Jump to content

Q6600 Vanilla Speedstep on GA-P35-DS4 (rev 2.0)


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
crtman

crtman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi, I've patched my dsdt with this:

Scope (_PR)
	{
		Processor (CPU0, 0x00, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
			Name (_PSS, Package (0x04)
			{
				Package (0x06) { 2403, 0, 10, 10, 0x0928, 0 },
				Package (0x06) { 2136, 0, 10, 10, 0x0824, 1 },
				Package (0x06) { 1869, 0, 10, 10, 0x0720, 2 },
				Package (0x06) { 1602, 0, 10, 10, 0x061B, 3 }
			})

			Name (_PSD, Package (0x05)
			{
				0x05,
				0x00,
				0x00,
				0xFC, // Double-checked the 0xFC value with ACPISpec v4.0 pdf
				0x04  // Number of Processors - If you have a Quad core CPU then this value should read 0x04
			})

			Name (_CST, Package (0x04)
			{
				0x03, 
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x000)},1,1,1000},
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (SystemIO, 8, 0, 0x414)},2,1,500},
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (SystemIO, 8, 0, 0x415)},3,17,250}
			})
		}
		Processor (CPU1, 0x01, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
		Processor (CPU2, 0x02, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
		Processor (CPU3, 0x03, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
	}

It was initially taken from blackosx's dsdt and changed with my FID/VID from PStateChanger
Currently I'm running Snow Leopard 10.6.2 x64 with Chameleon 2.0 RC4.
I'm getting KP at the very start without NullCPUPowerManagement.
Am I missing something?

Thanks

PS:

EIST is working (checked my BIOS settings)
LPC seems to be working:
$ kextstat | grep LPC
   53	0 0xffffff7f808a3000 0x3000	 0x3000	 com.apple.driver.AppleLPC (1.4.9) <9 5 4 3>
$ lspci | grep LPC	  
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IR (ICH9R) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)

PS2:

My extra kexts (hope it will help):

AHCIPortInjector.kext + IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext (optional, fixes orange icons)
ALC889a.kext
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
PlatformUUID.kext (optional, OS works fine but Hardware UUID in Sys Profiler filled with zeroes)
SleepEnabler.kext
VoodooPState.kext (used to check my pstate)
fakesmc.kext

#2
mm67

mm67

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Hi, I've patched my dsdt with this:

Scope (_PR)
	{
		Processor (CPU0, 0x00, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
			Name (_PSS, Package (0x04)
			{
				Package (0x06) { 2403, 0, 10, 10, 0x0928, 0 },
				Package (0x06) { 2136, 0, 10, 10, 0x0824, 1 },
				Package (0x06) { 1869, 0, 10, 10, 0x0720, 2 },
				Package (0x06) { 1602, 0, 10, 10, 0x061B, 3 }
			})

			Name (_PSD, Package (0x05)
			{
				0x05,
				0x00,
				0x00,
				0xFC, // Double-checked the 0xFC value with ACPISpec v4.0 pdf
				0x04  // Number of Processors - If you have a Quad core CPU then this value should read 0x04
			})

			Name (_CST, Package (0x04)
			{
				0x03, 
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x000)},1,1,1000},
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (SystemIO, 8, 0, 0x414)},2,1,500},
				Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (SystemIO, 8, 0, 0x415)},3,17,250}
			})
		}
		Processor (CPU1, 0x01, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
		Processor (CPU2, 0x02, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
		Processor (CPU3, 0x03, 0x00000410, 0x06) {
		Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSS, _PSS)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._PSD, _PSD)
			Alias (\_PR.CPU0._CST, _CST)
		}
	}

It was initially taken from blackosx's dsdt and changed with my FID/VID from PStateChanger
Currently I'm running Snow Leopard 10.6.2 x64 with Chameleon 2.0 RC4.
I'm getting KP at the very start without NullCPUPowerManagement.
Am I missing something?

Thanks

PS:

EIST is working (checked my BIOS settings)
LPC seems to be working:
$ kextstat | grep LPC
   53	0 0xffffff7f808a3000 0x3000	 0x3000	 com.apple.driver.AppleLPC (1.4.9) <9 5 4 3>
$ lspci | grep LPC	  
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IR (ICH9R) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)

PS2:

My extra kexts (hope it will help):

AHCIPortInjector.kext + IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext (optional, fixes orange icons)
ALC889a.kext
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
PlatformUUID.kext (optional, OS works fine but Hardware UUID in Sys Profiler filled with zeroes)
SleepEnabler.kext
VoodooPState.kext (used to check my pstate)
fakesmc.kext


If you try to use vanilla powermanagement then first thing to do is to remove NullCPUPowerManagement,SleepEnabler and VoodooPState kexts. You also have a Q6600 Cpu so you only have C1, remove C2 and C3 states from CST table.

#3
crtman

crtman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Thank you very much, I removed unnecessary kexts and CST and it worked like a charm. Can I install VoodooMonitor to watch steedstep working or it just works with VoodooPower?

Also I applied SATA built-in patch and EHCI patch to my dsdt so now I need just these kexts:

LegacyHDA.kext
PlatformUUID.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
fakesmc.kext

Thank you!

#4
mm67

mm67

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Thank you very much, I removed unnecessary kexts and CST and it worked like a charm. Can I install VoodooMonitor to watch steedstep working or it just works with VoodooPower?

Also I applied SATA built-in patch and EHCI patch to my dsdt so now I need just these kexts:

LegacyHDA.kext
PlatformUUID.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
fakesmc.kext

Thank you!


Yes, you can install VoodooMonitor, and do take a look at Gigabyte fixes thread. You don't need PlatformUUID and OpenHaltRestart kexts anymore.

#5
ntsmkfob

ntsmkfob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 233 posts
I'm trying to use the info here to improve my Badaxe2/Q6600 setup (O/Ced to 3.0GHz). I've based my DSDT on the one created for an Ultimate solution by someone who cannot be here tonight. However, I keep getting a syntax error 4095 on line 41 - the Scope(_PR) line, saying Unexpected "{", expecting "}" or ",". I can't for the life of me spot where my error is. Can someone have a quick look at this DSDT and point me in the right direction, please?

Happy New Year everyone.

#6
Sysyphus

Sysyphus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:3rd rock from that big yellow shiny thing in the sky!

Can someone have a quick look at this DSDT and point me in the right direction, please?



Appears to compile OK!

C:\WINDOWS\Temp>iasl -ta dsdtnearlythere.dsl

Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20091112 [Nov 12 2009]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2009 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 4.0

ASL Input:  dsdtnearlythere.dsl - 5398 lines, 182104 bytes, 1862 keywords
AML Output: DSDT.aml - 17405 bytes, 546 named objects, 1316 executable opcodes

Compilation complete. 0 Errors, 0 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 31 Optimizations

C:\WINDOWS\Temp>


#7
ntsmkfob

ntsmkfob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 233 posts
Thanks Sysyphus! I've tried it with a couple of versions of iasl, and iaslme on OSX SL, they all still give the same error. I just downloaded the windows version from ACPICA and that gives the same error! I'm confused...

#8
mm67

mm67

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

I'm trying to use the info here to improve my Badaxe2/Q6600 setup (O/Ced to 3.0GHz). I've based my DSDT on the one created for an Ultimate solution by someone who cannot be here tonight. However, I keep getting a syntax error 4095 on line 41 - the Scope(_PR) line, saying Unexpected "{", expecting "}" or ",". I can't for the life of me spot where my error is. Can someone have a quick look at this DSDT and point me in the right direction, please?

Happy New Year everyone.


Fixed version
Attached File  Archive.zip   20.29KB   193 downloads

#9
ntsmkfob

ntsmkfob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 233 posts
Thanks mm67! Next step is to work out why I get a panic with cpu 0 caller "should have 2 threads but only found 3".

#10
zeddys

zeddys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Thank you very much, I removed unnecessary kexts and CST and it worked like a charm. Can I install VoodooMonitor to watch steedstep working or it just works with VoodooPower?

Also I applied SATA built-in patch and EHCI patch to my dsdt so now I need just these kexts:

LegacyHDA.kext
PlatformUUID.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
fakesmc.kext

Thank you!


Thanks everyone - been looking for this fix for a while now.
i can confirm its working great and voodoomonitor is showing the cpu states.

#11
Logicpro9_user

Logicpro9_user

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks mm67! Next step is to work out why I get a panic with cpu 0 caller "should have 2 threads but only found 3".


Did you manage to fix this problem? I have the sam issue now.

#12
ntsmkfob

ntsmkfob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 233 posts
No - never did. I've been using either voodoopowermini.kext or native speedstep but no CST, which runs about 10-12deg hotter than voodoopowermini

#13
MaLd0n

MaLd0n

    ...filling veins with juice of chaos...

  • Moderators
  • 11,139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro
Patches for GA P35-DS3
works in P35 DS4
http://www.mediafire.com/?ozmm2mdm1vi

Q6600 Vanilla Speedstep
http://www.mediafire.com/?fgg30oxvy1t

to apply the patches use the DSDT editor
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=223205

#14
ovof

ovof

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Patches for GA P35-DS3
works in P35 DS4
http://www.mediafire.com/?ozmm2mdm1vi

Q6600 Vanilla Speedstep
http://www.mediafire.com/?fgg30oxvy1t

to apply the patches use the DSDT editor
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=223205


Hi, thanks u for the Q6600 patch !

But ive still an issue, tne computer cant go to sleep using que speedstep patch !?

Where's the pb ?

My config = Q6600 on GA P35 DS3R

BTW speedstep works

Thank u for any answer !!!

#15
MaLd0n

MaLd0n

    ...filling veins with juice of chaos...

  • Moderators
  • 11,139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro
did you apply the other patches for GA P35 DS3R or only the Q6600 one?
you have to apply the "ICH9 USB sleep" fix




shutdown patch had a small problem
is correct now

Restart fix - use chameleon RC5(Replace the file "boot")

GA P35 DS3
http://www.mediafire...4ugn75c5tt43k3k

*CHAMELEON rc5*
http://www.mediafire...8x2btmb17ty4kh1

#16
luki1979

luki1979

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 151 posts

If you try to use vanilla powermanagement then first thing to do is to remove NullCPUPowerManagement,SleepEnabler and VoodooPState kexts. You also have a Q6600 Cpu so you only have C1, remove C2 and C3 states from CST table.

Thanks a lot, I got the same board and cpu. After patching DSDT overlocking works but it takes ages to boot without kexts. With kexts all working ok. Wierd.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy