Jump to content

Asus nVidia GeForce 210 1GB DDR3 Working!


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#41
scuzzo7

scuzzo7

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks a million, you just made my day!

#42
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

so it's gigabyte or msi or gainward gf210 supported with the method you posted here?


I don't know. I only tested it on one card. I gave the specific name just to be precise incase there is a difference. Give it a try and report back.

#43
C.Frio

C.Frio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Pandora Team
  • 1,151 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cabo frio - Brasil
Hi...

...so... ,should I remove GraphicsEnabler, or not on a zotac silent ddr3 1GB ?
c.frio

#44
dan b

dan b

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
my Asus GeForce 210 Silent lowProfile 1gb DDR3 NVram works OutOfTheBox in Mountain Lion. all i need to do was GE=Yes and npci=0x3000 (in worder to work integrated LAN and have Echo when booting -v). Full res 1080p, QE/CI enabled. i'm watching BluRay without problems.

#45
ErOSx86

ErOSx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
I had problems with the EN210 512GB silent card in my Dell Optipex 755... in Mountain Lion. The OS would freeze when trying to start the GUI and only booting in safemode would work. Couldnt quite work out why it did that... btw did you update to 10.8.1 for it to work? could the issue just be with 10.8.0???

I did however get everything working in Lion perfecty after i had installed the update to 10.7.4, It worked with GE=no using an EFI string. I might attempt to upgrade to mountain lion and see if it works... when i was playing with ML before It was actually a USB disk i had installed ML too to try on my nForce based motherboard.

#46
dubhead

dubhead

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Hi...

...so... ,should I remove GraphicsEnabler, or not on a zotac silent ddr3 1GB ?
c.frio


I just tested a Zotac Silent G210 1GB 2xDVI. At first try in 10.6.8 i had a BlackScreen but Monitor stayed ON. Then i booted into 10.8.1 ML no Problem there with GE=Yes. Then for the 10.6.8 i used a EFI String and GE=No worked too. Then i installed that TonymacX Graphics update 2.1.0 and deleted the EFI String returned too GE=Yes and it worked too in 10.6.8.

#47
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Hey all,

so i managed to get dvi/hdmi/vga, Dual Display, working using the following method for 10.6.6
1. I deleted the customer EFI string (for geforce 210) from the com apple boot completely
2. without restarting - installed tonymacx86's nVidia graphics driver update
3. without restarting - installed ######, selecting ONLY System Utilities, boot with - 32bit Graphics Enabler and Chimera bootloader)
4. Restarted PC - took a few more minutes to load but bang...all done.
HDMI + VGA + DVI (dual display)

Now I am trying to figure out how to get the sound working through the HDMI.
Lion was a pain in the butt for me with all the pci hangs so I will test that later.


The hackintosh I origninally put the Asus nVidia GeForce 210 Silent 1 GB in got returned to me because the owner ignored my advice and did an update to 10.6.8. They ended up with the dreaded [pci configuration begin]. Anyway I ditched the DSDT and was able to install Mountain Lion for them no problem. I did NOT use an EFI string this time around. I used an up to date Chameleon version 2.1svn 2047 and GraphicsEnabler=Yes. Worked like a charm. No need for any of that Tonymac stuff. I have a translucent menu bar and full resolution.

#48
dejangs

dejangs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
Hi guys, just purchased an MSI N210.

Previously i had installed Nvidia 8600GT trhough DSDT.aml (if i remeber well...)
Now with nvidia 210 just out of the box, i boot successfully, have fullHD dimensions but in System Profile says still 8600GT. Also i dont know if have other problems on system too but i'm almost able to do things i was doing previously. *(Edit : I notice some lag on fullhd on youtube)

Can anyone help me how install the Nvidia 210?
Its been a long time since i edited DSDT, i really dont remember anything.
I suppose that i must find a new code in "Reg" box that describes 210.
If this is hard, i'd be grateful if someone can tell me how remove graphics from DSDT and then follow the steps from 1st post on this thread.

Here is 8600gt specs on my DSDT.


"model",
Buffer (0x17)
{
"nVidia GeForce 8600 GT"
},

"rom-revision",
Buffer (0x25)
{
"nVidia GeForce 8600 GT OpenGL Engine"
},

"reg",
Buffer (0x78)
{
/* 0000 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0008 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0010 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10, 0x00, 0x01, 0x02,
/* 0018 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0020 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x01,
/* 0028 */ 0x14, 0x00, 0x01, 0x42, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0030 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0038 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10, 0x1C, 0x00, 0x01, 0x02,
/* 0040 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0048 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x02,
/* 0050 */ 0x24, 0x00, 0x01, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0058 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0060 */ 0x80, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x30, 0x00, 0x01, 0x02,
/* 0068 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
/* 0070 */ 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x02, 0x00
}

This is my bootplist :

<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>arch=x86_32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>n</string>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>hd(0,2)</string>
<key>Hide Partition</key>
<string>hd(1,1)</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>
</dict>
</plist>

I'm on 10.6.3 !
Thank you!

#49
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Hi guys, just purchased an MSI N210.

Previously i had installed Nvidia 8600GT trhough DSDT.aml (if i remeber well...)
Now with nvidia 210 just out of the box, i boot successfully, have fullHD dimensions but in System Profile says still 8600GT. Also i dont know if have other problems on system too but i'm almost able to do things i was doing previously. *(Edit : I notice some lag on fullhd on youtube)

Can anyone help me how install the Nvidia 210?
Its been a long time since i edited DSDT, i really dont remember anything.
I suppose that i must find a new code in "Reg" box that describes 210.
If this is hard, i'd be grateful if someone can tell me how remove graphics from DSDT and then follow the steps from 1st post on this thread.


Make a back up installation in another partition or hard drive. Make sure it boots okay. Then go to your original partition and move your DSDT.aml file. Now boot without the DSDT.aml file and create a new one. This time don't add any graphics card injection. Now use an up to date Chameleon and GraphicsEnabler="YES" in your boot plist.

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>y</string>

That's it. If it doesn't work then try the EFI string injection.

I can't help you with the DSDT method. I don't use it for exactly the reason you are illustrating here.

#50
XLR

XLR

    2cores1cpu.mov

  • Donators
  • 890 posts
  • Location:חולון
Call me lazy but I prefer the simple method: just install Nvidia drivers turn on GraphicsEnabler and set PCIRootUID accordingly, works great for every GT210 i ever installed.

#51
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Call me lazy but I prefer the simple method: just install Nvidia drivers turn on GraphicsEnabler and set PCIRootUID accordingly, works great for every GT210 i ever installed.


Not all 210s in every situation seem to be responding the same. I've gone from installations which I used an EFI string. Then in 10.8.1 all I needed was an up to date Chameleon and GraphicsEnabler="Yes". And in 10.8.2 I need the latest nvidia drivers in addition to GraphicsEnabler="YES". The inablity of the quick and easy solution to work is what started the whole EFI odessy.

#52
bwm1974

bwm1974

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
I am having troubles with this card. It's an EVGA Geforce 210 1gb ddr3 PCIe card. I've successfully installed Snow Leopard (using legacy_kernel), but I can't get QE/CI working. I'm running a Dell XPS 200 which is Intel 945G Express chipset; using a dual core Pentium D 830 processor with 4gb DDR2 RAM. My monitor is VGA, so I have the monitor connected to the DVI port on the Geforce 210 via a DVI-VGA adapter. I've tried GraphicsEnabler yes and no, npci=0x2000 and npci=0x3000, PCIRootUID=0 and 1 and I've also created an EFI string. I've installed nvenabler.kext, I've installed GeForce and other nvidia kexts, but always the same outcome. I'm getting the desired 1280x1024 resolution, but just can't get graphics acceleration. For right now, I'm using no kext files and the EFI string and using chameleon v2.1svn r2069. Any help would be appreciated!

Here's my org.chameleon.Boot.plist:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Boot Graphics</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableHDMIAudio</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1280x1024x32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Instant Menu</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>legacy_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>PciRoot</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Quiet Boot</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>Default</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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</string>
</dict>
</plist>

#53
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

I am having troubles with this card. It's an EVGA Geforce 210 1gb ddr3 PCIe card. I've successfully installed Snow Leopard (using legacy_kernel), but I can't get QE/CI working. I'm running a Dell XPS 200 which is Intel 945G Express chipset; using a dual core Pentium D 830 processor with 4gb DDR2 RAM. My monitor is VGA, so I have the monitor connected to the DVI port on the Geforce 210 via a DVI-VGA adapter. I've tried GraphicsEnabler yes and no, npci=0x2000 and npci=0x3000, PCIRootUID=0 and 1 and I've also created an EFI string. I've installed nvenabler.kext, I've installed GeForce and other nvidia kexts, but always the same outcome. I'm getting the desired 1280x1024 resolution, but just can't get graphics acceleration. For right now, I'm using no kext files and the EFI string and using chameleon v2.1svn r2069. Any help would be appreciated!

Here's my org.chameleon.Boot.plist:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Boot Graphics</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EnableHDMIAudio</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1280x1024x32</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Instant Menu</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>legacy_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>PciRoot</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Quiet Boot</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>Default</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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</string>
</dict>
</plist>

on some dells the pcirootuid is 1 or 4 not 0

also pentium d might not work best.. try a core duo with vanilla kernel.

#54
bwm1974

bwm1974

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

on some dells the pcirootuid is 1 or 4 not 0

also pentium d might not work best.. try a core duo with vanilla kernel.

I'll try PCIRootUID=4, have tried 1 and 0 and didn't make any difference. I appreciate the input from you. This is just my grandpa's old computer and I'm just horsing around with it... seeing what I can do with it. It's not my primary computer. I've tried various efi strings, various nvenabler, natit, nvinject, etc. I'm surprised that it seems no matter what I do, it makes no difference. I either get no screen, kp or 1280x1024 without QE/CI. Never get multiple resolution options in system preferences and never get QE/CI. I'll keep horsing around and if I get QE/CI, I'll post my success story here. If anyone has other ideas, I'd like to hear them.

#55
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
likely u need to fix dsdt issues so u can keep as vanilla as possible.

#56
bwm1974

bwm1974

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

likely u need to fix dsdt issues so u can keep as vanilla as possible.


I'm a complete noob when it comes to dsdt. I did create a dsdt.aml file using dsdt editor, but upon reboot, my mouse no longer worked! I know I should extract dsdt info and patch it or edit it and then create the .aml file, but I'm not sure what to edit and I can't find patches for this mobo: Dell 0DD431. Any thoughts?

#57
claver

claver

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Informatica, musica, cinema e amici
I have tried the EFI String but don't work with my graphics card. I have an ASUS NVidia GeForce 210 (1GB DDR3) on an PC with a CPU AMD. I've the smbios of macpro 3,1, the legacy kernel and snow leopard 10.6.8 (I have also installed the nvidia driver...)

Suggestions?

#58
moreorless

moreorless

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
I'm looking for a silent (fanless) GPU that works out of the box, so the GT 210 is a good candidate for me. However, I've a couple of questions:

1) Can you enable OpenCL on the GT210? If affirmative, what OpenCL version is reported?

2) I'm having a hard time choosing from the Asus and Gigabyte GT 210 silent cards... do you know if any of them is better or runs with lower temperature?

#59
javierandress

javierandress

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Viña del Mar, Chile.
Hello!


I can not edit the com.apple.plist this is the following error:

http://img833.images...46027874879.jpg

#60
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Hello!


I can not edit the com.apple.plist this is the following error:

http://img833.images...46027874879.jpg


permissions.. and its the boot.plist from system.. not one chameleon uses aka now called/Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist

use chameleon wizard to make it easy





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy