Jump to content

[GUIDE] Thinkpad T420 with (Mountain) Lion

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
402 replies to this topic

#321
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@a2a - it looks like something got corrupted and the gfx is not starting up. well i suppose you could continue to trouble shoot but it might be easiest to reinstall the OS - takes about 20 minutes. then just replace the patched kexts in /S/L/E from the command line utility in the installer before you reboot. (or restart the installer and do it!)

#322
A2A

A2A

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I fix it. I just installed a timemachine backup, everything is working again. Thanks for your help :)

#323
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi!

I tried to enable the Quartz Extreme settings, but without any success...

At all, is this possible to enable with a Intel HD3000??

Have a T420 with 10.8.2 and SMBios MacBookpro8,1

Thanks and Greetings, Synymy

#324
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy - a few questions:
how do know it is not enabled?
what specific model T420 do you have?
do you have HD3000 only or do you have 2nd gfx card?
do you have a dsdt with VID or IGPU defined?

so to answer your question: Yes, with Intel HD 3000, it supports QE/CI (turned on/enabled) by default.
you should have these kexts running (at least)


$ kextstat | grep Graphics
70 13 0xffffff7f80ec7000 0x43000 0x43000 com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily (2.3.7) <10 7 5 4 3>
72 1 0xffffff7f81930000 0x3000 0x3000 com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsControl (3.3.0) <71 70 10 9 7 5 4 3 1>
81 0 0xffffff7f81650000 0x2e000 0x2e000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB (8.1.0) <70 10 9 7 6 5 4 3 1>
100 0 0xffffff7f81690000 0x62000 0x62000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelHD3000Graphics (8.1.0) <71 70 10 7 5 4 3 1>

#325
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
@tluck
Thanks for the Reply...

Answers:
- I know it, because I want to use a Program which need QE and it tells, QE is not availabe.
- The Model is 4236-Y52
- I think I do not have second gfx Card
- Don't know which dsdt variant I have. I used the one that is posted here in post 164 ... oh, wow ... it's from you! :-) At this point: Thanks for turn my lenovo in a hackitosh!

I saw, that I didn't had the AppleIntelHD3000Graphics kext installed. So I installed it, but the same result... No QE available...
How can I test QE? maybe the Program I want to use is wrong about QE...

Greets, Synymy

#326
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy -
are you using Macbookpro8,1 type?
odd? what does your About this Mac/System Report show for the Graphics? it is strange that the HD3000 kext was not there?
it should like the picture in this post: #281

Note: i posted a kext bundle for the 10.8.3 (instead of 10.8.2 ) in case you would like to update. see #238

is the finder bar at the top of screen see through/transparent - vs solid gray?
another way to tell QE is the dashboard ripple. go to System preferences and in Mission Control uncheck show dashboard as space. then click or the dashboard icon/app and add a widget - it will ripple!

#327
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
@tluck
the picture in post #281 shows the settings I have.

in my view the finder bar is gray...

and the Mission Control doesn't ripple at all...

where can i see wich graphic-kext is used? maybe i have two kext installed and they interrupt each other? is this possible?

#328
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy -

run this from the command line:

kextstat | grep Graphics

it should look like what i posted before. if it doesn't, then maybe your kexts did not get installed with proper permissions?
open diskutility and run fix permissions on your system partition

or go to /S/L/E and run these

sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chmod -R og-w /System/Library/Extensions
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions

#329
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
@tluck

this is my result:
73 13 0xffffff7f80de0000 0x37000 0x37000 com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily (2.3.5) <10 7 5 4 3>
74 0 0xffffff7f80e17000 0x2e000 0x2e000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB (8.0.0) <73 10 9 7 6 5 4 3 1>
100 0 0xffffff7f810cc000 0x62000 0x62000 com.apple.driver.AppleIntelHD3000Graphics (8.1.0) <91 73 10 7 5 4 3 1>
102 2 0xffffff7f80d38000 0x3000 0x3000 com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsControl (3.2.11) <91 73 10 9 7 5 4 3 1>

your kext's are newer. are these the 10.8.3 one? can i install them to 10.8.2?

the permission are correct.

Thnx, Syn

#330
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy -

seems like you have the right kexts running for full HD3000.
i dont know about about replacing the kexts. never tried it. but you could upgrade to 10.8.3? there is a 420 kext pack for 10.8.3 in post 238.

#331
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
@tluck

okay, now i updated to 10.8.3.
QE works!! ripples and transparent bar. my programs are working, too. Yeaha!!!
But now i have some artefacts while working...

And I lost my battery. :-( theres only an x in the battery
Installed the voodoobattery.kext from your package, but no result...

...and unfortunally only two cpu-cores were used. available are four and no sound at all?!

Thanks, Syn

#332
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy

good news

1) battery - VoodooBattery requires AppleACPIPlatform v1.3.5 (replace one in /S/L/E from kext pack)
2) sound - replace AppleHDA with the one in the pack - also replace the /Extra/dsdt.aml with the one in the kext pack too - uses layout12.
3) cpu - if you have a i5-2520m - it is dual core but has 4 threads.


and yes the artifacts are a common/known issue with 2d acceleration. the problem is related to (bad/improper) EDID. you can fix that by injecting a different (good) EDID. i use Clover boot loader now to inject an EDID. but I suspect that using SwitchResx would work also.

this is the EDID (256 char string) that seems to work well for the 1600x900 LCD


00FFFFFFFFFFFF0030E4E2020000000000140103801F11780A43459759578E28215054000000010101010101010101010101010101018025408060841A303020350036AE10000019000000000000000000000000000000000000000000FE004C4720446973706C61790A2020000000FE004C503134305744322D544C42310038

#333
Synymy

Synymy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
@tluck

really good news!
battery - works!
sound - makes noise!
cpu - okay, wrong vocabullary. two cores, and four threads. two of the thread has mostly no action. but, who cares?! speed is quite good.

artefacts are gone. but i didn't made the EDID injection, yet. is this possible?
and i miss my VGA-output for beamer. is this with EDID injection fixed, too? if yes, where can i find a small how-to?

thanks!
Synymy

#334
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@synymy - cool.

if you replace the AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext from the kext pack, you will have VGA.

here is a good thread on the EDID topic if you need to go there. some boxes are fine. some need new EDID.

http://www.insanelym...splay-problems/

#335
dainiookas

dainiookas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,
Just thought to share first details on 10.8.4 update.
Tried it today (using app store update) and so far it seems the only thing it has ruined was audio (had to reinstall previous AppleHDA.kext to get it back using #####).
Other than that everything went fine. Will have some more time to have a look at it tomorrow and should post an update if I notice anything else wrong here.

#336
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
good to know about 10.8.4. i will try to get updated soon and respin AppleHDA for T420!

#337
dainiookas

dainiookas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
So I've updated 3 T420 laptops to 10.8.4. All of them with 2.5GHz i5. Everywhere the same problem with audio, but everything seems to work fine so this should be a pretty safe update.

#338
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

Update 18-June-2013

Posted a 10.8.4 kext pack/bundle - see post #117 for the details! 

 

Hope this works as good for you as does for me. The DSDT has a some revisions - and is set up for 1600x900 LCD. But it seems do the trick to remove glitches and hangs.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is the 10.8.4 AppleHDA.kext for Conexant 20590 - see #217

Note: 10.8.4 combo update replaced the AppleHDA and AppleACPIPlatform kexts. needed to replace (rollback) these before the restart.



#339
peterst

peterst

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi everyone!

 

My Graphics NVS 4200m (Lenovo T420)

How to edit dsdt (from HD3000 => NVS 4200m)?

 

Thanks.



#340
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@tritoan - i could be wrong. the dsdt i posted in my bundle maybe able to handle both integrated and discrete graphics. notice Device PEG below. i think there are some posts about enabling the drivers to support your device - not sure of the details as i have HD3000 only. good luck.

 

here are the devices defined:.

 

 

$ grep Device dsdt.dsl 
        Device (LNKA)
        Device (LNKB)
        Device (LNKC)
        Device (LNKD)
        Device (LNKE)
        Device (LNKF)
        Device (LNKG)
        Device (LNKH)
        Device (MEM)
        Device (LID)
        Device (SLPB)
        Device (PCI0)
            Device (IMEI)
            Device (HDMI)
            Device (IGPU)
                Device (LCD0)
                Device (CRT0)
                Device (DVI0)
                Device (DVI1)
                Device (DVI2)
                Device (DVI3)
                Device (DVI4)
                Device (DVI5)
            Device (LPC)
                Device (SIO)
                Device (PIC)
                Device (TIMR)
                Device (HPET)
                Device (DMAC)
                Device (SPKR)
                Device (FPU)
                Device (RTC)
                Device (KBD)
                Device (MOU)
                Device (TPM)
                Device (SMCD)
                Device (EC)
                    Device (PNLF)
                    Device (BAT0)
                    Device (BAT1)
                    Device (ADP1)
                    Device (HKEY)
            Device (PEG)
                Device (IGPU)
                    Device (LCD0)
                    Device (CRT0)
                    Device (DVI0)
                    Device (DP0)
                    Device (DVI1)
                    Device (DP1)
                    Device (DVI2)
                    Device (DP2)
            Device (IGBE)
            Device (EXP1)
            Device (EXP2)
            Device (EXP4)
                Device (SLOT)
            Device (EXP5)
                Device (SLOT)
            Device (SAT1)
            Device (SAT2)
            Device (SMBU)
                Device (BUS0)
                    Device (MKY0)
            Device (EHC1)
                Device (URTH)
                    Device (URMH)
                        Device (PRT0)
                        Device (PRT1)
                        Device (PRT2)
                        Device (PRT3)
                        Device (PRT4)
                        Device (PRT5)
                        Device (PRT6)
                        Device (PRT7)
            Device (EHC2)
                Device (URTH)
                    Device (URMH)
                        Device (PRT8)
                        Device (PRT9)
                        Device (PRTA)
                        Device (PRTB)
                        Device (PRTC)
                        Device (PRTD)
            Device (HDEF)






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy