Jump to content

GA-EX58 and GA-X58A DSDT native power management modifications


  • Please log in to reply
1474 replies to this topic

#1281
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

Hmm so it's not enough to run digital dreamer's script to put the two .xml files within AppleHDA.kext?
This seemed to work in 10.7 at least.

The modified one in post 1 item 14E, isn't that older than the one I had working with Lion 10.7?
Maybe I should try to get hold of that version instead.

Hmm...
I noticed that if I wait long enough at boot I get ”Resetting IOCatalogue”, but here it seems to stop. At least I waited 20 minutes at this stage and it didn't change.

You should probably ask digital dreamer, he would know the details of what his script does.

#1282
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
dood,

I took DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_v5.zip from post #1 and using DSDT Editor I opened and compiled it immediately.
There is a small error, it is easily fixed, but I think maybe you want to know

Attached File  Screen_Shot_2011_08_31_at_6.32.37_PM.png   177.22KB   49 downloads

I fixed the error and use it on my desktop unit (see signature), and I would say so far it works fine.

cheers!

#1283
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

dood,

I took DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_v5.zip from post #1 and using DSDT Editor I opened and compiled it immediately.
There is a small error, it is easily fixed, but I think maybe you want to know

I fixed the error and use it on my desktop unit (see signature), and I would say so far it works fine.

cheers!

I don't see that there's a problem using iasl;

[mac05:acpica.org/GA_EX58_UD5-dsdt mod/DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_C2RC5_v5] me% ../../iasl -ta dsdt.dsl

Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20091112 [Nov 13 2009]
Copyright © 2000 - 2009 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 4.0

ASL Input: dsdt.dsl - 5595 lines, 180281 bytes, 2186 keywords
AML Output: dsdt.aml - 17823 bytes, 627 named objects, 1559 executable opcodes

Compilation complete. 0 Errors, 0 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 705 Optimizations
[mac05:acpica.org/GA_EX58_UD5-dsdt mod/DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_C2RC5_v5] me%

#1284
JUN Ho

JUN Ho

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

dood,I took DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_v5.zip from post #1 and using DSDT Editor I opened and compiled it immediately.There is a small error, it is easily fixed, but I think maybe you want to know


You are right. The error shows when you use new iasl. Change the length from 0xFFF00000 to 0xFEB00000.

#1285
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260
Thanks, I added the following to note 1;

1B. (added 20110901, thanks to aikidoka25 and JUN Ho) Newer iasl versions will have a compilation error with the `0xFFF00000, // Length' line, change it to `0xFEB00000, // Length'.

#1286
ronsega

ronsega

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
Anyone experience shutdown/restart/sleep&wake issues after having changing video cards?

I have the EX58-UD5 board with F9e BIOS and i7 920 and Lion 10.7.1 installed mostly from using DD's hackinstaller script. shutdown/restart/sleep&wake works flawlessly with DSDT modifications with an evga GTX285 video card. Upgraded to a GTX580 got it configured using the patching method on NVDAG100FHal.kext/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext but now shutdown/restart/sleep&wake is flakey.

Symptoms:
Restart - sometimes system will restart fully but not reliably. If it doesnt then only LCD goes to power saving mode but doesn't restart and gets stuck in that mode.
Shutdown - sometimes the system fully powers down, if it doesn't system proceeds to power down, LCDs go to power saving mode, but the mobo hasn't shutdown and is still on, fans running, power led on, etc.
Sleep&Wake - system goes to sleep, but when waking up, get graphic artifacts and then system becomes unstable/unresponsive (hasn't KP).

Would there need for more DSDT changes to get shutdown/restart/sleep&wake working solid as before?

#1287
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
Update regarding issue with FaceTime on Lion on my GigaByte board.
Donw35 posted his smbios.plist here

Before I only had SMcputype and SMserial in smbios.plist and FaceTime Lion just refused to login, now I added more info into smbios plist, FaceTime has no problem login :)

Cheers!

#1288
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

Update regarding issue with FaceTime on Lion on my GigaByte board.
Donw35 posted his smbios.plist here

Before I only had SMcputype and SMserial in smbios.plist and FaceTime Lion just refused to login, now I added more info into smbios plist, FaceTime has no problem login :)

Cheers!

Are you also using the Chameleon r1493 through 1496 FaceTime fix?

#1289
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts

Are you also using the Chameleon r1493 through 1496 FaceTime fix?


right, I am using r1494 now with EthernetBuiltIn flag, and I think I added the built-in section into DSDT too for both of the Ethernet devices (I was desperate to fix it).
Only now with extra info in smbios.plist is a success.

What do you think? Should I remove the built-in info from the DSDT?
FYI I don't have any issue now having EthernetBuiltIn flag + DSDT patched with built-in info.

#1290
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

right, I am using r1494 now with EthernetBuiltIn flag, and I think I added the built-in section into DSDT too for both of the Ethernet devices (I was desperate to fix it).
Only now with extra info in smbios.plist is a success.

What do you think? Should I remove the built-in info from the DSDT?
FYI I don't have any issue now having EthernetBuiltIn flag + DSDT patched with built-in info.

You will need the BuiltIn flag for a number of things to work correctly, but it only needs to be enabled in one place (NIC kext's code, DSDT, org.chameleon.Boot.plist flag, or EFI string).
AFAIK, it's not enough to have SMbiosversion in your smbios.plist (or supplied by Chameleon) to fix FaceTime, as the basic fix is in Chameleon r1493 through 1496.

#1291
lupo17

lupo17

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
hi D00d & everybody,
I keep reading/ monitoring this thread...on and on... pardon my ignorance, but with every piece of info that I get deeper into the dsdt, it gets more confusing>frustrating*... I know this is a versatile and volatile subject, since, with every solved issue, it gets into another, then, you don't have a single minute to enjoy a small victory, 'couse it appears another upgrade, another bios, another tool, another approach...and so on...
that's why, I'm really tired by now, but I cannot give up, before kindly ask you:
could you PLEASE, make a small summary of what we've got 'till now...in terms of:
-hardware+bios >< dsdt >< macosx vers.
this is (in my view) the only approach in getting closer to the answer of the hottest question here:
what is the perfect** situation? [?-bios/?-dsdt/?-osx.vers.]***

thank you


*-that could be an apple's strategy
**- as you said, perfect means the closest to the real thing
***- my 'perfect' state was on 10.6.7, but I've lost my backup, and now I'm floating on a boat without wheel and compas, 'couse, almost everything I knew became obsolette

#1292
alepus

alepus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I have "MacPro4,1" (all info is in the signature) running 10.6.3 and all is good n lovely. the thing is i that i want to upgrade to Lion.. (or at least 10.6.7) to be able to use the new Final Cut Pro.
(I also have a Macbook Pro 2.33ghz core2duo with 10.6.7.)

The plan is to buy a SSD and use it as the OS hard drive.

So the question is: What is easiest way for me to install Lion on the new drive and use it my "Mac Pro"?
Should i try to update the mac pro to 10.6.7 before installing Lion. Could i just install it right from the apple store?


10.6.3:64:ABLN1.1.9:MacPro4,1:GA-EX58-UD5@F11:d00d's DSDT:i7-920@2.7GHz:6x2GB@1600MHz:GTX260:2xDVI:2x24"BENQ

#1293
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

hi D00d & everybody,
I keep reading/ monitoring this thread...on and on... pardon my ignorance, but with every piece of info that I get deeper into the dsdt, it gets more confusing>frustrating*... I know this is a versatile and volatile subject, since, with every solved issue, it gets into another, then, you don't have a single minute to enjoy a small victory, 'couse it appears another upgrade, another bios, another tool, another approach...and so on...
that's why, I'm really tired by now, but I cannot give up, before kindly ask you:
could you PLEASE, make a small summary of what we've got 'till now...in terms of:
-hardware+bios >< dsdt >< macosx vers.
this is (in my view) the only approach in getting closer to the answer of the hottest question here:
what is the perfect** situation? [?-bios/?-dsdt/?-osx.vers.]***

thank you


*-that could be an apple's strategy
**- as you said, perfect means the closest to the real thing
***- my 'perfect' state was on 10.6.7, but I've lost my backup, and now I'm floating on a boat without wheel and compas, 'couse, almost everything I knew became obsolette

There is no such thing as perfection, but if you want to come close, buy a machine from Apple.
If you want a challenge, and a faster machine for less money using non Apple hardware, you need to keep up with current events as things change.
Apple has no strategy with regards to those of us who choose to make non Apple hardware work with it's OS, other than what it put in place in the beginning with DSMOS.
If they wanted to completely kill our efforts, they could do so easily.
It's my opinion that they haven't because it's in a similar hobbyist vein to the Apple founders background in blue boxing.

I have "MacPro4,1" (all info is in the signature) running 10.6.3 and all is good n lovely. the thing is i that i want to upgrade to Lion.. (or at least 10.6.7) to be able to use the new Final Cut Pro.
(I also have a Macbook Pro 2.33ghz core2duo with 10.6.7.)

The plan is to buy a SSD and use it as the OS hard drive.

So the question is: What is easiest way for me to install Lion on the new drive and use it my "Mac Pro"?
Should i try to update the mac pro to 10.6.7 before installing Lion. Could i just install it right from the apple store?


10.6.3:64:ABLN1.1.9:MacPro4,1:GA-EX58-UD5@F11:d00d's DSDT:i7-920@2.7GHz:6x2GB@1600MHz:GTX260:2xDVI:2x24"BENQ

Other topics on insanelymac answer your questions, digital_dreamer's is one.

#1294
Mackenstein

Mackenstein

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Hi guys. I'm trying to followup this guide to boost some extra power on my hackintosh, but I'm missing something, I believe I just need a small extra push to achieve my goal.

Driven by d00d's perfect 14400 geekbench score I've been reading and trying to get enough confidence to follow it. Luckily I have a backup system, with Lion (tonymac style) on different drive, so my hands aren't tied.

I had a very stable 10.6.7:64 12400 geekbench score, Digital Dreamer Script style, with the following hardware
GA-EX58-UD5 F12 rev1.0 with 6x 2GB DDR3 ECC disabled RAM
i7 920 (OC to 3.88GHz, google ninja trial error style, but very stable)
GA RADEON HD5770 - triple display (2xDVI + 1x PASSIVE DP to DVI) - thank you netkas!

followed d00d's instructions to DSDT mod: read and read and read it all again, then decided to start from:

DSDT.aml and dsdt.dsl for i7 920 and Xeon W3520, derived from GA-EX58-UD5 and BIOS F9m through F12, with fixes (doesn't include 1B, 19C or 20B) and ALC889A audio option B: DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_920_W3520_v2.zip


unfortunately I can't get it to boot (yes, I have an Extra folder backup, so I can step back to were I was, but I want that 14400 score on Geekbench)

last line on verbose boot reports:

ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - failed to locate SMC driver

and stops...

I have:
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
on my org.chameleon.Boot.plist and I've been told that's because of disabled CStates on bios, but... I do have "C3/C6/C7 State Support [Enabled]" ?!!? :/

in my Extra folder I have:
DSDT.aml --> modded following guide:

DSDT.aml and dsdt.dsl for i7 920 and Xeon W3520, derived from GA-EX58-UD5 and BIOS F9m through F12, with fixes (doesn't include 1B, 19C or 20B) and ALC889A audio option B: DSDT_GA_EX58_UD5_F9m_S3_920_W3520_v2.zip


org.chameleon.Boot.plist (chimera boot 1.5.4)
smbios.plist -->
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro4,1</string>

1) FakeSMC.kext 3.1.0 x86_64 656K Root /Extra
2) HDAEnabler.kext 1.0.0d1 x86_64 108K Root /Extra
3) IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext 1.1.1 N/A 4K Local-Root /Extra
4) IONetworkingFamily.kext 1.11> x86_64 3.6M Root /Extra
5) JMicron36xeSATA.kext 0.7 N/A 12K Local-Root /Extra
6) LegacyHDA.kext 888 N/A 72K Root /Extra

Is there any way you could help me fine tuning it?
10.6.8:64 Would make me happy, but if you say I move ahead to Lion I will.
Whatever makes this baby go from 12400 to 14400 score

#1295
jhrfc

jhrfc

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

You will need the BuiltIn flag for a number of things to work correctly, but it only needs to be enabled in one place (NIC kext's code, DSDT, org.chameleon.Boot.plist flag, or EFI string).
AFAIK, it's not enough to have SMbiosversion in your smbios.plist (or supplied by Chameleon) to fix FaceTime, as the basic fix is in Chameleon r1493 through 1496.


I found I need both the r1493 chameleon, and to create a combined EFI string for my ethernet and graphics cards, plus builtin=yes. with all these mods both app store and FaceTime work currently.
Cheers
Jon

#1296
alepus

alepus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I'm having a weird problem with my setup. This has happened twice in a few days.. I put my computer to sleep and when I wake it up with a mouse click it all seems fine.. I can move the mouse and so, but as soon as I click on something the systems locks up. I can still move the mouse but thats it. Cant even pop up the Force Quit (cmd+opt+esc) and menubar has stalled (time doesnt change). I have to hard reboot.

Any suggestions?

#1297
lupo17

lupo17

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
hi, as you've asked, here is an unmodified dsdt* of Ga-Ex58-Extreme (Bios F13t-GK...softly overclocked...bclk-190)

Attached File  F13t_GK.zip   18.19KB   6 downloads

if you patch it, please send it back to me, for testing...thanks

*extracted from win7

#1298
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

hi, as you've asked, here is an unmodified dsdt* of Ga-Ex58-Extreme (Bios F13t-GK...softly overclocked...bclk-190)

Attached File  F13t_GK.zip   18.19KB   6 downloads

if you patch it, please send it back to me, for testing...thanks

*extracted from win7

I'm asking for the ones marked with an asterisk, and you can make your own DSDT edits with the information in this topic.

#1299
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260
10.7.2 update notes:

KP during when it writes receipts.

Stack trace shows a problem with ApplePolicyControl.kext.
This is a kext in AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/PlugIns/.

Fix with the following;
Enter -s at the prompt to boot into single user mode.
# /sbin/fsck -y
# /sbin/mount -uw /
# /bin/rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext
# exit

System Preferences:Software Update:Installed Software doesn't show the 10.7.2 update, but Apple:About This Mac does.

I'm looking for a more elegant solution.

#1300
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
I was able to upgrade my unit to 10.7.2 without KP. Could be because of the graphic card I use?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy