFI or BIOS? 



#138
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Hello All, sorry if this question has been answered before, but i cannot find it anywhere.

 

I have downloaded the new os x Mavericks, and i am trying to install it on VMware workstation 9, but it gets stuck on the apple logo and then after a while the apple logo turns to a circle with a line through it. 

 

What I Have done so far:

Ran the unlocker for vmware to run os x

reinstalled vmware and unlocker patch

used 3 different mac install .iso / .dmg

converted .dmg to .iso because the .dmg does not work on my vmware.

 

Again sorry if this was answered before, please point me in the right direction.

OK, so what is the spec of your machine, assuming it as an Intel CPU with VT-x enabled in BIOS, also switch to Workstation 10.0.1 or Player 6.0.1 ad install the latest unlocker 1.3.0 although 1.2.0 is fine for Workstation 10 or Player 6 then a retail download of OS X 10.9 from the App Store converted to DMG, see details in the first couple of posts in this thread, should install fine, no need to convert to ISO for W10 or P6.

 

If you have downloaded OS X Mavericks from anywhere else the chances are it is not a vanilla image, if you do not have access to a real mac or OS X VM then go to the Apple On-line Store and buy the DVD of Snow Leopard, this will install fine as a VM, and you can then download and upgrade to OS X Mavericks.


where would i find whether it is booting into EFI or BIOS? 

If you have installed the unlocker , booting OS X as a VM in Workstation will default to EFI, so that is not your issue.



#139
Aidzer0

Aidzer0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

OK, so what is the spec of your machine, assuming it as an Intel CPU with VT-x enabled in BIOS, also switch to Workstation 10.0.1 or Player 6.0.1 ad install the latest unlocker 1.3.0 although 1.2.0 is fine for Workstation 10 or Player 6 then a retail download of OS X 10.9 from the App Store converted to DMG, see details in the first couple of posts in this thread, should install fine, no need to convert to ISO for W10 or P6.

 

If you have downloaded OS X Mavericks from anywhere else the chances are it is not a vanilla image, if you do not have access to a real mac or OS X VM then go to the Apple On-line Store and buy the DVD of Snow Leopard, this will install fine as a VM, and you can then download and upgrade to OS X Mavericks.


If you have installed the unlocker , booting OS X as a VM in Workstation will default to EFI, so that is not your issue.

 

I have VMware Workstation 9, and i installed 1.2.0, my machine is:

 

i7 2600k

asus p8z68 v-pro

16 gigs ram,

 

VT-x is enabled as i have 7 other virtual machines.

 

I got mavericks from a mate that has a mac, who got it from an apple store.

 

Thanks For the quick responses guys



#140
koolguy7

koolguy7

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I'm a total newbie into Mac world. 

But, Thanks a lot MSoK, I've followed your post and got OS X 10.9.2 using Workstation 10 on Win 8.1 x64bit.

 

Although it is not as perfect, it's a little snaggy sometimes. Still perfect for testing purposes and using some apps that are native to MAC only.

 

I've installed the latest drivers and still One major issue is flash player, don't know it doesn't work sometimes. But in chrome flash is perfect, but chrome is way too laggy for me. Is this common in WorkStation OSX? 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: VMware, OS X 10.8, Mountain Lion, OS X 10.9, Mavericks, Unlocker, Workstation 10, Player 6, Yosemite, OS X 10.10


7 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy