Jump to content

Mountain Lion 10.8.2 Black Screen (Screen stand-by modus)

black screen mountain lion

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Hi everybody,

I have installed iAtkos Mountain Lion 10.8.2 but after and booting, at the moment when booting finished (when the login interface should appear), it runs into a black screen. My screen turn to stand by mode.

I tried using GraphicsEnabler=No,-x and -f. Nothing worked.

My graphic card is "Nvidia Gforce GTS 450".

Help me please.

Thanks

Edited by ignage, 02 March 2013 - 10:20 AM.


#2
ameris_cyning

ameris_cyning

    I don't know what to write here

  • Donators
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My apartment
  • Interests:OSx86, female anatomy, electronic music, Clover EFI
I am a bit confused by your question. What do you mean by "Modus"?

Anyways, the general advice to give to those who have black screens after loading is to swap your cables that connect your monitor to your card around. Try different ports.

There is also this entry from the 10.8.2 HCL on the OSX86 wiki. I have snipped out the unnecessary information.


GTS 450 - Kept going to a black screen (no signal) once it would hit the login screen. Didn't appear to be an out of range issue with the resolution. I installed the Nvidia Fermi Open CL Patch. That still didn't fix the issue, so I rebooted -x -v -F and got in. Once I was in, I rebooted once again without any boot flags. Failed! Added entries to org.chameleon.Boot.plist: npci=0x2000, PCIRootUID=0


That user did not list what card he had. However, there is another user who reported it worked OOB on 10.8 itself.

#3
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I mean "mode" heheh. Yes I tried to swap my cables because my graphic card have 2 DVI ports but didn't work. In regard with OPEN CL, I didn't install it when I personalized my installation setting. Could this be the problem?

Thanks

#4
ameris_cyning

ameris_cyning

    I don't know what to write here

  • Donators
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My apartment
  • Interests:OSx86, female anatomy, electronic music, Clover EFI

I mean "mode" heheh. Yes I tried to swap my cables because my graphic card have 2 DVI ports but didn't work. In regard with OPEN CL, I didn't install it when I personalized my installation setting. Could this be the problem?

Thanks


I dont think so. According to one wiki entry it should work OOB.

Do you have integrated graphics? If so boot with it. There are drivers you can try

#5
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
No, my motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-X79-UD.

His features:
  • High Performance Intel LGA 2011® Core™ i7 processors
  • 4 Channel Memory Architecture
  • PCI Express Gen. 3 Support
  • All New Digital Power Control for the CPU and Memory
  • 8 phase overclockable VRM design featuring All Japanese solid capacitor and PowerPAK MOSFET design
  • 333 Onboard Acceleration features USB 3.0, SATA 3.0 and an unprecedented 3x USB power boost
  • Dolby Home Theater® support
  • High quality 110dB SNR HD audio
  • UEFI DualBIOS™ Technology
  • Unique On/Off charge technology
  • GIGABYTE Ultra Durable™ 3 technology

My unique graphic device is the NVIDIA 450 GTS.


#6
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

make a copy of nv*.* kext and delete them

boot without the kext

-v GraphicsEnabler=No

then edit the kext

nvresman

and

nv*100hal

with u dev id of the graphics card

Basic guide about nVidia kexts, how to enable video drivers

good hack

#7
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Well, I attain to fix the problem with the black screen by editing the files which artur-pt told to me (thanks)! But now I have a new problem.

Now I can see the grey background with the apple logo and the mouse pointer, but it stucks there. I can't move the pointer.

Any ideas?

See picture: http://imagchine27.b...Pdfs/stucks.JPG

#8
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

boot

-v

and post photo

always boot -v (verbose mode)

until u have a stable system to see the kernel and boot loader msg

that screen only say steve bit the apple because it have hunger....

good hack

#9
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
But this error corresponds to the step after booting in -v mode. Everything seems to be correct without errors in the verbose mode.

#10
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

have u try to boot

-v GraphicsEnabler=No PciRoot=1

u must boot and reach the desk

to see what else is giving problems..

try also delete geforce.kext (before make a copy of it)

maybe u must use the new nvidia drivers for 10.8

good hack

#11
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Done, but not working!

I think the problem isn't related to the graphic card anymore because I have signal after booting. The problem is that it stucks after this.

#12
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

what smbios are u using ? imac13,1 ?

i think is related with graphics

have u try to boot without it ?

using intelhd 4000 ...

good hack

#13
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
mac pro 3.1

do you mean deleting smbios file?

#14
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

no

i'm saying u must use a smbios for ivy cpu

also

try to boot without the nvidia card, use intel hd 4000

to see if the problem is related with graphics

good hack

#15
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
It isn't ivy cpu, its sandy bridge-e.

Which smbios should I choose?There are a lot of them. And where can I download them?

How do I boot with intel hd 4000?

................................................................

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 3.60Ghz Box Socket 2011

Edited by ignage, 04 March 2013 - 01:23 AM.


#16
jahanzaib

jahanzaib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
choose imac12,1
and edit ur dsdt properly

choose imac12,1
and edit ur dsdt properly

delete my double post plz. I am using my crapy handset

#17
ignage

ignage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
The problem is that I can not start up mac so I cant create a DSDT!
I have downloaded a dsdt editor for Windows called "DSDTEditor-Linux-Mac-Win". I have seen a solution for the black screen in a post that involves
replacing a short code in the dsl but I can't find it.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: black screen, mountain lion


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy