Jump to content

[GUIDE] Dell Studio 1558 ATI 5470 Core i7 - What I've got working so far

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
225 replies to this topic

#21
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball
The dongle is still better than nothing, and you can always order a new WiFi card later.

I can also confirm that TurboBoost is working for the i7, and is at reasonable temperatures.

#22
mac-lovin

mac-lovin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

UPDATE: All recent changes made are in RED.

My system:

  • Dell Studio 1558
  • Core i7 (720QM) 1.6Ghz
  • 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz RAM
  • ATI Mobility HD 5470 1GB (1366x768)
  • (The much hated) Broadcom BCM4313 [14e4:4727]
  • 500GB (7200 RPM) HDD

Thanks to the awesome user mac-lovin on the tonymacx86 forum I was able to get the following working.

What I have working: Graphics card (without QE/CI), Touchpad, Keyboard, USB Ports, Bluetooth, CD/DVD drive
To get QE/CI working (after the release of Lion) see CharlieSheen's post here.


What I DON'T have working: Wireless, battery indicator

Note: I'm using a retail OS X 10.6.3 DVD

The process (what you've been waiting for *drum roll*):
- Booted with Chameleon RC5 rev650 (no special boot flags)

- Installed OS X (10.6.3)

- When restarted, booted Chameleon with "-v busratio=20 arch=i386" "-x -v busratio=20 arch=i386" ---> We boot into safe mode to avoid a kernel panic. See below.

When in safe mode, external devices or other partition types shown in Finder. What I do first is boot with "-v busratio=20 arch=i386", copy the Combo Update and other files from my Storage NTFS partition to my desktop and then reboot again with "-x -v busratio=20 arch=i386"

- Installed 10.6.7 Combo Update followed by ##### 3.7.2 (I think the version number might be wrong will correct ASAP)

##### options:
  • System Utilities - All
  • OSx86 Software - All
  • Graphics - ATI 1.6.34.13
  • Realtek Gigabit Ethernet 2.0.6
  • Audio - Voodoo HDA 2.7.2
  • Kexts -> Miscellaneous - All except USB 3.0 and Voodoo PS/2 Controller

- At this point, towards the end of the ##### installation, I get a kernel panic and I have to restart. There's probably something that I have to remove to avoid it because according to mac-lovin, I shouldn't be getting one. The steps I was guided through were meant to be done without restarting after ##### was done. To avoid this you boot into safe mode '-x'.

- Anyway, after restarting (without boot flags) I open KextHelperb7 and drag the VoodooPS2Controller.kext, SuperIOFamily.kext and VoodooBattery in the box and run it.

- I installed bcm43xx_enabler.sh (Open a terminal, type sudo, drag the file to the terminal window)

- Installed Chimera.pkg (Not sure about the version number either)

- Installed the prefPane for Chameleon

- Copied the com.apple.boot.plist supplied by mac-lovin to the /Extras folder

Even after installing the bcm enabler my wireless doesn't work. However it works for mac-lovin (if I didn't mention it earlier, he has the same PC specs as me). I would be happier if I could get at least that working though. =\

For Bluetooth, just install this pkg assuming you have either the Dell Wireless 365, 370 or 410 Bluetooth Module:

Attached the VoodooBattery kext separately:

Here are some of the files I've mentioned above. They don't include Chimera, Chameleon boot cd image and #####



be wary of the voodoohda.kext as it often causes kernel panics on boot, also the voodoops2kext contains a plugin which also causes kernel panic, you can easily remove it yourself, right click on voodoops2mouse.kext , show package contents and remove the ps2controllerplugin.kext, fix kext permissions.... simple,

the superiofamily kext is useless and only causes issues, i edited mine and uploaded it for lifelike,

here is everything i used and a guide,

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=C8SA5J8V

my studio 1558, i7 720, hd5470, 8gb ddr3, 500gb hdd, bcm4313 wifi, ... no qe ci as of yet and no card reader..... , no big deal though, although full qe/ci available in 10.6.8 , but iv not updated yet to find out, will try this weekend and post log , results and if all working .. a guide if not yet available

Shirosaki, charlie sheen is right, i encountered the issue when i first installed osx on my studio 1558, once i went into bios (f2 on startup, changed multimedai key behaviour to function key first, that will fix that, the volume keys stopped working... as i wanted them too, way too buggy and my volume would never stay up even when i didnt touch them,


OK , MY APOLOGIES TO ALL OF YOU POOR 4313 OWNERS, IT APPEARS I DIDNT CHECK MY CARD, I HAVE BCM4321, ... BUT I HAVE SOMETHING FOR YOU ALL......

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NP232Y9R

4313 ENABLER, Its experimental, but should work just fine, i'v added the device id 14e4:4727 into the command which modifies the airport kext... give a try and let me know how you guys get on

Do I have to register as a paid developer for it?

EDIT: Nevermind, I guess I have to. I can't afford to pay $99 though. =\

Anyway you could attach the lion kexts needed? Pleaseee ;) :D

Could you also tell me the status of your DW1510, I might consider buying one as well. I ordered a USB dongle atm with a Realtek chipset. There's a Mac driver available on Realtek website and it was updated in June so it should work. I think it was a RTL8188CUS.



dwa140 works.. n dongle too, try the bcm43xx_enabler.sh that i modified and let me know how it goes, i also have the devleeoper preview, if u want il pull the hd5x kexts and zip them for you and upload them to megaupload or post them here

Do I have to register as a paid developer for it?

EDIT: Nevermind, I guess I have to. I can't afford to pay $99 though. =\

Anyway you could attach the lion kexts needed? Pleaseee :) :D

Could you also tell me the status of your DW1510, I might consider buying one as well. I ordered a USB dongle atm with a Realtek chipset. There's a Mac driver available on Realtek website and it was updated in June so it should work. I think it was a RTL8188CUS.



dwa140 works.. n dongle too, try the bcm43xx_enabler.sh that i modified and let me know how it goes, i also have the devleeoper preview, if u want il pull the hd5x kexts and zip them for you and upload them to megaupload or post them here

#23
lifelike27

lifelike27

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

be wary of the voodoohda.kext as it often causes kernel panics on boot, also the voodoops2kext contains a plugin which also causes kernel panic, you can easily remove it yourself, right click on voodoops2mouse.kext , show package contents and remove the ps2controllerplugin.kext, fix kext permissions.... simple,

the superiofamily kext is useless and only causes issues, i edited mine and uploaded it for lifelike,

here is everything i used and a guide,

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=C8SA5J8V
OK , MY APOLOGIES TO ALL OF YOU POOR 4313 OWNERS, IT APPEARS I DIDNT CHECK MY CARD, I HAVE BCM4321, ... BUT I HAVE SOMETHING FOR YOU ALL......

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NP232Y9R

4313 ENABLER, Its experimental, but should work just fine, i'v added the device id 14e4:4727 into the command which modifies the airport kext... give a try and let me know how you guys get on


Just tried it, and it doesn't work. =\

No indicator in the main menu and nothing in the AirPort Utility. I checked Network in the System Preferences too, nothing there either.

I looked at the edit you made. You added the device id to the list to be patched yes? That's already been tried before. Apparently, bcm4313 is made differently so just added the device id isn't enough.

#24
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball

be wary of the voodoohda.kext as it often causes kernel panics on boot, also the voodoops2kext contains a plugin which also causes kernel panic, you can easily remove it yourself, right click on voodoops2mouse.kext , show package contents and remove the ps2controllerplugin.kext, fix kext permissions.... simple,

the superiofamily kext is useless and only causes issues, i edited mine and uploaded it for lifelike,

here is everything i used and a guide,

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=C8SA5J8V

my studio 1558, i7 720, hd5470, 8gb ddr3, 500gb hdd, bcm4313 wifi, ... no qe ci as of yet and no card reader..... , no big deal though, although full qe/ci available in 10.6.8 , but iv not updated yet to find out, will try this weekend and post log , results and if all working .. a guide if not yet available

Shirosaki, charlie sheen is right, i encountered the issue when i first installed osx on my studio 1558, once i went into bios (f2 on startup, changed multimedai key behaviour to function key first, that will fix that, the volume keys stopped working... as i wanted them too, way too buggy and my volume would never stay up even when i didnt touch them,


OK , MY APOLOGIES TO ALL OF YOU POOR 4313 OWNERS, IT APPEARS I DIDNT CHECK MY CARD, I HAVE BCM4321, ... BUT I HAVE SOMETHING FOR YOU ALL......

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NP232Y9R

4313 ENABLER, Its experimental, but should work just fine, i'v added the device id 14e4:4727 into the command which modifies the airport kext... give a try and let me know how you guys get on




dwa140 works.. n dongle too, try the bcm43xx_enabler.sh that i modified and let me know how it goes, i also have the devleeoper preview, if u want il pull the hd5x kexts and zip them for you and upload them to megaupload or post them here




dwa140 works.. n dongle too, try the bcm43xx_enabler.sh that i modified and let me know how it goes, i also have the devleeoper preview, if u want il pull the hd5x kexts and zip them for you and upload them to megaupload or post them here


With the card reader, I remember someone with another model of Dell Studio getting it working, I'll try to dig up that thread.

Multimedia keys, set to function key first in BIOS and map them with controllermate.

Also, it appears with the 11A494A update for Lion, all you need is to add the Aticonfig and GraphicsEnabler strings to com.apple.boot.plist to get QE/CI. Although that could also be attributed to upgrading to a later Chameleon revision.

#25
viero86

viero86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Thank you very much for detailed guidelines
I followed your instructions and here's my process:
* Preinstall:
- Since I already had Windows 7 and don't want to erase the existing installation so I use transmac(http://www.snapfiles...t/transmac.html) to make bootable usb install of the retail DVD 10.6.3
- Replace OSInstall.mpkg with the file downloaded from http://deviato.wordp... ... ard-disks/
( I tried to replace both files as the instructions but failed on the other file. Replace only 1 worked for me)
* Install:
- Boot with ibootlegacy (no flag)
- Choose USB stick
- Proceed with installation
After that I use your attached files in that topic with instructions. The first time I ran the update compo from Apple it hangs and messed around with my RAM so that I could not even start Win 7 normal. Memory test diagnostic tool said it's the hardware problem but can't fix it. So I use HirenBoot CD run memtest 86+ and after that it went fine (Mac drive is still corrupted)
On second time I got it working as expected. Installed chimera but it didn't work. Then installed Chameleon, switch to Windows 7 add new boot record for Mac drive (using EasyBCD) and it worked.
Couple of issues so far:
- Wifi doesn't work even after installing the enabler
- The original flawed Chimera is still there. My boot sequence goes like this Chimera(failed)->Win 7 Boot Mgr -> Chameleon. Is there any way to remove Chimera? Also using Chameleon I have to set bootflag GraphicsEnabler=yes all the time. Is there any way to configure it?
- Connect to external monitor before the boot does not work (kernel panic error). And it doesn't support 1920x1024 resolution
- Cannot go to stand by mode, sometimes restarting hangs

Lifelike27 you rock!!! Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#26
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball

Thank you very much for detailed guidelines
I followed your instructions and here's my process:
* Preinstall:
- Since I already had Windows 7 and don't want to erase the existing installation so I use transmac(http://www.snapfiles...t/transmac.html) to make bootable usb install of the retail DVD 10.6.3
- Replace OSInstall.mpkg with the file downloaded from http://deviato.wordp... ... ard-disks/
( I tried to replace both files as the instructions but failed on the other file. Replace only 1 worked for me)
* Install:
- Boot with ibootlegacy (no flag)
- Choose USB stick
- Proceed with installation
After that I use your attached files in that topic with instructions. The first time I ran the update compo from Apple it hangs and messed around with my RAM so that I could not even start Win 7 normal. Memory test diagnostic tool said it's the hardware problem but can't fix it. So I use HirenBoot CD run memtest 86+ and after that it went fine (Mac drive is still corrupted)
On second time I got it working as expected. Installed chimera but it didn't work. Then installed Chameleon, switch to Windows 7 add new boot record for Mac drive (using EasyBCD) and it worked.
Couple of issues so far:
- Wifi doesn't work even after installing the enabler
- The original flawed Chimera is still there. My boot sequence goes like this Chimera(failed)->Win 7 Boot Mgr -> Chameleon. Is there any way to remove Chimera? Also using Chameleon I have to set bootflag GraphicsEnabler=yes all the time. Is there any way to configure it?
- Connect to external monitor before the boot does not work (kernel panic error). And it doesn't support 1920x1024 resolution
- Cannot go to stand by mode, sometimes restarting hangs

Lifelike27 you rock!!! Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


Dell Wireless 1520 doesn't work for anybody as of yet, I ordered a 1510 off of eBay and works fine, or a compatible USB wireless dongle would work too.

Sleep mode works with DSDT and some modification, I managed to get it to work, I will report back once I get on my 1558 to see what I did exactly.

put the following in /Extra/com.apple.boot.plist:

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key><string>Yes</string>


External monitor and QE/CI works here, probably Lion being the reason it works.

As with the boot sequence, I would post the question in the Multi booting and virtualization forum, theres probably an easier solution, but I would back up everything and do a fresh install when Lion retail comes out and install latest chameleon then.

Also, I will be adding a new zip file later today with all my kexts and Extra folder, and DSDT that may work for those with a similar configuration as me. Put in a working wireless solution, or an Ethernet cable and you will have a perfect system on Lion.

also, busratio=20 isn't exactly needed on a later version of Chameleon, I still have 4 cores 8 threads, and SpeedStep/TurboBoost/etc.

#27
EvilBoris

EvilBoris

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I've been carefully reading your posts in various places as I try to get my i7 1558 working, after numerous attempts to get it working I got mine working like this.


##### Legacy
install retail 10.6 disc

install combo update 10.6.3

##### 3.7.2. only installing ATI 1.6.34.13 injector

reboot

install 10.6.7

if I get any kernal panics I can usually just use -v in ##### legacy to get past it, then I can do disc utiliy and repair partitions.

I installed the voodoo battery kext that someone listed here for battery support, but I think that was it.

I can't get the 10.6.8 update to work without either it locking up at "PCI CONFIG BEGIN" or alternatively getting through boot but having nothing but a blank screen.


Is there any way to stop my screen going black if it puts my screen to sleep (i.e. during 3 minutes of me not touching it)?


Good work guys, a very useful pile of information in here.

#28
demian12

demian12

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Hello, boot with:-x-v busratio = 20 arch = i386. and get kernel_panic.
any solution?
screen:

Attached Files



#29
viero86

viero86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I've been carefully reading your posts in various places as I try to get my i7 1558 working, after numerous attempts to get it working I got mine working like this.


##### Legacy
install retail 10.6 disc

install combo update 10.6.3

##### 3.7.2. only installing ATI 1.6.34.13 injector

reboot

install 10.6.7

if I get any kernal panics I can usually just use -v in ##### legacy to get past it, then I can do disc utiliy and repair partitions.

I installed the voodoo battery kext that someone listed here for battery support, but I think that was it.

I can't get the 10.6.8 update to work without either it locking up at "PCI CONFIG BEGIN" or alternatively getting through boot but having nothing but a blank screen.


Is there any way to stop my screen going black if it puts my screen to sleep (i.e. during 3 minutes of me not touching it)?


Good work guys, a very useful pile of information in here.

It happened to me too after I update to 10.6.8 via software updates. It seems that you have to reinstall IOPCI and some kexts to make it work:
http://tonymacx86.bl...068-update.html
I tried but it didn't work for me. At one point I was able to boot 10.6.8 but cannot get GraphicsEnabler=yes mode to work. I tried to reinstall ##### but it failed too.
So I reinstalled everything and happy with 10.6.7 again.
Current status:
- External monitor 1920x1080 does not work (the option doesn't appear in Display settings/tried SwitchResX but it said inactive???)
- Wifi works with TP-Link WN321G (only $10)
- Microphone does not work, sound and webcam work though.

#30
jamesst20

jamesst20

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
Thanks you ! I have the same laptop as you

Dell Studio 1558
i7 720-QM
Radeon HD 5470
Broadcom 4313...

Everything working perfectly on Lion GM except Wifi :D

#31
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball

Thanks you ! I have the same laptop as you

Dell Studio 1558
i7 720-QM
Radeon HD 5470
Broadcom 4313...

Everything working perfectly on Lion GM except Wifi B)



Yeah man, just get a 1510 off of ebay or a dongle and it would be fine.



On a side note, i would like to find a better solution than controllermate for the multimedia key issue, namely the volume up/down key, I am currently looking into that. And does anyone else have the issue of the volume slider being less than accurate, with the halfway mark on the volume slider being no sound, I am using an AppleHDA kext I found instead of VoodooHDA though. I will look into all remaining issues, and will produce a final Kext pack, before Lion is released on app store. We will make the Dell 1558 the next great hackintoshed laptop.

#32
lifelike27

lifelike27

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
I messed up my Lion installation and like a fool I forgot to clone my HDD. Was trying to install Lion without a USB since I didn't have anything bigger than 4GB. Just reinstalled to 10.6.7 now.

Charlie, do you use Linux by any chance? I wanted to know if the DW1510 was capable of packet injection and monitor mode. I will definitely buy it then, that's the only thing holding me back now.

I just got my USB dongle and wireless is working fine with it but the custom wireless application is a bit annoying to deal with.

Btw, it looks like there is some active development for the BCM4313 wireless card: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=247900

#33
viero86

viero86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I messed up my Lion installation and like a fool I forgot to clone my HDD. Was trying to install Lion without a USB since I didn't have anything bigger than 4GB. Just reinstalled to 10.6.7 now.

Charlie, do you use Linux by any chance? I wanted to know if the DW1510 was capable of packet injection and monitor mode. I will definitely buy it then, that's the only thing holding me back now.

I just got my USB dongle and wireless is working fine with it but the custom wireless application is a bit annoying to deal with.

Btw, it looks like there is some active development for the BCM4313 wireless card: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=247900


@Lifelike: you can buy TP-Link WN321G. It works great w/ OSX and Backtrack too:
http://yltan.com/blo...or-mini-review/
Packet injection i'm not sure but monitor mode definitely works.

#34
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball

I messed up my Lion installation and like a fool I forgot to clone my HDD. Was trying to install Lion without a USB since I didn't have anything bigger than 4GB. Just reinstalled to 10.6.7 now.

Charlie, do you use Linux by any chance? I wanted to know if the DW1510 was capable of packet injection and monitor mode. I will definitely buy it then, that's the only thing holding me back now.

I just got my USB dongle and wireless is working fine with it but the custom wireless application is a bit annoying to deal with.

Btw, it looks like there is some active development for the BCM4313 wireless card: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=247900


Nah, I don't use linux, I will look into it for you though.

#35
lifelike27

lifelike27

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

@Lifelike: you can buy TP-Link WN321G. It works great w/ OSX and Backtrack too:
http://yltan.com/blo...or-mini-review/
Packet injection i'm not sure but monitor mode definitely works.


Thanks viero!

As soon as a finished reading the article I bought one straight away! The only downside is that I have to pay $5 for shipping just because I live on the other side of the border (canada fyi).

The article said you might need third party drivers for Mac? Which ones are you using or could you provide a link for me?

Can't wait for it to arrive!

#36
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball
After a quick google search, there is no packet injection support, and supposedly monitor mode works properly with a driver update in windows, but i don't know anything about it.

As for the final kext pack, I will release it whenever I get sleep mode and the volume control quirk working proper, or on Lion's official release date, whichever comes first. And I am really close for the sleep mode I must add. MaLd0n also created me a DSDT, which I will include, but only use if you have very similar specs as to what I have.

64-bit Geekbench scores for the 1558, with i7 and 1333 Mhz RAM should be anywhere between 6500-6600, a more respectable score than any MacBook Pro before 2011, and even better than the 13 inch 2011 MacBook Pros.

So here is a summary of what is working so far

Working:

Intel Core i7:
Intel processor obviously works with newish chameleon. Later versions however reduce QuickPath Interconnect performance, use Chimera r877 for perfect balance of uninhibited QPI performance, ATI support, SpeedStep and turboboost.
8GB DDR3 1333Mhz RAM
Seagate 500GB 7200RPM HDD
IDT 92HD73C1 Audio:
Edit: All working perfectly now. Mic quality is good unlike VoodooHDA and volume slider accuracy is good.
ATI 5470M:
Works perfect in Lion with AtiConfig=Hoolock in com.boot.apple.plist. QE/CI, full res and everything.
Dell Wireless 1510
Keyboard/Mouse:
Works. With Multitouch, and still in 64-bit mode as well. Still have the multimedia key quirk with the volume control. mute, play, forward and back, and brightness control work perfect, volume up and down have a strange quirk, this is not a PS2 driver problem, or an Audio driver problem, but a Dell problem, I will try to fix it though.
Ethernet
Webcam/Mic
Battery
Hitachi-LG GA31N DVD Drive
Power management and fans/cooling

In progress:

Sleep Mode:
Very real possibility of it working, I managed so far to put it into sleep mode, with the power button light effect as it has on window's sleep mode in everything. Waking it from sleep is being worked on at the moment.

Not working:

Dell Wireless 1520:
Get a USB dongle or replace it with a Dell Wireless 1510 from eBay or similar.




We are close to perfection, guys. Special thanks to lifelike27, Shirosaki, mac-lovin, vireo86, MaLd0n, The dell mini hackintosh forum, The dell studio 1557 thread, and Apple for being so kind to have put 0x68e0, the device ID for the 5470M into Lion's ATI5000Controller.kext :(.

#37
MacNB

MacNB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male

Sleep Mode:
Very real possibility of it working, I managed so far to put it into sleep mode, with the power button light effect as it has on window's sleep mode in everything. Waking it from sleep is being worked on at the moment.

Hi CharlieSheen,
I too have got to the same stage with Lion DP4 with sleep. I can press the power button and the laptop will turn the LCD screen off, turn the fans off, spin down the HDD and flash the power light. But on wake-up, the fans turn on full, HDD light comes on, but the screen is black and the keyboard unresponsive ....i.e. it crashes. I check the kernel.log after rebooting and there's no record of the OS going to sleep or being woken.

I did make a small change to the DSDT and manage to turn the screen off when the screen lid is closed down. But this does not put the notebook to sleep (everything is running but the screen is black). When I open the screen lid, the LCD turns back on and continues to display what was there before. So small progress.

Let me know if you want me to test any ideas you come up with and vice versa.

#38
CharlieSheen

CharlieSheen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Interests:Ball

Hi CharlieSheen,
I too have got to the same stage with Lion DP4 with sleep. I can press the power button and the laptop will turn the LCD screen off, turn the fans off, spin down the HDD and flash the power light. But on wake-up, the fans turn on full, HDD light comes on, but the screen is black and the keyboard unresponsive ....i.e. it crashes. I check the kernel.log after rebooting and there's no record of the OS going to sleep or being woken.

I did make a small change to the DSDT and manage to turn the screen off when the screen lid is closed down. But this does not put the notebook to sleep (everything is running but the screen is black). When I open the screen lid, the LCD turns back on and continues to display what was there before. So small progress.

Let me know if you want me to test any ideas you come up with and vice versa.


That's odd, my log says that it wakes up perfectly, and the OS was called to sleep by the power button, etc. but it just doesn't wake. I have heard that a lot of people are having problems because of Lion, I was a little busy today, but tomorrow ill try different methods and such.

What was the DSDT modification you did, that seems like a good start?

#39
viero86

viero86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Thanks viero!

As soon as a finished reading the article I bought one straight away! The only downside is that I have to pay $5 for shipping just because I live on the other side of the border (canada fyi).

The article said you might need third party drivers for Mac? Which ones are you using or could you provide a link for me?

Can't wait for it to arrive!


It depends on the version although all of them looks white. When the stick arrives, look for the back for FCC ID (last 2 chars). Mine is V4 and after several trials i find this one actually works:
http://download1.ope..._2010_04_06.dmg
For V1 sticks download RT25xxx from this site:
http://www.ralinktec...support.php?s=3

Hackintosh update: I finally be able to adjust resolution of the external monitor to 1920x1080 with SwitchResX. I have to manually enter the custom resolution and let the system calculate the refresh rate (59.99xx Hz instead of 60 Hz by default).

#40
lifelike27

lifelike27

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

It depends on the version although all of them looks white. When the stick arrives, look for the back for FCC ID (last 2 chars). Mine is V4 and after several trials i find this one actually works:
http://download1.ope..._2010_04_06.dmg
For V1 sticks download RT25xxx from this site:
http://www.ralinktec...support.php?s=3

Hackintosh update: I finally be able to adjust resolution of the external monitor to 1920x1080 with SwitchResX. I have to manually enter the custom resolution and let the system calculate the refresh rate (59.99xx Hz instead of 60 Hz by default).



Seller says it's version 4.1

Thanks! =)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy