SOLVED:X4500 Mouse artifact with Native Resolution

jasim

126 posts in this topic

First of all i am not a system programmer.. Its just a pure tweak.. :P:P

Many of users reporting mouse artifact for their compaq and lenovo laptop's having Intel 4500 MHD (Dev ID 2a42).

As shown in the below picture.

tuvfru35pt.jpg

I have hexedited the AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext (Version 1.5.48) using Lavender.t's post to make use of software cursor instead of a hardware cursor. You can see the result

tuvvvndy4x.jpg

u should only install this kext if u having 4500MHD (2a42) and also with an mouse artifact. It will not enable QE/CI for your mac.

Steps to install

1.Download kexthelper.

2.Download the Edited Kext AppleIntelGMAX3100FB_softcursor_sleep.kext.zip

3.Extract It.

4.Drag the kext to kext helper> Type the admin password> and click easy install

5.Reboot with bootflags '-f -v'

Thankz to Lavender.t :)

• Like 2

Worked like a charm on my Dell latitude e5400! I have an unrelated problem now. It seems whenever I use these kexts to fix native resolution (any of the tricks, patch4500, mr. vaughn's, this edited one) it will not load with a background, just a blue background. I have everything else though. any ideas?

It didn't work on my inspiron 1545. I'm running IPC 10.5.8 universal final. When I boot with bootflags -f -v, I got a kernel panic and when I boot without flag I got a black screen after the apple logo. I'm new on mac. Do I have to install another distro? Please advise. Thanks.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It didn't work on my inspiron 1545. I'm running IPC 10.5.8 universal final. When I boot with bootflags -f -v, I got a kernel panic and when I boot without flag I got a black screen after the apple logo. I'm new on mac. Do I have to install another distro? Please advise. Thanks.